$161 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 25, 2015 Check-out: Apr 27, 2015

Rouge, a Kimpton Hotel

3 stars
View map of 1315 16th Street NW, Washington, DC 20036

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Rouge, a Kimpton Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
75 out of 75
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.3

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Rouge, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
April R.
Washington, D.C.
Aug 10, 2012

Rouge, A Kimpton Hotel

This was by far the best hotel my family and I have stayed in. Great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Rouge, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
top half of bottom third
Business
Tennessee
Oct 31, 2013

Perfect for couples

In DC for the Marine Corps Marathon - We enjoyed all aspects of our stay - excellent location about a mile from the white house and a short walk to metro stations - many restarurants and bars nearby - a running shoe store about 3 blocks away - courteous and helpful staff - large comfortable room with king size bed, sofa, chair.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Newseum was fabulous. Plan to spend at least one full day - 9- 5 - maybe more.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Rouge, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
AlanYOLORL
Business
DC
Aug 23, 2013

Awesome Room & Great Staff

First room with bunkbeds that I've ever stayed in. Great stay and rooms that are literally 100% clean and brand new looking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Rouge, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Newly engaged J
Business
Washington DC
Aug 17, 2013

Nice couples getaway

The room was nice and spacious and the bed was very comfortable. It was also in a great spot in the heart of DC with many places to go within walking distance. Only negative is that I wish they had a microwave in the room but the staff was very helpful in warming things up for us downstairs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Waffle sandwiches

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Rouge, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Poised for Fun
Business
Hartford, Connecticut Area
Apr 4, 2013

Funky

A really funky hotel. Room was a nice size. The staff was nice and accommodating. The location was great for walking to most key destinations. The restaurant seemed a bit pricey but compared to other local restaurants for breakfast it seemed reasonable after all. The elevators are too slow especially if there were a lot of guests. I had one issue with the room next to mine where some teens had a party. The noise continued until late hours and reconvened in the early morning. The staff was helpful in addressing the issue and the rest of the stay was seamless.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Rouge, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tax Traveller
Business
Chicago, IL
Feb 22, 2013

Good Business Hotel

Obviously as building converted from studio apartments. A little odd that that kitchen was apparently still there but locked off from the room. But that did result in large rooms for the price. As with all Kimpton Hotels, the furniture can often be more stylish than comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Rouge, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Laura K01
Business
Stamford, CT
Jan 31, 2013

Fun & friendly quick getaway!

Great customer service: With a smile and outgoing! The guest services and bar managers ensured we had a really good time and it was most appreciated! And the appetizers were quite yummy too. We loved the room, as it was more spacious than average hotel chains. And it was decorated really cool and luxurious at the same time. You can't beat the happy hour at the end of the day - Perfect way to end your day (or start your evening)! We hope to be back soon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

If there is anything - anything at all that you need, want or have a question about - just ask and they are most helpful!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Rouge, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mundito
Business
Las Vegas
Jan 24, 2013

All Red To Boot

Very nice great rooms comfy pillows...staff always ready to help. Metro stop was a little to far.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

White House

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Rouge, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Work Flyer
Business
San Francisco, CA
Jan 20, 2013

Great D.C. Stop

I was very impressed with the Rouge. The staff were very friendly from the start. The room though, was great, large, well stocked, clean and a place to rest after a long day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Rouge, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Deetee12345
Business
NYC
Jan 5, 2013

Great, thanks.

Very nice staff....most of times I came across Kelly- very nice and very helpful! Who would think that an hotel will provide you with the bus/metro card-SmarTrip, which saves you time and money! The tub in my room was clogged and within no time it got fixed....the engineers left me a nice personal note....so even the minore inconvenience ( something that obviously can happen) they turned into a smile. Would surely use Kimpton hotels again. Jan 2013

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Rouge, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Oooga731
Business
Arlington, VA
Jan 2, 2013

Good place for a night

We stayed here for one night, and it was an adequate place to rest our heads. The room was clean, and the decor was fun and funky. The hallways were a bit run down, as was the lobby and elevators. The beds weren't comfortable at all; the mattresses were hard and had springs poking you while you slept. The linens and pillows were nice, and everything was clean. The elevators were a problem; they were small and very, very slow. Also, if you're a light sleeper, bring ear plugs and ask for a room at the end of the hall away from the elevators. They run all night and you can hear it! Overall, a good place to stay for a night or two, but I wouldn't recommend it to light sleepers or people wanting a posh experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a Whole Foods Market at 14th & P St where you can stock up on supplies.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top