$109 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 27, 2014 Check-out: Dec 28, 2014

Residence Inn by Marriott Washington DC - Vermont Avenue

3 stars
1199, Vermont Avenue, NW, Washington, DC 20005
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
51 reviews
Great Ubication, Comfortable Room and Great Social Nights!

The experiencia was Great! Nice Room with everything needed, people were very nice, breakfast and... See full review

  • Luz China
  • Nov 30, 2014
Friendly staff, good location, great for families & the budget-conscious!

The staff was very friendly and accommodating. The hotel is right next door to a CVS and within... See full review

  • Chipster
  • May 30, 2014
Our Residence Inn Washington, DC Hotel in downtown is just minutes from the city's most renowned national monuments. The National Mall, Washington Convention Center, Logan Circle and scores of upscale restaurants, shops and theaters are less than one mile from this Washington DC extended stay hotel. Guest traveling to Downtown DC will appreciate our location near The Reagan National Airport and Union Station. Stretch out and relax in a suite that offers separate sleeping, living and dining areas. With full kitchens, living rooms with sofa beds, and work desks with high-speed internet access, youll feel at home in these Downtown Washington DC suites. In addition, the hotel serves complimentary breakfast daily and offers a nightly social hour midweek. Host your next Washington DC meeting at the Residence Inn Washington DC hotel on Vermont Avenue, featuring 3 meetings rooms; perfect for a training sessions, conventions and meetings. Visit our Residence Inn Downtown Washington, DC Hotel.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Residence Inn by Marriott Washington DC - Vermont Avenue also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Tennis
Horseback riding
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Laundry/Valet services
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Drugstore
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Telephone
Kitchen
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Cribs available
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Shower
Iron
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.2 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 0.3 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.3 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.5 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 0.5 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.5 mi
  • Blair House: 0.6 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.6 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.6 mi
  • National Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 0.6 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 0.6 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.2 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 0.3 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.3 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.5 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 0.5 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.5 mi
  • Blair House: 0.6 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.6 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.6 mi
  • National Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 0.6 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 0.6 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.7 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • National Museum of American Art: 0.7 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Smithsonian American Art Museum: 0.7 mi
  • National Aquarium: 0.7 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 0.7 mi
  • International Spy Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 0.8 mi
  • Ronald Reagan Building: 0.8 mi
  • Verizon Center: 0.8 mi
  • Old Post office Pavilion: 0.8 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.8 mi
  • Presidents Park: 0.8 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 0.8 mi
  • U Street Corridor: 0.8 mi
  • Lincoln Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Bohemian Caverns: 0.9 mi
  • Koshland Science Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Phillips Collection: 0.9 mi
  • National Building Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Art Museum of The Americas: 0.9 mi
  • Folger Shakespeare Library: 0.9 mi
  • National Museum of American History: 1 mi
  • National Archives: 1 mi
  • Judiciary Square: 1 mi
  • National Museum of Natural History: 1 mi
  • Newseum: 1.1 mi
  • Washington Monument: 1.1 mi
  • National Gallery of Art: 1.2 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (51)

Ratings and reviews for Residence Inn by Marriott Washington DC - Vermont Avenue

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
51 out of 51
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.4

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Washington DC - Vermont Avenue

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
rsmunoz12
Business
Cameron, NC
Feb 19, 2013

Fantastic family getaway

Hotel staff was extremely friendly and helpful. I enjoyed the free breakfast and the close proximity to the White House and other attractions.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Ben's Chili Bowl Great place to eat like a local. I will recommend the "Half Smoked" on the menu, but all the food there is fantastic.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Washington DC - Vermont Avenue

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
summer travel girl 2012
Business
texas
Jul 7, 2012

average hotel stay, near D.C. attrractions

we stayed during the 4th of July week. The room was small, but at least we had a refrigerator/kitchenette. The free breakfast was OK, but there were too many people in the dining room, so we had to take our breakfast to go everyday. If we could have found a cheap/delicious breakfast option elsewere, we probably would have had breakfast somewhere else. The hotel provided an evening meal, but we never made it back in time to enjoy it. But we did enjoy the cold iced tea/lemonade in the lobby!! The hotel staff was always friendly and helpful, and the check-in/check out was easy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

It's a long walk between the capital and the Lincoln memorial. During the 4th of july, alot of the roads were closed and there were detours. My advice would be to use the bicycle pedi-cabs. Also, the DC metro is way more expensice than L.A.'s Metro. They charge you to enter and Exit the subway and there arent transfers between buses.. If you get the smart trip card put at least twenty five dollars on it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Washington DC - Vermont Avenue

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MiraJPGH
Business
Pittsburgh, PA
Jun 20, 2012

Great!

the location of the hotel was perfect to all the attractions, i wouldnt say walking distance but definately driveable. Most places within a 10min radius. The staff was great with directions, they will even print out mapquest directions for you! the only downside was there was no food locations walking distance. anything that was close by didnt open until 5pm and required reservations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

No dining within walking distance, no fast food places within a quick walk. CVS was great, its huge!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Washington DC - Vermont Avenue

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
2girls
Business
Philadelphia PA
Jun 12, 2012

NO maid service?

We booked this hotel because it was located well (a few blocks from Pennsylvania Ave) and had a suite that served us well with two little girls. What didn't serve us well was the lack of chamber maid service. We came back from our morning outing on Saturday at 2:30 to find the room un-maid. Well, my kids are 3 and 1 and it's nap time, so when you come and try and do the room at 3, you'll not be successful. I am sure the next day's crew loved the diapers from Friday waiting for them on Sunday.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Washington DC - Vermont Avenue

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
T.L. MAC'S
Business
ATLANTA, GEORGIA
Jun 11, 2012

VACATION

Over all the hotel was good. contsruction work was going on and you could hear every hammer used by the workers. Need double pane windows. PARKING 'BIG PROBLEM' at those rates parking should be included.WHY VALET ? This was a big turn off. Please correct and maybe, Just maybe you all will become a four star. 'I'M JUST SAYING'. TIM

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

MANY PLACES TO DINE

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Washington DC - Vermont Avenue

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Woody Ex DC Native
Business
Charlotte, NC
Jun 4, 2012

Excellent place to Stay and a Good Value

We had a great time and packed a lot of sightseeing into our visit. The hotel is very centrally located. A quick walk to McPhereson Square Metro gives you access to all of DC by Metro. Walking down 14th street puts you right at the Mall and all of the museums. Since you are in the business district, the area is nice and quiet during the weekend and not very touristy. The room has everything you could think of and was very clean. My son used the pull-out sofa and he said it was very comfortable. We thought it was nice that all of the sheets and blankets for it were washed and in a plastic zipper bag instead of just thrown in the closet. My family and I are vegan/vegetarian and it can be hard to travel unless you know where all of the vegan restaurants are or you bring some of your own food. Having a full kitchen is a real bonus and makes it feel like you are staying in someone's apartment instead of eating cold food on your bed! The staff was helpful and friendly and service was quick. We did not partake in the breakfast downstairs but it smelled good. Having a CVS next door is a nice plus. The room price was incredible for the area - we'll be back. Some people remarked about the cost of parking and I wanted to clarify - valet parking was about $25 a day. If you have never lived in a city, that may seem expensive but it is reasonable IMO. You will pay more just moving your car place to place during the day if you insist on driving everywhere instead of taking the Metro. If you mess up leaving your car on the street and miss the meter or park in one of the ever changing 'security' or event zones, be prepared for up to a $150 ticket! I'd rather pay $25 a day and NOT worry about it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Luigi's Famous Italian is a quick walk. While many of the restaurants in the area are either of the expensive "business meeting" type or chain restaurants. Luigi's is more casual and serves a great southern italian style meal. Every once in a while, when we find ourselves at a nice restaurant, we forego the vegan ways. My son got the homemade Gnocchi with 4 cheese sauce and, well, had to taste it too!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Washington DC - Vermont Avenue

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Weekend Getaway Girl
Business
New York, NY
May 14, 2012

Will Stay Again! Great Value

When I heard about all that my hotel suite was offering for such a low room rate of just $159, I thought that I might be disappointed upon arrival. But I was wrong! This hotel was everything it promised including a living room, dining area, kitchen, bathroom, and television. It was spotless, comfortable, and I found absolutely nothing to complain about. The one thing that could be an issue (only if you are staying with a large group) is that when it gets late at night, you need a room key to enter or you have to report your name and room # to the front desk attendant, for safety purposes of course. But this is not an issue unless you are trying to squeeze a bunch of people into one room. All in all, I loved my stay at the Residence Inn and will be guaranteed to stay there next time I go to DC. Did I mention the location was pristine, with a CVS literally attached to the hotel building, plus being situated near K street with all the clubs and restaurants your heart desires. Great Stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Washington DC - Vermont Avenue

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
julia102111
Business
new jersey
May 7, 2012

Amazing!!

Perfect location and service, I couldn't ask for anything more!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Washington DC - Vermont Avenue

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kerriann
Business
Boston, MA, USA
Jan 16, 2012

Weekend Getaway with Friends!

Had a great time! The hotel is only a block and a half from the Metro, about four blocks from the White House! The staff was so friendly and helpful. They gave us really great suggestions for food, clubs, everything! Room was huge and so comfortable! The hotel includes breakfast, which was great. Would definitely stay again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Head to The Park on Fourteenth on Saturday night! Great music and great vibe!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Washington DC - Vermont Avenue

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kim B
Business
Chicago
Oct 17, 2011

It was great

We were surprised how spacious it was! It was clean, welcoming, nice inviting decoration, soothing colors, bright. Service was friendly. Staff was courteous and ready to help with smile. I will defintely stay here again. We were in Washington D.C. for parents weekend for GW in October. Hotel is in walking distance to lots of attractions like Smithsonian, various monuments and historic landmarks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Founding Farmers. Fresh food, friendly service. Make sure to make reservations!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top