$87 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 22, 2014 Check-out: Nov 25, 2014

Rouge, a Kimpton Hotel

3 stars
1315 16th Street NW, Washington, DC 20036
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
70 reviews
perfect

Our stay was just perfect I was with my husband our regret it's just the longer of our stay it's... See full review

  • lniabia
  • May 29, 2014
Great Night in DC

As I've come to expect from previous stays at other Kimpton locations, this hotel (Rouge) was... See full review

  • Mike the Weekender
  • Mar 20, 2014
Dupont Circle hotel provides plenty of red-hot reasons to fall in love
There's no shortage of drama at Rouge, a Kimpton Hotel, where the name only hints at the scarlet fever inside. Guest rooms and common areas at this ultra-hip Washington, D.C. hotel sizzle with red floors, red walls and Bar Rouge, the hottest spot in the neighborhood. Choose from a host of room options at Rouge, a Kimpton Hotel, from  450-square-foot deluxe rooms to bunk bed suites perfect for families or groups of friends. All feature black-and-white graphic art, chrome accessories and floor-to-ceiling red upholstered headboards. 
Highlights

  • Hosted wine hour each evening in the lobby living room
  • Fitness center and in-room spa services
  • Pet-friendly amenities
  • Central Washington D.C. location near the White House, Smithsonian Museums, National Mall, Washington Monument

Rooms
Rouge, a Kimpton Hotel delivers style in spades, but there's more to this boutique hotel near Dupont Circle. Look for 37-inch HDTVs with premium cable channels, fully stocked mini-bars (fees apply), down comforters, plush robes, private voicemail and room service. Pets aren't just welcome -- they're given loads of love and attention: Pet treats, feeding bowls, a mat, bottled water, a bed, pick-up bags and a list of pet sitters and doggie daycare facilities…all provided at no additional charge.
Features
Turn up the heat with an in-room massage or body treatment delivered with Kerstin Florian organic body and skin care products. Inquire with the concierge to arrange for treatments - the revitalizing hot stone massage might be especially appropriate. 
Dining
The motto at Bar Rouge is "eating sexy since 2002," and it's easy to see why. The space is awash in top-to-bottom crimson and furnished with metal tables and black cube ottomans that pop against the background of primary color. Behind the marble bar, a flat-panel monitor displays a series of pastoral scenes, paired with thumping electronica. There are plenty of dinner options at Rouge, a Kimpton Hotel, but the red velvet cupcakes with cream cheese frosting are the biggest temptations.
Transportation

  • Farragut North Metro Station (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Ronald Reagan Washington National Airport (4.1 mi/6.6 km)
  • Washington Dulles International Airport (22.3 mi/36 km)

Attractions

  • Dupont Circle (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • The White House (0.7 mi/1.2 km)
  • Walter E. Washington Convention Center (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • National Mall (1.3 mi/2 km)

Business

  • 24-hour business center
  • 1,300 square feet of function space
  • Catering provided by Bar Rouge

Hotel Map

38.9082 -77.0361
Nearby airports
Washington Dulles International Airport, (IAD), 27.00, MI, W; Baltimore/Washington International Airport, (BWI), 32.00, MI, S; Washington National Airport, (DCA), 4.50, MI, S;
Area description
City Center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Rouge, a Kimpton Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Rouge, a Kimpton Hotel Rooms

Conference Room Suite
610 sq ft King room with Conference Room for 5.
Queen Queen Deluxe Room
Queen Queen Deluxe Room with 2 queen beds 400 sq ft
Rouge Suite
Rouge Suite 550 sq ft with King Bed and Living Room
Accessible King Deluxe Room
Accessible King Deluxe Room Communication features available
Executive King
Executive King with 1 king bed 481 sq ft queen sleeper sofa
Queen Queen with Bunk Beds
Queen Queen with Bunk Beds with 2 queen beds and Bunk Bed Alcove 500 sq ft
King with Bunk Beds
King with Bunk Beds 1 king bed and alcove with bunk bed 500 sq ft
King plus Day Bed
King plus Day Bed 1 king bed and a daybed 450 sq ft
Kitchenette with King Bed
Kitchenette with King Bed 500 sq ft nonsmoking kitchenette incl microwave fridge and dishware
Accessible King Dlx Roll In Shwr
Accessible King Deluxe Room Roll In Shower Communication features available
King Deluxe Room
King Deluxe Room 450 sq ft CD stereo sitting area with accent chair flat panel
Queen Deluxe Room
Queen Deluxe Room 1 queen bed 450 sq ft

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Elevators
FEMA approved
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Room service
Meal plan - continental
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express checkout
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Conference facilities
Copy service
Audio visual equipment
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Indoor parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Grab bars in bathroom
Room
Television with cable
Cordless phone
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Mini bar
Hairdryer in room
Fire alarm with light
In room movies
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
Sprinklers in rooms

Nearby points of interest

  • National Geographic Society: 0.2 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.3 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.5 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.6 mi
  • Phillips Collection: 0.6 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.6 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 0.6 mi
  • Blair House: 0.7 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 0.7 mi
  • U Street Corridor: 0.7 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 0.7 mi
  • Lincoln Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Bohemian Caverns: 0.8 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.2 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.3 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.5 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.6 mi
  • Phillips Collection: 0.6 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.6 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 0.6 mi
  • Blair House: 0.7 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 0.7 mi
  • U Street Corridor: 0.7 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 0.7 mi
  • Lincoln Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Bohemian Caverns: 0.8 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.9 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 0.9 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.9 mi
  • National Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 0.9 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 0.9 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 0.9 mi
  • National Aquarium: 1 mi
  • Presidents Park: 1 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 1 mi
  • National Museum of American Art: 1 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 1 mi
  • Smithsonian American Art Museum: 1 mi
  • Ronald Reagan Building: 1 mi
  • International Spy Museum: 1 mi
  • Art Museum of The Americas: 1 mi
  • Old Post office Pavilion: 1.1 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 1.1 mi
  • Dumbarton House: 1.1 mi
  • Verizon Center: 1.1 mi
  • Koshland Science Museum: 1.2 mi
  • National Museum of American History: 1.2 mi
  • National Building Museum: 1.2 mi
  • Department of State: 1.2 mi
  • Watergate Complex: 1.2 mi
  • National Academy of Sciences: 1.2 mi
  • Howard University: 1.2 mi
  • Folger Shakespeare Library: 1.2 mi
  • National Archives: 1.3 mi

Dining

Bar Rouge
Bar Rouge is the funky fusion of LA cool and London hip with a dash of New York chic mixed in for good measure.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (70)

Ratings and reviews for Rouge, a Kimpton Hotel

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
16 out of 70
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.3
Value:
4

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Rouge, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NBSG
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Jun 30, 2014

Terrific stay!

Hotel Rouge was the perfect place to stay on my business trip to DC. Great location, terrific staff and quiet room, as requested.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

B too

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Rouge, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sir Mandrew Maximus
Business
Kansas City, Kansas
Dec 19, 2013

Great Location & Staff, but no cable

The staff was nice the moment I stepped inside, and helped me find an area with places to eat, drink, and relax that was right around the corner. Even though I missed the wine happy hour, they gave me a slip for a free glass of wine anyway. Free coffee in the morning was good too. However, they nickel-&-dime you in areas such as paying for a continental breakfast and, the thing that got me, no cable tv; you pay for the programs you want to watch, and the selection is small. I really wanted to unwind after my flight and watch ESPN, but alas it wasn't available. Regardless of that, the location (10 minute walk north of the White House) and staff made this an enjoyable place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Rouge, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tax Traveller
Business
Chicago, IL
Feb 22, 2013

Good Business Hotel

Obviously as building converted from studio apartments. A little odd that that kitchen was apparently still there but locked off from the room. But that did result in large rooms for the price. As with all Kimpton Hotels, the furniture can often be more stylish than comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Rouge, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Work Flyer
Business
San Francisco, CA
Jan 20, 2013

Great D.C. Stop

I was very impressed with the Rouge. The staff were very friendly from the start. The room though, was great, large, well stocked, clean and a place to rest after a long day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Rouge, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mediakit on a Mission
Business
Shreveport, LA
Oct 12, 2012

Posh, yet Welcoming

I have stayed at The Hotel Rouge now about 4 times over the past several years. The hotel has been maintained and kept clean. I kinda of expected it to be posh and cool for a few years and then run down...it has not. It keeps refining like the wine they serve to guest during happy hour each day. In fact, the addition of first come first serve loaner bicycles was just what I needed to make my trip more enjoyable. I was able to ride to the Mall to jog and then on to a business meeting later that afternoon. I felt like a local as I dodged the oncoming traffic. DC is very bike friendly, but my suggestion is to wear the helmet. Overall, this hotel is a great priced clean and friendly option for your stay in DC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Use the bicycles. I did, even in business attire. Saved me the walk to the Metro and made me feel like a local, even if for the day.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Rouge, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Stoodent
Business
Cincinnati, OH
May 28, 2012

Great location, otherwise average

Proximity to DuPont Circle and other entertainment is extremely convenient. Staff isn't especially friendly, bartenders make bad drinks and the furniture in the bar is uncomfortable to the point of being unusable. Location is hard to beat, everything else very meh.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Rouge, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
happytravelerBFLO
Business
Buffalo, NY, USA
Oct 28, 2011

Great Business Trip

The overall experience of the hotel was fantastic. You can't say enough about a great staff and the staff at this hotel were simply great. There were a few downsides- there was no coffee maker in the room and the pillowtop mattress was not the most comfortable for a person with a bad back. Other than that, I had a great time and would highly recommend this hotel to other business or casual travelers.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

Go to Georgetown and take a good, long walk around. Explore the neighborhood, it is a fabulous experience.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Rouge, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
a writer from Chicago
Business
Chicago, IL, USA
Aug 15, 2011

all sizzle, no steak

Rouge is a very cool-looking hotel, but that's all I can say. Front desk staff were generally friendly but either unwilling or unable to address problems. The phone in my room was broken, and in spite of talking to different people on three occasions, it was never fixed during a four-night stay. Upon checkout they asked how was the stay and had no follow-up when I said "imperfect." When I would come in at night there was no greeting from the desk, which is a problem if you think about security of people just walking in. Internet was inconsistent, one day the room was only partially cleaned. It's not all that close to DuPont circle, so when I go back to DC, will definitely stay closer and at a hotel which does not depend on flash alone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Rouge, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Mar 3, 2011

Good value in a convenient location

This was a very brief business visit and I was not able to take advantage of some of the facilities offered. Breakfast was pretty basic and I think there ar better options in walking distance. Staff were very pleasant and helful. Room was clean and efficiently organised.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

This is for business people. Not suitable for shoppers.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Rouge, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rick from PITT
Business
Pittsburgh, PA
Nov 1, 2010

Great Location for the $

The staff was very friendly and attentive for a major city hotel location. The location was great for downtown Washington DC business travel. In my opinion it was a good value given the city hotel market. I would go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top