$139 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 10, 2015 Check-out: May 11, 2015

Rouge, a Kimpton Hotel

3 stars
View map of 1315 16th Street NW, Washington, DC 20036

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Rouge, a Kimpton Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
79 out of 79
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.3

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Rouge, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cambridge
Nov 18, 2008

My review of Hotel Rouge - a Kimpton Hotel

The Hotel Rouge was spacious, trendy, and located in a perfect position for our business needs. Our room was big and the bed was comfortable. Best of all, the staff was friendly, efficient, and took care of a problem I had with grace and care. I would definitely stay there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Dupont Circle with its restaurants, bookstores, and entertainment, is nearby

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Rouge, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Sep 29, 2008

A Great Find Smack Dab in the City

Our stay at the Hotel Rouge was such an enjoyable experience! The decor reminded me of a mod lovenest, with the overall theme using reds and whites. The room was spacious with a very comfortable bed. Everything was clean and the complementary robes were a nice added touch. The staff was helpful and I was grateful for the valet parking, which was also very affordable. The location was great, dupont circle was just a short walk away, and a quick hop in a cab brought us to the Lincoln Theater and then we ate at Busboys and Poets; a great local bookstore/cafe. I know I'll be recommending this hotel to my friends, and if the occasion arises, I'd love to stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

A short cab ride ( and I'm talking less then 10.00) There is a ultra cool bookstore/cafe called Busboys and Poets.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Rouge, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Wilmington
Jul 6, 2008

Stylish Comfort

The Hotel Rouge was very well decorated and designed according to its Rouge theme, offering a bit of a giggle at first look. It sort of reminded me of vampires or bordellos. I think that anyone who likes dark colors and modern furnishings will feel very comfortable in this hotel. I felt comfortable after the first 5 minutes. There were great big comfy armchairs, a small glass table, a cirular ottoman, a large desk, and plenty of dancing room in the room as well. The furnishings and storage options were great. We had a large room with a wall of windows, with clean red velvet drapes that could be closed all the way across the wall, individual airconditioning controls- which in DC is a must in July, fun mirrors, photographs, large tv, etc. The bathroom was very clean, the tub so clean that I opted for a bath one night. The bed was very comfortable, which is saying a lot for me- I have a back condition. We did miss the in-room coffee maker, but there were plenty of cafes on P Street for morning coffee, also we saw some hotel guests with coffe in the bar, so I assume there was coffee provided there. There were plenty of options for dinner on P Street and the hotel was within 3/4 to 1 mile of all of the mall attractions, which is not too much to walk. We did not use the valet service as we were there on the weekend and were able to save the $30 per day by parking for free on the streets. Overall a fantastic stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Rouge, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Raleigh
Jun 15, 2008

Would stay again

Very art deco and near every thing down town, the walk was a bit long from the airport put well worth at the end. Would stay again and recommend this to friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Rouge, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Turtle Creek
Jun 8, 2008

A very fun place

The Hotel Rouge has a lot going for it: Great location (about 5-10 minutes walk from the Dupont Circle Metro station), with many bars and restaurants nearby. Comfortable beds and rooms, with free wireless internet and lots of desk space Interesting, comfortable furnishings Helpful, polite staff Negatives: Parking is expensive (although you may be able to find free street parking nearby at night or on the weekends) No pool Elevators are extremely slow I wasn't a huge fan of the animal print robes I would definitely stay in this or another Kimpton hotel in DC again. It is especially a good place for a weekend visit, as the rates are reasonable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Rouge, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Denver
May 22, 2008

Great Location, Rooms

First stay in a boutique (Kimpton) hotel in quite some time -- got a handicap accessible room which was HUGE by DC standards and unqiuely decorated. Good: Location is perfect - near uptown, dupont and downtown, Bed was very comfortable, working space very adequate, all services working, cool mini-bar snacks, very attentive staff. Mediocre: small gym in the basement with 4 cardio machines and some dumbells. Great overall stay in May 2008.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Rouge, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Francisco, CA
Apr 23, 2008

Not what I expected from a Kimpton Property

Having stayed at Kimpton Hotel in San Francisco & Seattle I very much expected an above average experience. That was not to be the case. The room provided was right next to the elevator mechanical room, that is very noisy. this was surprising since the desk clerk asked if we would like to be away from the the elevator. Then there was there were the following issues: 1) Damaged sink fixture in bathroom 2) Missing stopper in bathroom sink along with a slow drain in bath tub 3) No Hand towels on after the room was made up. 4) A Broken desk lamp 5) No functioning Internet access for over 12 hours Over all not a good place to stay. I had to say the hotel manager tried to fix some of these items, but there should not have been that many to begin with.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Enjoy an out standing dining experience at Morrison-Clark.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Rouge, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Hartford, CT
Apr 22, 2008

Close to dining and site seeing

The Rouge has a hip but friendly feel. Small lobby and restaurant, large guest room. Ours was a single king room, very spacious and clean and nicely decorated. They charge for parking but I was able to find on street parking overnight for free right next to the hotel. Very close (.75 mi) to the Dupont Circle restaurants along Embassy Row. Upscale area. Walked in the evening, felt very safe. 1 mi to White House.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great breakfast buffet at the Jury's restaurant Dupont Hotel and Dinner at Circa both just off Dupont Circle.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Rouge, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seattle, WA
Apr 18, 2008

All show, no go

At first blush this hotel looks very good with big rooms and very trendy. Closer examination I found very limited dining options, no coffee maker in the room which meant you had to go into the coctail lounge to get coffee in the morning. Horrible reception on the tv that left some channels borderline unwatchable and the young lady at the check in desk was minimally helpful when I had questions

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top