$168 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 21, 2015 Check-out: Aug 24, 2015

Sofitel Washington DC Lafayette Square

4 stars
View map of 806 15th Street NW, WASHINGTON DC, WASHINGTON, DC 20005

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Sofitel Washington DC Lafayette Square

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
114 out of 114
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.1

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sofitel Washington DC Lafayette Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
PaulHB
Wilmington, North Carolina
Apr 7, 2013

Great Anniversary

Everything about this hotel is first class. From check-in to check-out everything was great. It's location was great for everything we wanted to see in DC and it was just a short walk to the McPherson Square metro station for longer outings. A little pricey but really worth-it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Not Applicable

When you plan your trip - be sure and make dinner reservations well ahead of time - restaurants are very crowded and reservations will get you right in.

Review of Sofitel Washington DC Lafayette Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tarachka
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Jun 24, 2009

Stylish, nothing short of excellent

Walked to the white house Walked to several excellent restaurants Enjoyed on site outdoor seating with cocktails Took 15 minute cab ride to Georgetown for a half day of boutique shopping Took 10-15 minute cab ride to Halocost Museum, Portrait Museum and The International Spy Museum

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Definity dine on site prior to venturing beyond. Do not under estimate the quality and creativity of this hotel's Chef and staff.

Review of Sofitel Washington DC Lafayette Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago IL
Jun 1, 2009

We'll be back!

We were visiting our daughter to celebrate a new job. Very much enjoyed our stay, loved the outdoor bar and restaurant as well! We will return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

We enjoyed the 'Nora' restaurant - edge of DuPont Circle neighborhood - as well as 'Founding Farmers' on Pennsylvania Avenue, a nice walk from the hotel.

Review of Sofitel Washington DC Lafayette Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
san francisco, CA
May 17, 2009

GREAT LOCATION

First class hotel with great location. Worth the Orbitz Price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

short walk to White House

Review of Sofitel Washington DC Lafayette Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Charley Mane
Business
Orlando
May 10, 2009

"Secure and safe location for walking"

Walking distance to Washington mall area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sofitel Washington DC Lafayette Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Richmond Va
Apr 22, 2009

Top notch hotel

Excellent location and service. The room was top notch, comfortable and quiet. The service was also excellent. They let us store our bags for the whole day after we checked out. I would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sofitel Washington DC Lafayette Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Oct 28, 2008

Excellent Service

Sofitel Lafayette Square Washington DC was perfectly located for business at the convention center as well as sight seeing around the mall with excellent shopping in between. Doormen were excellent - concierge service outstanding, truly great resource. Le Bar was a great meeting place for cocktails. Business center was easily accessed and useful. I would definitely return to this lovely property.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

1. Great dining within walking distance. 2. Smithsonian institutions nearby. 3. Metro nearby. 4. Great shopping areas nearby.

Review of Sofitel Washington DC Lafayette Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston
Sep 29, 2008

Best taste of France in DC

The Sofitel was a great experience for a week's visit in DC. The room had a very comfortable king-size bed, great bath amenities and excellent bar/restaurant. The check-in staff did everything possible to accommodate my needs for my requested hotel room and were very helpful in finding me ground transportation around the city. The restaurant staff assisted me in planning a great birthday dinner for my partner with a moment's notice. I would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

National Capitol and White House

Review of Sofitel Washington DC Lafayette Square

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Carriere
Sep 16, 2008

When we first arrived, ...

When we first arrived, check in was fine. When we were shown to our room, the first thing noticeable was that the carpet was heavily stained. Every day when showering there was a huge puddle of water that came from the bottom of the shower which apparently needed repairs. The maid did not do a good job of cleaning the room daily. The room especially, and the hotel is in need of several upgrades. Over all the room and area is ok, but not for the price we paid. No telephone books in the rooms for the guests to look through and find other dining or entertainment options and when asked for one, was told not available in the hotel. Staff would not recommend other dining facilities other than the hotel resturant. No vending machines in the hotel, only the over priced bar in your room. They are forcing guests to use their restaurant. We had a good stay in Washington, but we felt we way overpaid for the hotel. Would have liked to try some of the local restaurants, but had to depend on the cab drivers to refer us to good dining options.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

White House is in close proximity.

Review of Sofitel Washington DC Lafayette Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sacramento
Sep 12, 2008

Great Capitol Location

The Washington D. C. Sofitel Hotel was everything you would expect from a five-star property. From the greeting we received from staff as we arrived, to the helpful assistance offered by the same staff upon departure, our stay in Washington was a memorable occassion because of our stay there. Located one block from Lafayette Square and the White House, we were staying in the very heart of the city. From there, we were able to walk to The Mall and other places of interest, including DuPont Circle. Our accommodations were quiet, roomy, and first rate: Cozy, comfortable bed, large HDTV, and very spacious and well-appointed bathroom with separate shower. Although the hotel had its own restaurant, we chose to take advantage of several other fine establishments in close proximity. Without question, we will again plan to stay at Hotel Sofitel on our next trip to Washington D. C.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Visit all of the sights available...and they are plentiful: The Whte House, Ford's Theatre, the Washington Monument, the Lincoln Memorial, the War Veterans'Memorials, the Jefferson and Roosevelt Memorials, the Holocuast Museum, the Smithsoneum Museums and the Capitol Building. ALL within a short distance of the hotel.

Review of Sofitel Washington DC Lafayette Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Hawthorne
Aug 22, 2008

Center of attention

Your hotel is located directly in the middle of everything you want to see.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots to see in do in DC. Closest attraction is the White House. The closest restaurant is Bobby Van's steakhouse. Most everything you want to see you can do by walking.

Back to menu Return to top