$125 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 14, 2015 Check-out: Aug 15, 2015

Rouge, a Kimpton Hotel

3 stars
View map of 1315 16th Street NW, Washington, DC 20036

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Rouge, a Kimpton Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
74 out of 74
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.2

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Rouge, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Show Guppies some REAL love
Business
New York, NY
Nov 30, 2010

Betta Fish? Betta think again Kimpton!

My hotel experience--bleh. The hotel experience for beta fish? CRUEL! Kimpton's got a Guppy Love program, where you can RENT beta fish in a tiny pathetic bowl. (http://www.kimptonhotels.com/pdfs/pet/Pet-PR-Guppy-Love-Program.pdf). So sad that I'm boycotting them.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Rouge, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Albeaner
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Nov 3, 2010

Loved it

Great - quiet, nice decorations, expansive room, fabulous staff, excellent location. The only demerit was that the bathroom was very small - no counter space for cosmetics or anything. I loved that the shampoo and soap were in pumps in the shower rather than individual little bottles.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Rouge, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rick from PITT
Business
Pittsburgh, PA
Nov 1, 2010

Great Location for the $

The staff was very friendly and attentive for a major city hotel location. The location was great for downtown Washington DC business travel. In my opinion it was a good value given the city hotel market. I would go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Rouge, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tri-Cities, VA
Oct 31, 2010

Decent service, not great rooms

We visited DC for the weekend and I've really enjoyed other Kimpton properties. However we were pretty disappointed with the Rouge. Our room wasn't cleaned very well when we arrived (the bathtub had hair in it, and there was a bobby pin left on the dresser and another on the chair). The shower drain was also extremely slow and although we complained about it, it was still slow the second night. Additionally, parking is extremely expensive. I'm a frequent traveler (especially to DC) and will not be staying here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

There are lots of great restaurants nearby, or for a very short cab ride.

Review of Rouge, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
little rock
Aug 19, 2010

it was great , inside and outside

the hotel was awesome , everything was around me , specially the whole foods market ; which is my favorite store , the room was huge for me , the bathroom was the best with the colors and the lights , the window was as wide as the room . I enjoyed my stay

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Rouge, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
New Washington Fan
Business
Ontario
Jul 9, 2010

Simply the Best

We were only in town for one night and the hotel made it most enjoyable - great staff - very helpful with directions and suggestions etc. The place is awesome - very funky!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Georgetown waterfront - great restaurants, great view, on the water and some great shopping too!:)

Review of Rouge, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington, DC
Jul 4, 2010

Fabulous Stay!

With a prime location in Dupont Circle and just minutes away from Adams Morgan, it was an amazing stay with fantastic service. Whether I called down for a toothbrush or anything, it would come up within five minutes. Having free bottles of wine in the evening was also amazing. The front desk was fantastic, specifically [...] and [...] during the night shift.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Many bars and nightclubs within a few blocks, as well as fantastic restaurants.

Review of Rouge, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Nashville, TN
Jun 20, 2010

Super Nice Place

The hotel was very hip and trendy, but also very comfortable. The bed was fantastic. Cold coffee in the morning and free wine during the evenings. Just perfect for a young couple visiting the city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Rouge, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
May 24, 2010

Where Whimsy Meets Class

Walk out the front door of this fun boutique hotel and you're looking at the front of the White House a few blocks down. The staff is very, very accommodating and the small touches make the stay great (e.g., (1) the room was very large and had nice touches, such as zebra robes, great TV; (2) as I was leaving the hotel for a short walk I mentioned the TV was fuzzy. When I returned the TV was fixed and they left me a bottle of wine with a couple of glasses; (3) Fun bar and restaurant. I'll be staying here for my next visit to DC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Rouge, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sadie Prudence
Business
New York, NY
May 22, 2010

Fun, Eclectic Hotel

Not your standard looking hotel - very hip and eclectic decor. Fantastic service!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top