$109 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 20, 2014 Check-out: Apr 21, 2014

Rouge, a Kimpton Hotel

3 stars
1315 16th Street NW, Washington, DC 20036
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
63 reviews
Great Night in DC

As I've come to expect from previous stays at other Kimpton locations, this hotel (Rouge) was... See full review

  • Mike the Weekender
  • Mar 20, 2014
Amazing

We love this kimpton hotels and try to stay in them. Service was great, rooms were awesome. We... See full review

  • Monkey's Momma
  • Feb 17, 2014
Dupont Circle hotel provides plenty of red-hot reasons to fall in love
There's no shortage of drama at Rouge, a Kimpton Hotel, where the name only hints at the scarlet fever inside. Guest rooms and common areas at this ultra-hip Washington, D.C. hotel sizzle with red floors, red walls and Bar Rouge, the hottest spot in the neighborhood. Choose from a host of room options at Rouge, a Kimpton Hotel, from  450-square-foot deluxe rooms to bunk bed suites perfect for families or groups of friends. All feature black-and-white graphic art, chrome accessories and floor-to-ceiling red upholstered headboards. 
Highlights

  • Hosted wine hour each evening in the lobby living room
  • Fitness center and in-room spa services
  • Pet-friendly amenities
  • Central Washington D.C. location near the White House, Smithsonian Museums, National Mall, Washington Monument

Rooms
Rouge, a Kimpton Hotel delivers style in spades, but there's more to this boutique hotel near Dupont Circle. Look for 37-inch HDTVs with premium cable channels, fully stocked mini-bars (fees apply), down comforters, plush robes, private voicemail and room service. Pets aren't just welcome -- they're given loads of love and attention: Pet treats, feeding bowls, a mat, bottled water, a bed, pick-up bags and a list of pet sitters and doggie daycare facilities…all provided at no additional charge.
Features
Turn up the heat with an in-room massage or body treatment delivered with Kerstin Florian organic body and skin care products. Inquire with the concierge to arrange for treatments - the revitalizing hot stone massage might be especially appropriate. 
Dining
The motto at Bar Rouge is "eating sexy since 2002," and it's easy to see why. The space is awash in top-to-bottom crimson and furnished with metal tables and black cube ottomans that pop against the background of primary color. Behind the marble bar, a flat-panel monitor displays a series of pastoral scenes, paired with thumping electronica. There are plenty of dinner options at Rouge, a Kimpton Hotel, but the red velvet cupcakes with cream cheese frosting are the biggest temptations.
Transportation

  • Farragut North Metro Station (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Ronald Reagan Washington National Airport (4.1 mi/6.6 km)
  • Washington Dulles International Airport (22.3 mi/36 km)

Attractions

  • Dupont Circle (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • The White House (0.7 mi/1.2 km)
  • Walter E. Washington Convention Center (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • National Mall (1.3 mi/2 km)

Business

  • 24-hour business center
  • 1,300 square feet of function space
  • Catering provided by Bar Rouge

Rouge, a Kimpton Hotel Rooms

Conference Room Suite
610 sq ft King room with Conference Room for 5.
Queen Queen Deluxe Room
Queen Queen Deluxe Room with 2 queen beds 400 sq ft
Rouge Suite
Rouge Suite 550 sq ft with King Bed and Living Room
Accessible King Deluxe Room
Accessible King Deluxe Room Communication features availble
Executive King
Executive King with 1 king bed 481 sq ft queen sleeper sofa
Queen Queen with Bunk Beds
Queen Queen with Bunk Beds with 2 queen beds and Bunk Bed Alcove 500 sq ft
King with Bunk Beds
King with Bunk Beds 1 king bed and alcove with bunk bed 500 sq ft
King plus Day Bed
King plus Day Bed 1 king bed and a daybed 450 sq ft
Kitchenette with King Bed
Kitchenette with King Bed 500 sq ft nonsmoking kitchenette incl microwave fridge and dishware
Accessible King Dlx Roll In Shwr
Accessible King Deluxe Room Roll In Shower Communication features availble
King Deluxe Room
King Deluxe Room 450 sq ft CD stereo sitting area with accent chair flat panel
Queen Deluxe Room
Queen Deluxe Room 1 queen bed 450 sq ft

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Elevators
FEMA approved
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Room service
Meal plan - continental
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express checkout
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Conference facilities
Copy service
Audio visual equipment
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Indoor parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Grab bars in bathroom
Room
Television with cable
Cordless phone
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Mini bar
Hairdryer in room
Fire alarm with light
In room movies
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
Sprinklers in rooms

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Rouge, a Kimpton Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Hotel Map

38.9082 -77.0361
Nearby airports
Washington Dulles International Airport, (IAD), 27.00, MI, W; Baltimore/Washington International Airport, (BWI), 32.00, MI, S; Washington National Airport, (DCA), 4.50, MI, S;
Area description
City Center

Nearby points of interest

  • National Geographic Society: 0.2 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.3 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.5 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.6 mi
  • Phillips Collection: 0.6 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.6 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 0.6 mi
  • Blair House: 0.7 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 0.7 mi
  • U Street Corridor: 0.7 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 0.7 mi
  • Lincoln Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Bohemian Caverns: 0.8 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.2 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.3 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.5 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.6 mi
  • Phillips Collection: 0.6 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.6 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 0.6 mi
  • Blair House: 0.7 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 0.7 mi
  • U Street Corridor: 0.7 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 0.7 mi
  • Lincoln Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Bohemian Caverns: 0.8 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.9 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 0.9 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.9 mi
  • National Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 0.9 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 0.9 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 0.9 mi
  • National Aquarium: 1 mi
  • Presidents Park: 1 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 1 mi
  • National Museum of American Art: 1 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 1 mi
  • Smithsonian American Art Museum: 1 mi
  • Ronald Reagan Building: 1 mi
  • International Spy Museum: 1 mi
  • Art Museum of The Americas: 1 mi
  • Old Post office Pavilion: 1.1 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 1.1 mi
  • Dumbarton House: 1.1 mi
  • Verizon Center: 1.1 mi
  • Koshland Science Museum: 1.2 mi
  • National Museum of American History: 1.2 mi
  • National Building Museum: 1.2 mi
  • Department of State: 1.2 mi
  • Watergate Complex: 1.2 mi
  • National Academy of Sciences: 1.2 mi
  • Howard University: 1.2 mi
  • Folger Shakespeare Library: 1.2 mi
  • National Archives: 1.3 mi

Dining

Bar Rouge
Bar Rouge is the funky fusion of LA cool and London hip with a dash of New York chic mixed in for good measure.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (63)

Ratings and reviews for Rouge, a Kimpton Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
63 out of 63
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.3

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Rouge, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
Mike the Weekender
Philadelphia, PA
Mar 20, 2014

Great Night in DC

As I've come to expect from previous stays at other Kimpton locations, this hotel (Rouge) was trendy, upbeat, tastefull, and comfortable. Modern decor yet still warm & inviting. Genuine , cheerful, helpful staff... no airs or fakeness whatsoever. Bed was very comfortable. Room was spacious, with large windows. Only minor wishes... windows only opened a couple of inches... wish they opened a bit more. And the two beautiful leather armchairs in the room looked so comfortable... but weren't; owing to the fact that there seemed to be a hard wooden board right under the seat of each chair. What should have been cushiony was firm and hard. Minor stuff though. Overall a great stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Rouge, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
Business
Cambridge
Nov 18, 2008

My review of Hotel Rouge - a Kimpton Hotel

The Hotel Rouge was spacious, trendy, and located in a perfect position for our business needs. Our room was big and the bed was comfortable. Best of all, the staff was friendly, efficient, and took care of a problem I had with grace and care. I would definitely stay there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Dupont Circle with its restaurants, bookstores, and entertainment, is nearby

Review of Rouge, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
New Washington Fan
Ontario
Jul 9, 2010

Simply the Best

We were only in town for one night and the hotel made it most enjoyable - great staff - very helpful with directions and suggestions etc. The place is awesome - very funky!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Georgetown waterfront - great restaurants, great view, on the water and some great shopping too!:)

Review of Rouge, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
USA
Sep 29, 2008

A Great Find Smack Dab in the City

Our stay at the Hotel Rouge was such an enjoyable experience! The decor reminded me of a mod lovenest, with the overall theme using reds and whites. The room was spacious with a very comfortable bed. Everything was clean and the complementary robes were a nice added touch. The staff was helpful and I was grateful for the valet parking, which was also very affordable. The location was great, dupont circle was just a short walk away, and a quick hop in a cab brought us to the Lincoln Theater and then we ate at Busboys and Poets; a great local bookstore/cafe. I know I'll be recommending this hotel to my friends, and if the occasion arises, I'd love to stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

A short cab ride ( and I'm talking less then 10.00) There is a ultra cool bookstore/cafe called Busboys and Poets.

Review of Rouge, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
Monkey's Momma
Chicago , IL
Feb 17, 2014

Amazing

We love this kimpton hotels and try to stay in them. Service was great, rooms were awesome. We would recommend to anyone staying in DC

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Rouge, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
Business
Wilmington
Jul 6, 2008

Stylish Comfort

The Hotel Rouge was very well decorated and designed according to its Rouge theme, offering a bit of a giggle at first look. It sort of reminded me of vampires or bordellos. I think that anyone who likes dark colors and modern furnishings will feel very comfortable in this hotel. I felt comfortable after the first 5 minutes. There were great big comfy armchairs, a small glass table, a cirular ottoman, a large desk, and plenty of dancing room in the room as well. The furnishings and storage options were great. We had a large room with a wall of windows, with clean red velvet drapes that could be closed all the way across the wall, individual airconditioning controls- which in DC is a must in July, fun mirrors, photographs, large tv, etc. The bathroom was very clean, the tub so clean that I opted for a bath one night. The bed was very comfortable, which is saying a lot for me- I have a back condition. We did miss the in-room coffee maker, but there were plenty of cafes on P Street for morning coffee, also we saw some hotel guests with coffe in the bar, so I assume there was coffee provided there. There were plenty of options for dinner on P Street and the hotel was within 3/4 to 1 mile of all of the mall attractions, which is not too much to walk. We did not use the valet service as we were there on the weekend and were able to save the $30 per day by parking for free on the streets. Overall a fantastic stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Rouge, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
Macmac
Hampton VA
Oct 6, 2009

i love this hotel

i love this place the staff is always friendly and helpful the location is geat with a whole foods and cvs right a round the corner, and meteo up the street. The rooms are a nice size, but you must like red!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Rouge, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
top half of bottom third
Tennessee
Oct 31, 2013

Perfect for couples

In DC for the Marine Corps Marathon - We enjoyed all aspects of our stay - excellent location about a mile from the white house and a short walk to metro stations - many restarurants and bars nearby - a running shoe store about 3 blocks away - courteous and helpful staff - large comfortable room with king size bed, sofa, chair.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Newseum was fabulous. Plan to spend at least one full day - 9- 5 - maybe more.

Review of Rouge, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
Sadie Prudence
New York, NY
May 22, 2010

Fun, Eclectic Hotel

Not your standard looking hotel - very hip and eclectic decor. Fantastic service!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Rouge, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
St Louis
Aug 5, 2010

Awesome

This hotel was very cute and clean. The room and bathroom very big. In room fridge and snack bar. Very friendly staff. I highly recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Tons of nice restaurants nearby on 17th street and even more in Dupont circle.

Back to menu Return to top