$125 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 21, 2015 Check-out: Jun 22, 2015

Rouge, a Kimpton Hotel

3 stars
View map of 1315 16th Street NW, Washington, DC 20036

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
80 reviews
Great trip

I stayed in DC on my own and found the hotel staff very helpful with pointing me in the right... See full review

  • Anya M.
  • May 20, 2015
Great experience

Stayed for a friend's birthday and the hotel staff was very friendly and attentive to our needs.... See full review

  • John B.
  • Feb 18, 2015
The 3 Star - 4 Diamond Hotel Rouge is set against the vibrant backdrop of our Nations Capitol - Hotel Rouge is a chic - glamorous boutique hotel in downtown Washington DC. With its colorful red decor - imaginative artisan style - cool modern design and vintage hospitality - our hip - red-hot hotel stands out as a sublime sanctuary of adventure. Escape from the ordinary at Hotel Rouge - where passion - play and productivity are in.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Rouge, a Kimpton Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Rouge, a Kimpton Hotel Rooms

Rouge Suite
Rouge Suite 550 sq ft with King Bed and Living Room
Executive King
Executive King with 1 king bed 481 sq ft queen sleeper sofa
Accessible King Dlx Roll In Shwr
Accessible King Deluxe Room Roll In Shower Communication features available
Queen Deluxe Room
Queen Deluxe Room 1 queen bed 450 sq ft
Queen Queen with Bunk Beds
Queen Queen with Bunk Beds with 2 queen beds and Bunk Bed Alcove 500 sq ft
Accessible King Deluxe Room
Accessible King Deluxe Room Communication features available
King plus Day Bed
King plus Day Bed 1 king bed and a daybed 450 sq ft
Conference Room Suite
610 sq ft King room with Conference Room for 5.
King with Bunk Beds
King with Bunk Beds 1 king bed and alcove with bunk bed 500 sq ft
Queen Queen Deluxe Room
Queen Queen Deluxe Room with 2 queen beds 400 sq ft
Kitchenette with King Bed
Kitchenette with King Bed 500 sq ft nonsmoking kitchenette incl microwave fridge and dishware
King Deluxe Room
King Deluxe Room 450 sq ft CD stereo sitting area with accent chair flat panel

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Elevators
FEMA approved
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Room service
Meal plan - continental
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express checkout
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Conference facilities
Copy service
Audio visual equipment
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Indoor parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Grab bars in bathroom
Room
Television with cable
Cordless phone
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Mini bar
Hairdryer in room
Fire alarm with light
In room movies
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
Sprinklers in rooms

Nearby points of interest

  • National Geographic Society: 0.2 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.3 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.5 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.6 mi
  • Phillips Collection: 0.6 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.6 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 0.6 mi
  • Blair House: 0.7 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 0.7 mi
  • U Street Corridor: 0.7 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 0.7 mi
  • Lincoln Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Bohemian Caverns: 0.8 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.2 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.3 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.5 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.6 mi
  • Phillips Collection: 0.6 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.6 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 0.6 mi
  • Blair House: 0.7 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 0.7 mi
  • U Street Corridor: 0.7 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 0.7 mi
  • Lincoln Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Bohemian Caverns: 0.8 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.9 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 0.9 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.9 mi
  • National Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 0.9 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 0.9 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 0.9 mi
  • National Aquarium: 1 mi
  • Presidents Park: 1 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 1 mi
  • National Museum of American Art: 1 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 1 mi
  • Smithsonian American Art Museum: 1 mi
  • Ronald Reagan Building: 1 mi
  • International Spy Museum: 1 mi
  • Art Museum of The Americas: 1 mi
  • Old Post office Pavilion: 1.1 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 1.1 mi
  • Dumbarton House: 1.1 mi
  • Verizon Center: 1.1 mi
  • Koshland Science Museum: 1.2 mi
  • National Museum of American History: 1.2 mi
  • National Building Museum: 1.2 mi
  • Department of State: 1.2 mi
  • Watergate Complex: 1.2 mi
  • National Academy of Sciences: 1.2 mi
  • Howard University: 1.2 mi
  • Folger Shakespeare Library: 1.2 mi
  • National Archives: 1.3 mi

Dining

Bar Rouge
Bar Rouge is the funky fusion of LA cool and London hip with a dash of New York chic mixed in for good measure.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Rouge, a Kimpton Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
30 out of 80
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.3

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Rouge, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Edward E.
Business
N/A
Jan 5, 2015

Great Trip Washington DC was very Nice.

The hotel staff was great very helpful & pleasant. Gave us great info to all of the places we wanted to visit. Would definitely stay here again when we return. We took the trip to attend the NHL winter classic. Which was also a fabulous time. The transit personnel of DC, were nice, considerate and very helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Commisary restaurant has breakfast until 4:00 pm. Great staff.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Rouge, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
His Fave Girl
Business
Freehold, NJ
Dec 9, 2014

Quickee

Cool atmosphere, friendly helpful staff... Close to major roadways, near town center, perfect warm weather day trip

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Rouge, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
vyrgrl1
Business
Houston
Sep 30, 2014

Very good property

I liked the Rouge. I would stay here again. Staff very friendly, efficient, and attentive. Rooms very clean , bed very comfortable. Bathrooms a little small, but I think this is an older property. Shower was great though: hot water abundant with strong water flow. Within walking distance of all tourist attractions : the smithsonian, monuments, White House and within walking distances of good restaurants ; bring comfortable shoes. I do think they could update the salmoney colored wall paper and tiger striped carpet though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Don't rent a car. Take the Metro, or taxis. Parking cost a lot

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Rouge, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jaybz
Business
Virginia
Aug 25, 2014

Fun, romantic place to stay.

Rooms bigger than average and very comfortable. Beds are a bit soft for us but otherwise very nice. Great wine hour every night and although one of the staff was never nice and never once smiled the rest of the staff were lovely and went out of their way to help us. Also - it's a shame when you book through this site or as the sour faced staff member said " through a third party" (seriously, she said it as if we stole something) it's a shame you are not treated and allowed all the benefits of booking directly with the Hotel. I'm a member of their rewards program (karma or whatever they call it) yet I could not get the mini bar $10 credit or any Karma points simply because I booked through this site. In my opinion that is bad customer service. Other than that I'm a fan of this hotel - I just won't book through this site when I stay there again. And hopefully sour face might find a career better suited for her.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Rouge, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
EJ712
Business
New York, NY
Jun 2, 2014

Good Location

The hotel was very clean and in a good location if you like to walk. I am from NYC so I walk everywhere. There were a ton of bars/restaurants on U street which is about a 20 min walk. Also walkable to all the monuments and museums.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Rouge, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
lniabia
Business
washington dc
May 29, 2014

perfect

Our stay was just perfect I was with my husband our regret it's just the longer of our stay it's was too short We will come back

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Rouge, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
zab1
Business
Toronto
May 4, 2014

Great size room, excellent staff

Executive king room was large and bright. The kitsch themed hotlel is fun and well located. I would definitely stay there again. The complimentary 5pm wine reception in lobby is a nice way to start the weekend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Rouge, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
marshlover
Business
Maine
Apr 14, 2014

Great find 16th St NW

Spacious rooms, incredibly friendly and helpful staff, great early morning coffee and evening wine reception complimentary.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Rouge, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Monkey's Momma
Business
Chicago , IL
Feb 17, 2014

Amazing

We love this kimpton hotels and try to stay in them. Service was great, rooms were awesome. We would recommend to anyone staying in DC

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Rouge, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KimLuv
Business
Ny
Dec 31, 2013

I will definitely stay here again :-)

The location was great. It was close to public transportation and restaurants. The staff was very helpful and courteous. Great value!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top