$169 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 5, 2015 Check-out: Sep 8, 2015

Residence Inn by Marriott Washington DC - Vermont Avenue

3 stars
View map of 1199, Vermont Avenue, NW, Washington, DC 20005

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
55 reviews
Family Trip

Close to attractions... Easy to walk to sights... Very friendly and helpful staff....Very clean... See full review

  • Toni
  • Jun 11, 2015
family reunion

Stayed for one week, location great, 15-20 minutes walk to all main monuments and museums, lovely... See full review

  • barry s.
  • May 24, 2015
Our Residence Inn Washington, DC Hotel in downtown is just minutes from the city's most renowned national monuments. The National Mall, Washington Convention Center, Logan Circle and scores of upscale restaurants, shops and theaters are less than one mile from this Washington DC extended stay hotel. Guest traveling to Downtown DC will appreciate our location near The Reagan National Airport and Union Station. Stretch out and relax in a suite that offers separate sleeping, living and dining areas. With full kitchens, living rooms, and work desks with high-speed internet access, youll feel at home in these Downtown Washington DC suites. In addition, the hotel serves complimentary breakfast daily and offers a nightly social hour midweek. Host your next Washington DC meeting at the Residence Inn Washington DC hotel on Vermont Avenue, featuring 3 meetings rooms; perfect for a training sessions, social events and meetings. Visit our Residence Inn Downtown Washington, DC Hotel.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Residence Inn by Marriott Washington DC - Vermont Avenue also booked these hotels.

★★★★
$149
4.2 / 5 482 reviews
★★★★
$127
4.2 / 5 179 reviews
★★★★
$99
3.9 / 5 454 reviews
★★★★
$159
4.3 / 5 65 reviews
★★★
$105
3.8 / 5 200 reviews
★★★
$119
4.1 / 5 160 reviews
★★★★
$127
4.2 / 5 189 reviews
★★★★
$149
3.9 / 5 139 reviews

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Tennis
Horseback riding
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Laundry/Valet services
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Drugstore
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Telephone
Kitchen
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Cribs available
Temperature control
Shower
Iron
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.2 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 0.3 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.3 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.5 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 0.5 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.5 mi
  • Blair House: 0.6 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.6 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.6 mi
  • National Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 0.6 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 0.6 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.2 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 0.3 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.3 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.5 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 0.5 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.5 mi
  • Blair House: 0.6 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.6 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.6 mi
  • National Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 0.6 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 0.6 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.7 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • National Museum of American Art: 0.7 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Smithsonian American Art Museum: 0.7 mi
  • National Aquarium: 0.7 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 0.7 mi
  • International Spy Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 0.8 mi
  • Ronald Reagan Building: 0.8 mi
  • Verizon Center: 0.8 mi
  • Old Post office Pavilion: 0.8 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.8 mi
  • Presidents Park: 0.8 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 0.8 mi
  • U Street Corridor: 0.8 mi
  • Lincoln Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Bohemian Caverns: 0.9 mi
  • Koshland Science Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Phillips Collection: 0.9 mi
  • National Building Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Art Museum of The Americas: 0.9 mi
  • Folger Shakespeare Library: 0.9 mi
  • National Museum of American History: 1 mi
  • National Archives: 1 mi
  • Judiciary Square: 1 mi
  • National Museum of Natural History: 1 mi
  • Newseum: 1.1 mi
  • Washington Monument: 1.1 mi
  • National Gallery of Art: 1.2 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Residence Inn by Marriott Washington DC - Vermont Avenue

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
55 out of 55
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.3

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Washington DC - Vermont Avenue

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Woody Ex DC Native
Family
Charlotte, NC
Jun 4, 2012

Excellent place to Stay and a Good Value

We had a great time and packed a lot of sightseeing into our visit. The hotel is very centrally located. A quick walk to McPhereson Square Metro gives you access to all of DC by Metro. Walking down 14th street puts you right at the Mall and all of the museums. Since you are in the business district, the area is nice and quiet during the weekend and not very touristy. The room has everything you could think of and was very clean. My son used the pull-out sofa and he said it was very comfortable. We thought it was nice that all of the sheets and blankets for it were washed and in a plastic zipper bag instead of just thrown in the closet. My family and I are vegan/vegetarian and it can be hard to travel unless you know where all of the vegan restaurants are or you bring some of your own food. Having a full kitchen is a real bonus and makes it feel like you are staying in someone's apartment instead of eating cold food on your bed! The staff was helpful and friendly and service was quick. We did not partake in the breakfast downstairs but it smelled good. Having a CVS next door is a nice plus. The room price was incredible for the area - we'll be back. Some people remarked about the cost of parking and I wanted to clarify - valet parking was about $25 a day. If you have never lived in a city, that may seem expensive but it is reasonable IMO. You will pay more just moving your car place to place during the day if you insist on driving everywhere instead of taking the Metro. If you mess up leaving your car on the street and miss the meter or park in one of the ever changing 'security' or event zones, be prepared for up to a $150 ticket! I'd rather pay $25 a day and NOT worry about it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Luigi's Famous Italian is a quick walk. While many of the restaurants in the area are either of the expensive "business meeting" type or chain restaurants. Luigi's is more casual and serves a great southern italian style meal. Every once in a while, when we find ourselves at a nice restaurant, we forego the vegan ways. My son got the homemade Gnocchi with 4 cheese sauce and, well, had to taste it too!

Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Washington DC - Vermont Avenue

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
John G.
Family
Marietta
Jul 13, 2015

Less than expected

When we pulled up, nobody was there to help unload our luggage. When someone finally came out, they said their garage wouldn't fit any car over 5'8 and advised finding another place. The room smelled musty and the AC made a lot of noise. The phone had buttons to call the front desk or housekeeping, but nobody answered, just silence for two minutes then a busy signal. It was also hard to find a bell cart at checkout, and there were no ice machines. I had to ask the kitchen to get me some ice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Washington DC - Vermont Avenue

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Toni
Family
N/A
Jun 11, 2015

Family Trip

Close to attractions... Easy to walk to sights... Very friendly and helpful staff....Very clean room...Will definitely stay there when we go back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Washington DC - Vermont Avenue

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
barry s.
Couples
N/A
May 24, 2015

family reunion

Stayed for one week, location great, 15-20 minutes walk to all main monuments and museums, lovely large room, fantastic comfy bed, although only 4ft6ins rather than kingsize, but very comfy bed and pillows. very clean. staff very helpful. buffet breakfast basic but reasonable choice, and as much as you want. 24 hour store next door, handy. only downside no bar/lounge on site, but excellent bar/restaurant across road called Lincolns, recommended. In all, would definitely stay again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Washington DC - Vermont Avenue

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
John B.
Couples
N/A
Mar 17, 2015

Rock and Roll Marathon

Hotel was fine.....little disappointing entry way. Lobby, nothing special. Hotel itself was clean, staff very friendly, nice to have am breakfast. Would have like to have happy hour on Thursday, but only M-W. Probably good price for location, which was great. In town for Rock and Roll Marathon, daughter ran. We traveled around DC trying to catch up with her. City had too much litter and lot of debris from past icy/snow weather. Sure will clean up in next few weeks. Would love to go back. Plenty things to do and places to eat. Ate at Maddie's Tap Room, poor service. Also, Hank's Oyster Bar...great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Washington DC - Vermont Avenue

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Fmpiper64
Friends
Boulder
Jan 22, 2015

Friends Trip

In perfect place to go walking around the parks on Washington D.C.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Washington DC - Vermont Avenue

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Fmpiper64
Friends
San antonio
Dec 3, 2014

Friends getaway

Excellent experience. It was in the middle of down town.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Washington DC - Vermont Avenue

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Alfdoll
Couples
Seattle, WA
Nov 23, 2014

Budget minded work conference and sight seeing

I stayed here for a week with my husband to attend a conference and to sightsee the museums and national buildings. I would stay again and recommend to family. We did not use a car. We were within a mile walk of most everything, which is fine for us. There's also a metro stop within a quarter of a mile if you prefer that. I only used it to get to the Regan airport on my last day (took about 15 min and was about $3). The room was comfortable and there was a 24 hr CVS downstairs. Shower was dirty, but I travel with a magic eraser sponge so it was quickly remedied. Also wiped down the room with disinfectant wipes. There were plenty of restaurants in the neighborhood. No obvious crime, but there was a guy peeing in the alley and plenty of panhandlers around the whole neighborhood. The hotel has AWESOME breakfasts everyday and on Mon-Wed a light evening meal. There's no oven, but otherwise the kitchen is complete. We only ended up using it to store sandwich fixings and fruit for our sightseeing days, and to cook one dinner.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Cuban restaurant was fun. Cuba Libre I think it was called.

Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Washington DC - Vermont Avenue

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
12345traveler678910
Family
Boston
Oct 13, 2014

Good but not in a fun area

Hotel was great generally. Downsides: No airport shuttle. In a business-type district with not much nearby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Washington DC - Vermont Avenue

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
AJ Clark
Business
NY, NY
Aug 29, 2014

Solid hotel

Enjoyed my experience, however brief it was, at this hotel. It was nicely located near the McPherson Sq Metro station, which made for convenient walking. The room was very comfortable, and full complimentary breakfast was served in the am. I would definitely recommend this for the business traveler.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Washington DC - Vermont Avenue

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Nana Valerie
Family
Portland, OR
Aug 5, 2014

It was ok. the location was great but limited family dining nearby.

I loved the location because its close to all the site but we had few family dining experiences nearby. Everyone but a few of the front desk staff were very nice. My daughter and grand daughter were bitten twice on two nights. We asked to have the matter resolved it did not happen again. The shower fixture was not affixed to wall I had to complain twice before it was fixed. Breakfast was great and is included. The doormen or bell staff were outstanding all of them. The room was very dated and worn. They are in the process of remodeling but did not put us in an updated room away from construction. They should have but they didn't. We heard hammering and drills a few times during the stay in nearby rooms. Maybe it will be better after the remodel. I would not stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

If you like to eat in bars or wont be in the room much or traveling for business only and are not traveling with kids this the place for you.

Back to menu Return to top