$139 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 10, 2015 Check-out: May 11, 2015

Rouge, a Kimpton Hotel

3 stars
View map of 1315 16th Street NW, Washington, DC 20036

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Rouge, a Kimpton Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
76 out of 76
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.3

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Rouge, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Oooga731
Business
Arlington, VA
Jan 2, 2013

Good place for a night

We stayed here for one night, and it was an adequate place to rest our heads. The room was clean, and the decor was fun and funky. The hallways were a bit run down, as was the lobby and elevators. The beds weren't comfortable at all; the mattresses were hard and had springs poking you while you slept. The linens and pillows were nice, and everything was clean. The elevators were a problem; they were small and very, very slow. Also, if you're a light sleeper, bring ear plugs and ask for a room at the end of the hall away from the elevators. They run all night and you can hear it! Overall, a good place to stay for a night or two, but I wouldn't recommend it to light sleepers or people wanting a posh experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a Whole Foods Market at 14th & P St where you can stock up on supplies.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Rouge, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BrutusMax
Business
Scottsdale, AZ
Dec 9, 2012

Nice stay

The rooms were big, comfortable bed, friendly staff and only slight improvement could be used in the restaurant with better service in the morning. It looked like they had only 1 person working. Otherwise, it was a great stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Rouge, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Travelbug13
Business
Pittsburgh
Nov 5, 2012

Loved it! Especially the bedding. Thumbs down on the parking fee

Everyrhing was great- ambiance, fluffy bedding, location, but two nights of parking($46*2=$92) was a bit too much when the nightly room rate was only $111.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Sign up for Kimpton's frequent travel program and get $10 to spend on the minibar

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Rouge, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ClareR
Business
London
Nov 4, 2012

Great hotel

We had a great time at this hotel. The only criticism from my husband was that there were no coffee making facilities in the room. We were there during superstorm Sandy and the hotel did everything they could to make our stay as comfortable as possible while we couldn't leave. It was very much appreciated. In a great location, for the price it was very close to the White House and the National Mall. It is also very close to DuPont Circle the vibrant gay district of Washington DC. The staff were friendly and the head housekeeper made a point of checking that we had been happy with the service on the day we left. We had. I would happily stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Rouge, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mediakit on a Mission
Business
Shreveport, LA
Oct 12, 2012

Posh, yet Welcoming

I have stayed at The Hotel Rouge now about 4 times over the past several years. The hotel has been maintained and kept clean. I kinda of expected it to be posh and cool for a few years and then run down...it has not. It keeps refining like the wine they serve to guest during happy hour each day. In fact, the addition of first come first serve loaner bicycles was just what I needed to make my trip more enjoyable. I was able to ride to the Mall to jog and then on to a business meeting later that afternoon. I felt like a local as I dodged the oncoming traffic. DC is very bike friendly, but my suggestion is to wear the helmet. Overall, this hotel is a great priced clean and friendly option for your stay in DC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Use the bicycles. I did, even in business attire. Saved me the walk to the Metro and made me feel like a local, even if for the day.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Rouge, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
trizo
Business
NYC
Oct 9, 2012

Great hotel and location

Hotel rooms are very large with comfortable beds and furniture. Located between Dupont Circle and Logan Circle, Hotel Rough is in the right location to get anywhere on foot. Hotspot bar and restaurants no more than a 10 minute walk and on a safe street. Staff was extremely friendly and knowledgable about the area. A little far from the Metro, about a $10 cab ride from from Union Station. Would definitely stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Churchkey and Birch & Barley are great places to catch a drink and some grub.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Rouge, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
April R.
Business
Washington, D.C.
Aug 10, 2012

Rouge, A Kimpton Hotel

This was by far the best hotel my family and I have stayed in. Great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Rouge, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DC Travel
Business
DC
Aug 6, 2012

Great Get away

I really enjoyed my stay. The location was perfect! Normally this hotel is very expensive, but I got a really good deal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Rouge, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Tinabug7053
Business
Kingsport, Tennessee
Jul 31, 2012

Good location.

This is a nice hotel but not one I would recommend for a family with children. It's a great location for sight seeing but that's about it. This hotel advertises that they have a pool but they do not. You have to pay and additional fee and walk to the YMCA to swim.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Straight shot to the White House, monuments and museums.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Rouge, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Stoodent
Business
Cincinnati, OH
May 28, 2012

Great location, otherwise average

Proximity to DuPont Circle and other entertainment is extremely convenient. Staff isn't especially friendly, bartenders make bad drinks and the furniture in the bar is uncomfortable to the point of being unusable. Location is hard to beat, everything else very meh.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top