$129 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jan 29, 2015 Check-out: Jan 31, 2015

Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom

3 stars
801 New Hampshire Avenue NW, 801 New Hampshire Avenue NW, Washington, DC 20037-2304
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
24 reviews
Perfect Family vacation

This hotel's location is perfect for a family that wants to be able to walk or bike to sites. It is... See full review

  • Jcodygo
  • Mar 27, 2014
Good Location, Friendly Staff!

This hotel exceeded my expectations. The hotel staff was one of the friendliest staff's I've ever... See full review

  • EERSvacationer
  • Apr 1, 2013
Residence Inn by Marriott Washington DC/Foggy Bottom is located in the heart of the most historic neighborhood in DC. We are an upscale extended stay hotel nestled in one of the city's most sophisticated and fashionable parts of the city. Our central location is minutes from George Washington University and Hospital, Department of State, World Bank, other renowned corporations, celebrated attractions, restaurants, shopping, Georgetown and one block to the Foggy Bottom metro. Whether you're with us for a few days, a few weeks, or a few months, your daily routine matters .Our inviting gatehouse will allow you to spread out and relax after a long day. We offer complimentary Wi-Fi in all our suites and public areas at the hotel .You will never go hungry with our complimentary daily deluxe buffet breakfast and our Social Hours served in the evenings. Whether you are traveling for business or pleasure, your stay at the Residence Inn by Marriott Washington DC/Foggy Bottom will keep you well taken care of.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Sauna
Water skiing
Horseback riding
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
Car rental desk
FAX
Drugstore
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Telephone
Kitchen
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Outlet adapters
Bathroom telephone
Cribs available
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Shower
Iron
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Watergate Complex: 0.2 mi
  • Kennedy Center For Performing Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Department of State: 0.5 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.5 mi
  • National Academy of Sciences: 0.6 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.6 mi
  • Blues Alley: 0.6 mi
  • Vietnam Veterans Memorial: 0.6 mi
  • Theodore Roosevelt Memorial: 0.6 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Art Museum of The Americas: 0.7 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.7 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 0.7 mi
  • Blair House: 0.7 mi
  • Lincoln Memorial: 0.7 mi
  • Watergate Complex: 0.2 mi
  • Kennedy Center For Performing Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Department of State: 0.5 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.5 mi
  • National Academy of Sciences: 0.6 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.6 mi
  • Blues Alley: 0.6 mi
  • Vietnam Veterans Memorial: 0.6 mi
  • Theodore Roosevelt Memorial: 0.6 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Art Museum of The Americas: 0.7 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.7 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 0.7 mi
  • Blair House: 0.7 mi
  • Lincoln Memorial: 0.7 mi
  • Dumbarton House: 0.8 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.8 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.8 mi
  • Phillips Collection: 0.9 mi
  • Korean War Memorial: 0.9 mi
  • Constitution Gardens: 0.9 mi
  • Reflecting Pool: 0.9 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 0.9 mi
  • Presidents Park: 0.9 mi
  • Francis Scott Key Memorial Park: 0.9 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.9 mi
  • National World War II Memorial: 1 mi
  • District of Columbia War Memorial: 1 mi
  • West Potomac Park: 1.1 mi
  • National Aquarium: 1.1 mi
  • Washington Monument: 1.2 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 1.2 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 1.2 mi
  • National Theatre: 1.2 mi
  • Franklin D Roosevelt Memorial: 1.2 mi
  • Ronald Reagan Building: 1.2 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 1.2 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 1.3 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 1.3 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 1.3 mi
  • Tidal Basin: 1.3 mi
  • National Museum of American History: 1.3 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 1.3 mi
  • Holocaust Memorial Museum: 1.4 mi
  • Old Post office Pavilion: 1.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (24)

Ratings and reviews for Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
12 out of 24
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.9

75% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jcodygo
Business
Ft. Lauderdale Florida
Mar 27, 2014

Perfect Family vacation

This hotel's location is perfect for a family that wants to be able to walk or bike to sites. It is also 1 block from a Metro rail so it gives you plenty of options for transportation. It has 2 room suites, which is perfect for families. It also has a kitchenette which is great to get a few necessities to keep handy. The bathroom is oddly small, given that there is plenty of room to expand it. One of the elevators is still not working; I had read other reviewers complain about this before I booked it. The breakfast is great and the happy hour is also good. You can walk to a CVS, 711, Sweet Green has great salads. Founding Farmers is an awesome restaurant and only a 10 min walk from the hotel. Check out the Capitol bike share option, we had a blast riding around town via bikes.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Mother Teresa
Business
Colorado
May 31, 2013

Washington Guest Suites, just ok

When we arrived, there wasn't not a sign in or on the building, they were under construction. It would have been better to know up-front they were converting from Guest Suites to a Marriott and there would be no sign. When trying to check in, we arrived about 90 minutes before the scheduled check-in time. No rooms were ready, so we had to have them store our bags and we walked around. Breakfast buffet had a lot to be desired!!! During the stay, things were ok until the last day, the toilet quite working. I had to turn the water on and off at the wall in order to have it fill the tank to be able to flush. I mentioned this to the front desk twice, and suggested they fix it before they check someone else into the room. This was not the best experience I have had in the recent past. The room itself was spacious, just older and needed updating. WILL NOT STAY HERE AGAIN!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
mproctor
Business
Detroit, Michigan
May 29, 2013

Under Construction

The hotel's website did not indicate that it was under construction. We didn't even really mind that because the room was rather nice although in need of updates. It is being converted to a Radisson (I believe). It is in need of updating, so that is good. They had a half-way decent breakfast. The real problem was the staff. They didn't seem to know how to communicate with one another. I'm sure the construction didn't help, but I have a feeling that it is like that on any given day. I might stay there again after construction. It is right around the corner from a Metro Station, and the neighborhood is decent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk to Metro station to get you to anywhere you want to go

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MARGARITA 333
Business
COLOMBIA
Apr 28, 2013

HOTEL UNDER CONSTRUCCION...

THE HOTEL IS RENOVATING... I THINK IT SHOULD HAVE BEEN A GOOD IDEA TO TELL CLIENTS... THE ENTRANCE WAS A MESS... WATER WAS TAKEN AWAY... LOTS OF NOISE... ROOMS ARE NICE... BREAKFAST IS REALY BAD...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
EERSvacationer
Business
Ripley, WV
Apr 1, 2013

Good Location, Friendly Staff!

This hotel exceeded my expectations. The hotel staff was one of the friendliest staff's I've ever encountered and i have stayed at alot of hotels all around the world. The furniture in the living room was out-dated but everything else in the room was perfect. Good location, close to the metro and alot of the tourist spots. Would definately recommend to others. Excellent value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

Plan your route to all the attractions before you start wondering around. There is alot of walking in DC and if you plan your route first you can save yourself alot of time.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Popster
Business
PA
Apr 10, 2012

DC Adventure

We two Grandparents and 4 grandchildren had a great te at the Doubletree. Room was outstanding ( suite, a king and two queens) . Staff was over the top great! Drawbacks were hotel is not that close to the sites and no real resturants in the area. This is certainly not the hotels fault. Would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Leesburg Florida
Jul 28, 2011

Good Cookies

Double Tree Guest Suites is a very clean and comfortable hotel. The staff is friendly and very helpfull. The hotel is only a block away from the Foggy Botom Metro station which made it very easy to get around. if you have a rental car the hotel has valet staff to park for it for you because parking is at a premium in the area. We enjoyed our seven day stay there very much. Oh and when you check in they give each of you the best choclate chip cookies i've ever tasted.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
VaBeach, VA
Jul 21, 2011

The good & the bad

The room(suite) was quite nice for myself, daughter & 3 grand children but after a long day travelling & visiting, we couldn't enjoy the pool because it was still under repair/inspection until the end of July!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Danville, CA
Jun 29, 2010

Great family friendly neighborhood

Super close to the metro. Cute neighborhood, felt very safe. Staff very helpful. Kids loved the cookies!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Jul 28, 2007

Good location, reasonable price

Doubletree suites Washington DC was clean, staff were wonderful upon arrival and checking in was a breeze. The location was a big plus. They did not have on site dining but decent restaurants were a short stroll away. The metro was very close and we felt very safe walking around GWU's neighborhood. Our room was clean, roomy with two televisions and a nice king bed. The full kitchen was nice to have. The pool was rather dissappointing; older, very small, not heated and not spotlessly clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

The Metro was 1 1/2 short blocks away making it the best mode of transport. No need for a car or a shuttle.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top