$169 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 25, 2015 Check-out: Jun 27, 2015

Residence Inn by Marriott Washington DC - Vermont Avenue

3 stars
View map of 1199, Vermont Avenue, NW, Washington, DC 20005

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
59 reviews
family reunion

Stayed for one week, location great, 15-20 minutes walk to all main monuments and museums, lovely... See full review

  • barry s.
  • May 24, 2015
short visit

Everyone was pleasant and helpful. Room clean and no odd odors. Great breakfast included. See full review

  • Eleanor C.
  • Apr 27, 2015

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Residence Inn by Marriott Washington DC - Vermont Avenue also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Tennis
Horseback riding
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Laundry/Valet services
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Drugstore
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Telephone
Kitchen
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Cribs available
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Shower
Iron
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.2 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 0.3 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.3 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.5 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 0.5 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.5 mi
  • Blair House: 0.6 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.6 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.6 mi
  • National Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 0.6 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 0.6 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.2 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 0.3 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.3 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.5 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 0.5 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.5 mi
  • Blair House: 0.6 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.6 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.6 mi
  • National Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 0.6 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 0.6 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.7 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • National Museum of American Art: 0.7 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Smithsonian American Art Museum: 0.7 mi
  • National Aquarium: 0.7 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 0.7 mi
  • International Spy Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 0.8 mi
  • Ronald Reagan Building: 0.8 mi
  • Verizon Center: 0.8 mi
  • Old Post office Pavilion: 0.8 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.8 mi
  • Presidents Park: 0.8 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 0.8 mi
  • U Street Corridor: 0.8 mi
  • Lincoln Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Bohemian Caverns: 0.9 mi
  • Koshland Science Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Phillips Collection: 0.9 mi
  • National Building Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Art Museum of The Americas: 0.9 mi
  • Folger Shakespeare Library: 0.9 mi
  • National Museum of American History: 1 mi
  • National Archives: 1 mi
  • Judiciary Square: 1 mi
  • National Museum of Natural History: 1 mi
  • Newseum: 1.1 mi
  • Washington Monument: 1.1 mi
  • National Gallery of Art: 1.2 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Residence Inn by Marriott Washington DC - Vermont Avenue

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
59 out of 59
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.4

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Washington DC - Vermont Avenue

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
College Linds
Business
West Virginia
Jul 8, 2014

july 4

No parking available for my suburban. Did not clean room leaving beds unmade, dorty towels, etc. Good breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Washington DC - Vermont Avenue

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Nana Valerie
Business
Portland, OR
Aug 5, 2014

It was ok. the location was great but limited family dining nearby.

I loved the location because its close to all the site but we had few family dining experiences nearby. Everyone but a few of the front desk staff were very nice. My daughter and grand daughter were bitten twice on two nights. We asked to have the matter resolved it did not happen again. The shower fixture was not affixed to wall I had to complain twice before it was fixed. Breakfast was great and is included. The doormen or bell staff were outstanding all of them. The room was very dated and worn. They are in the process of remodeling but did not put us in an updated room away from construction. They should have but they didn't. We heard hammering and drills a few times during the stay in nearby rooms. Maybe it will be better after the remodel. I would not stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

If you like to eat in bars or wont be in the room much or traveling for business only and are not traveling with kids this the place for you.

Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Washington DC - Vermont Avenue

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
summer travel girl 2012
Business
texas
Jul 7, 2012

average hotel stay, near D.C. attrractions

we stayed during the 4th of July week. The room was small, but at least we had a refrigerator/kitchenette. The free breakfast was OK, but there were too many people in the dining room, so we had to take our breakfast to go everyday. If we could have found a cheap/delicious breakfast option elsewere, we probably would have had breakfast somewhere else. The hotel provided an evening meal, but we never made it back in time to enjoy it. But we did enjoy the cold iced tea/lemonade in the lobby!! The hotel staff was always friendly and helpful, and the check-in/check out was easy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

It's a long walk between the capital and the Lincoln memorial. During the 4th of july, alot of the roads were closed and there were detours. My advice would be to use the bicycle pedi-cabs. Also, the DC metro is way more expensice than L.A.'s Metro. They charge you to enter and Exit the subway and there arent transfers between buses.. If you get the smart trip card put at least twenty five dollars on it.

Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Washington DC - Vermont Avenue

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
2girls
Business
Philadelphia PA
Jun 12, 2012

NO maid service?

We booked this hotel because it was located well (a few blocks from Pennsylvania Ave) and had a suite that served us well with two little girls. What didn't serve us well was the lack of chamber maid service. We came back from our morning outing on Saturday at 2:30 to find the room un-maid. Well, my kids are 3 and 1 and it's nap time, so when you come and try and do the room at 3, you'll not be successful. I am sure the next day's crew loved the diapers from Friday waiting for them on Sunday.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Washington DC - Vermont Avenue

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
T.L. MAC'S
Business
ATLANTA, GEORGIA
Jun 11, 2012

VACATION

Over all the hotel was good. contsruction work was going on and you could hear every hammer used by the workers. Need double pane windows. PARKING 'BIG PROBLEM' at those rates parking should be included.WHY VALET ? This was a big turn off. Please correct and maybe, Just maybe you all will become a four star. 'I'M JUST SAYING'. TIM

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

MANY PLACES TO DINE

Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Washington DC - Vermont Avenue

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Hockeydad900
Business
Seattle, WA
Mar 11, 2013

Nice location for a DC visit

This hotel is nicely situated for a DC visit. It is 3 or 4 blocks from 2 different Metro lines. It is also in walking distance of the White House, the Mall, Fords Theatre, etc. The rooms are large, with living room area and kitchens. Furnishings are basic but adequate. Breakfast is included. The gym is good. If you choose to stay here, ask for an upper level room, as street noise in DC is a common problem.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Washington DC - Vermont Avenue

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
florida
Mar 8, 2011

o.k.

hotel rooms heavy deoderised,didnt know it was pet hotel,changed room,no airport trans.,no spa, limitted t.v.staff exelent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

learn metro

Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Washington DC - Vermont Avenue

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
yeoj
Business
Michigan, USA
Aug 15, 2011

Excellent location, needs updating

The location is superb, close to many restaurants, subway station to get to all the DC National Mall museums and monuments. The rooms need to have the furniture replaced, the material was torn/worn, did not give a good impression. But the room was clean and the staff was excellent, very helpful and friendly. The convenience of having a complete kitchen is great for long stays. Being right next to CVS pharmacy was convenient too,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Washington DC - Vermont Avenue

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
12345traveler678910
Business
Boston
Oct 13, 2014

Good but not in a fun area

Hotel was great generally. Downsides: No airport shuttle. In a business-type district with not much nearby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Washington DC - Vermont Avenue

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bookgirlie
Business
Monterey Bay, CA
Jan 8, 2014

Fabulous Value, a Must!

We got a great package deal to fly to Washington DC in winter time, so we were going to the Marriott Residence Inn sight unseen. The hotel isn't super flamboyant on the outside, but is neat and nice on the inside. What really made this a terrific stay was the cleanliness, the food, and the superior staff. Every single staff member is helpful, direct, kind and enthusiastic. This includes the desk, the housekeeping staff, and the folks in the breakfast room. We never had such friendly, helpful staff around us! They have home made cookies out on the weekends. And the breakfast is an excellent value. All manner of muffins, breads, toast, bagels with spreads of all kinds. Homemade waffles with anything you want on top from syrup to fruit to nuts and cream. Eggs, home fries, scrambled veggies, sausage. Juices and fruit....it goes on and on. The hotel is kept very, very clean despite the influx of wind and snow. It is quiet and away from huge crowds while still being only 3 blocks from the McPherson Metro stop (5 minute's walk). From that metro you can access the greater Washington DC area in moments, so we visited all the monuments and museums (almost all of which are free) from the Metro. From the hotel you can also walk to Dupont Circle to shop, go to coffee places and hang out, and there's an organic grocery store there. Since the rooms have a kitchen, you can cook (which we did--sightseeing at night is not so great in the winter, so we came home and made dinner). All these things together made a very affordable but luxurious stay for our family of three. The housekeeping adapted to our late schedule (we came from the West Coast, so got up sort of late every day) and had the room spotless every day. The beds were very comfortable and the room very nice. I would heartily recommend the Marriott Residence Inn and will look for them on our next trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top