$92 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 20, 2014 Check-out: Nov 22, 2014

Rouge, a Kimpton Hotel

3 stars
1315 16th Street NW, Washington, DC 20036
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
70 reviews
perfect

Our stay was just perfect I was with my husband our regret it's just the longer of our stay it's... See full review

  • lniabia
  • May 29, 2014
Great Night in DC

As I've come to expect from previous stays at other Kimpton locations, this hotel (Rouge) was... See full review

  • Mike the Weekender
  • Mar 20, 2014
Dupont Circle hotel provides plenty of red-hot reasons to fall in love
There's no shortage of drama at Rouge, a Kimpton Hotel, where the name only hints at the scarlet fever inside. Guest rooms and common areas at this ultra-hip Washington, D.C. hotel sizzle with red floors, red walls and Bar Rouge, the hottest spot in the neighborhood. Choose from a host of room options at Rouge, a Kimpton Hotel, from  450-square-foot deluxe rooms to bunk bed suites perfect for families or groups of friends. All feature black-and-white graphic art, chrome accessories and floor-to-ceiling red upholstered headboards. 
Highlights

  • Hosted wine hour each evening in the lobby living room
  • Fitness center and in-room spa services
  • Pet-friendly amenities
  • Central Washington D.C. location near the White House, Smithsonian Museums, National Mall, Washington Monument

Rooms
Rouge, a Kimpton Hotel delivers style in spades, but there's more to this boutique hotel near Dupont Circle. Look for 37-inch HDTVs with premium cable channels, fully stocked mini-bars (fees apply), down comforters, plush robes, private voicemail and room service. Pets aren't just welcome -- they're given loads of love and attention: Pet treats, feeding bowls, a mat, bottled water, a bed, pick-up bags and a list of pet sitters and doggie daycare facilities…all provided at no additional charge.
Features
Turn up the heat with an in-room massage or body treatment delivered with Kerstin Florian organic body and skin care products. Inquire with the concierge to arrange for treatments - the revitalizing hot stone massage might be especially appropriate. 
Dining
The motto at Bar Rouge is "eating sexy since 2002," and it's easy to see why. The space is awash in top-to-bottom crimson and furnished with metal tables and black cube ottomans that pop against the background of primary color. Behind the marble bar, a flat-panel monitor displays a series of pastoral scenes, paired with thumping electronica. There are plenty of dinner options at Rouge, a Kimpton Hotel, but the red velvet cupcakes with cream cheese frosting are the biggest temptations.
Transportation

  • Farragut North Metro Station (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Ronald Reagan Washington National Airport (4.1 mi/6.6 km)
  • Washington Dulles International Airport (22.3 mi/36 km)

Attractions

  • Dupont Circle (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • The White House (0.7 mi/1.2 km)
  • Walter E. Washington Convention Center (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • National Mall (1.3 mi/2 km)

Business

  • 24-hour business center
  • 1,300 square feet of function space
  • Catering provided by Bar Rouge

Hotel Map

38.9082 -77.0361
Nearby airports
Washington Dulles International Airport, (IAD), 27.00, MI, W; Baltimore/Washington International Airport, (BWI), 32.00, MI, S; Washington National Airport, (DCA), 4.50, MI, S;
Area description
City Center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Rouge, a Kimpton Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Rouge, a Kimpton Hotel Rooms

Conference Room Suite
610 sq ft King room with Conference Room for 5.
Queen Queen Deluxe Room
Queen Queen Deluxe Room with 2 queen beds 400 sq ft
Rouge Suite
Rouge Suite 550 sq ft with King Bed and Living Room
Accessible King Deluxe Room
Accessible King Deluxe Room Communication features available
Executive King
Executive King with 1 king bed 481 sq ft queen sleeper sofa
Queen Queen with Bunk Beds
Queen Queen with Bunk Beds with 2 queen beds and Bunk Bed Alcove 500 sq ft
King with Bunk Beds
King with Bunk Beds 1 king bed and alcove with bunk bed 500 sq ft
King plus Day Bed
King plus Day Bed 1 king bed and a daybed 450 sq ft
Kitchenette with King Bed
Kitchenette with King Bed 500 sq ft nonsmoking kitchenette incl microwave fridge and dishware
Accessible King Dlx Roll In Shwr
Accessible King Deluxe Room Roll In Shower Communication features available
King Deluxe Room
King Deluxe Room 450 sq ft CD stereo sitting area with accent chair flat panel
Queen Deluxe Room
Queen Deluxe Room 1 queen bed 450 sq ft

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Elevators
FEMA approved
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Room service
Meal plan - continental
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express checkout
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Conference facilities
Copy service
Audio visual equipment
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Indoor parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Grab bars in bathroom
Room
Television with cable
Cordless phone
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Mini bar
Hairdryer in room
Fire alarm with light
In room movies
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
Sprinklers in rooms

Nearby points of interest

  • National Geographic Society: 0.2 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.3 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.5 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.6 mi
  • Phillips Collection: 0.6 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.6 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 0.6 mi
  • Blair House: 0.7 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 0.7 mi
  • U Street Corridor: 0.7 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 0.7 mi
  • Lincoln Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Bohemian Caverns: 0.8 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.2 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.3 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.5 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.6 mi
  • Phillips Collection: 0.6 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.6 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 0.6 mi
  • Blair House: 0.7 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 0.7 mi
  • U Street Corridor: 0.7 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 0.7 mi
  • Lincoln Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Bohemian Caverns: 0.8 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.9 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 0.9 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.9 mi
  • National Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 0.9 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 0.9 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 0.9 mi
  • National Aquarium: 1 mi
  • Presidents Park: 1 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 1 mi
  • National Museum of American Art: 1 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 1 mi
  • Smithsonian American Art Museum: 1 mi
  • Ronald Reagan Building: 1 mi
  • International Spy Museum: 1 mi
  • Art Museum of The Americas: 1 mi
  • Old Post office Pavilion: 1.1 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 1.1 mi
  • Dumbarton House: 1.1 mi
  • Verizon Center: 1.1 mi
  • Koshland Science Museum: 1.2 mi
  • National Museum of American History: 1.2 mi
  • National Building Museum: 1.2 mi
  • Department of State: 1.2 mi
  • Watergate Complex: 1.2 mi
  • National Academy of Sciences: 1.2 mi
  • Howard University: 1.2 mi
  • Folger Shakespeare Library: 1.2 mi
  • National Archives: 1.3 mi

Dining

Bar Rouge
Bar Rouge is the funky fusion of LA cool and London hip with a dash of New York chic mixed in for good measure.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (70)

Ratings and reviews for Rouge, a Kimpton Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
70 out of 70
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.3

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Rouge, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Foodie80
Business
Plymouth, MA
Feb 14, 2011

A change of pace

The hotel was lovely and very different from other hotels in the area (Kimpton hotels often are). Our room was huge and uniquely decorated. The front desk help was excellent, very nice and attentive. There was construction going on in the lounge, which was unfortunate, because I bet it would have been as much fun as the rest of the hotel, but the construction didn't really interfer with our stay (although we were on the 10th floor, so I'm not sure how loud it was for lower rooms). All in all it was a great experience and I would surely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

You must have sunday brunch at birch and barley, about 2 blocks away, it is a little on the pricier side, but everything we had was amazing- I'm still dreaming about the doughnuts. The bar upstairs (Churchkey) has about a billion beers on tap and it a nice place to have a drink after dinner

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Rouge, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Albuquerque NM
Jan 12, 2011

Great location

The hotel is undergoing a face lift but the staff is great and location could not be better. The beds were super comfy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

There are a handful of great Gay bars right around the corner.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Rouge, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pittsburgh
Dec 14, 2010

Rouge is Excellent!

Excellent service, location. Clean, well presented, charming.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Rouge, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
indonesia
Dec 5, 2010

good

we luv this hotel.. the size of the room was quite big.. the hotel was quite and the design was unique just give more amenities for cooking the water

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

near union station

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Rouge, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Show Guppies some REAL love
Business
New York, NY
Nov 30, 2010

Betta Fish? Betta think again Kimpton!

My hotel experience--bleh. The hotel experience for beta fish? CRUEL! Kimpton's got a Guppy Love program, where you can RENT beta fish in a tiny pathetic bowl. (http://www.kimptonhotels.com/pdfs/pet/Pet-PR-Guppy-Love-Program.pdf). So sad that I'm boycotting them.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Rouge, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Albeaner
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Nov 3, 2010

Loved it

Great - quiet, nice decorations, expansive room, fabulous staff, excellent location. The only demerit was that the bathroom was very small - no counter space for cosmetics or anything. I loved that the shampoo and soap were in pumps in the shower rather than individual little bottles.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Rouge, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rick from PITT
Business
Pittsburgh, PA
Nov 1, 2010

Great Location for the $

The staff was very friendly and attentive for a major city hotel location. The location was great for downtown Washington DC business travel. In my opinion it was a good value given the city hotel market. I would go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Rouge, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tri-Cities, VA
Oct 31, 2010

Decent service, not great rooms

We visited DC for the weekend and I've really enjoyed other Kimpton properties. However we were pretty disappointed with the Rouge. Our room wasn't cleaned very well when we arrived (the bathtub had hair in it, and there was a bobby pin left on the dresser and another on the chair). The shower drain was also extremely slow and although we complained about it, it was still slow the second night. Additionally, parking is extremely expensive. I'm a frequent traveler (especially to DC) and will not be staying here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

There are lots of great restaurants nearby, or for a very short cab ride.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Rouge, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
little rock
Aug 19, 2010

it was great , inside and outside

the hotel was awesome , everything was around me , specially the whole foods market ; which is my favorite store , the room was huge for me , the bathroom was the best with the colors and the lights , the window was as wide as the room . I enjoyed my stay

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Rouge, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
St Louis
Aug 5, 2010

Awesome

This hotel was very cute and clean. The room and bathroom very big. In room fridge and snack bar. Very friendly staff. I highly recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Tons of nice restaurants nearby on 17th street and even more in Dupont circle.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top