$149 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 6, 2015 Check-out: Sep 7, 2015

Renaissance Washington, DC Dupont Circle Hotel

4 stars
View map of 1143 New Hampshire Avenue NW, 1143 New Hampshire Avenue NW, Washington, DC 20037

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Renaissance Washington, DC Dupont Circle Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
163 out of 163
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.1

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Renaissance Washington, DC Dupont Circle Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
TomIL
Family
chicago
Jun 5, 2012

Excellent location. Great staff

Overall had a great stay. Great area. Room was a bit small with two doubles, but guess that is typical for a city hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

it is possible to find street parking even tho they say they only offer valet parking. If you can't find street, there is a garage for self parking on the back side of the block on 21st

Review of Renaissance Washington, DC Dupont Circle Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Single
Naples, FL
Apr 26, 2011

Good value at excellent location

The Renaissance is conveniently located between DuPont and Washington Circles within easy walking distance of several Metro stations, numerous restaurants, cafes, coffee shops, etc. The rooms are on the smallish side, but completely renovated and tastefully appointed. There is a coffee cafe on site serving Lilly coffee; also a bar and a restaurant serving light fare. The continental breakfast buffet is a good bargain with a wide selection of yogurt, fresh fruit, cold cereals, coffee, juice, toast, etc.--and a complimentary newspaper. My only complaint was the much too loud disco type music playing in the lobby/bar area from mid-morning to late night. Still, I found my stay altogether pleasant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Renaissance Washington, DC Dupont Circle Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ramallah, Palestine
Apr 23, 2011

good price and location

this is my second time to stay at this hotel. I was in washington for business. The location of the hotel is very convenient, you will be in a walking distance from Georgetown, world bank and IMF, Dupont circle, and very close to a metro station. The price for the hotel is quite good compared to others.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Renaissance Washington, DC Dupont Circle Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mikus
Business
Erie, PA
Apr 22, 2011

Dismal Service Outshines Great Rooms

This is a great property, beautiful rooms in a fantastic location. The thing is that when you stay in a four star hotel you expect great service, this hotel misses the mark. I have never had to call the front desk so frequently in my traveling life...no towels, no news paper (it's free, they offered), laundry not returned as promised, returned dirty when returned. As a business traveler I stay at a four star hotel to help reduce my stress, this hotel only helped to increase it. My only other complant is the dance music in the lobby...why?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Le Pain Quotidien on dupont circle. What a great breakfast. Not cheap by my experience, but likely about average for DC.

Review of Renaissance Washington, DC Dupont Circle Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
tolsti
Business
Red Bluff, CA
Apr 20, 2011

Great place to stay

Very clean, modern hotel. The staff was extremely helpful and courteous. It is close to the Red Line (10 minute walk), and the Orange & Blue lines as well (about 5 minute walk). My only problem is the one I have with all luxary hotels - the more you pay the less you get. With a Best Western or Hampton, you get free internet, free breakfast, and usually free parking. But since this is a Marriot acquired hotel, all of that comes with a huge fee - on top of what you already paid. Since this is standard, my complaint is not against this chain alone. However, I did enjoy my stay and would likely return if necessary.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Most of the nightlife of DC is centered around Dupont Circle, which is an easy 10 minute walk from the hotel.

Review of Renaissance Washington, DC Dupont Circle Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ms Cami
Couples
Orange County, CA
Apr 20, 2011

Fantastic service, great location

My husband and I were visiting the D.C. area for vacation. Upon arriving, we found all of the hotel staff to be very helpful and friendly. Although we already had a list of places to see, the staff was a wealth of knowledge and were more than willing to offer suggestions for dining, trip-planning, etc.I appreciate good customer service, and our experience on this trip definitely qualifies. [...] was especially helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Make use of the Metrorail. It is close to the hotel (about 3-4 blocks) and the quickest way to get to points of interest.

Review of Renaissance Washington, DC Dupont Circle Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ashly1021
Single
Fort Lauderdale, FL
Apr 12, 2011

Great hotel and great location!

I was traveling to DC for a convention for the first time. I was able to find the hotel easily on foot using the metro. Once I got to the hotel I was greated by a friendly staff and was taken care of quickly. I got there before the 3:00pm check-in time and they did not hesitate to get me settled in. I was traveling alone so I was given a single bed room on the 8th floor. This happens to be the floor for gold members with free access to the lounge. BONUS! The room was nice and clean with a comfy bed. The shower had great pressure and the robes were a perfect addition. The free breakfast offered in the lounge was great and a perfect start to my early morning. All and all I had a great experience at this hotel. Would stay there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Lovely walk to the Dupont Circle metro!

Review of Renaissance Washington, DC Dupont Circle Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
yooper906
Couples
Upper Peninsula of Michigan
Apr 7, 2011

Perfect Choice

Husband and I spent 3 days in DC around Cherry Festival time. Had never been to DC and not very used to large metro driving. Found the hotel easily. Staff made us feel right at home. Arrived earlier than check-in time and wanted to begin to see the city. Staff was very accomodating - shuffled things in order to get us into our room right then. The lobby was comfortable - relaxed there both evenings. Nice casual bar. Old Trolley Tours picked up and dropped off right at the hotel. Great experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Renaissance Washington, DC Dupont Circle Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
wincling
Friends
Champaign,IL
Mar 22, 2011

Good place

It's a good place to live in DC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

There are some good quality restaurants in Chinatown, it's not far away from the hotel.

Review of Renaissance Washington, DC Dupont Circle Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
St. Louis, MO
Feb 13, 2011

Great Location and Service

Perfect location to look at law schools. Right in between two subway stops, easy walk to and from them. In George Washington University's neighborhood, so if your looking at colleges you can get a feel for what is around her. Front desk staff very helpful with late checkout and maid service was awesome.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Dupont Circle and George Washington/Foggy Bottom metros easy walks--skip the taxi if your sightseeing--just walk.

Review of Renaissance Washington, DC Dupont Circle Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
Southern Iowa
Jan 26, 2011

Super Hotel

This was my first trip to DC and I was a little worried about what the hotel and the area around the hotel would be like. Rest assured!! This is a classy hotel with friendly caring employees from the coffee shop to housekeeping, they were there to serve us. Our questions were always answered with a smile and all the reception area staff were extrememly helpful. The restaurant was open far later in the evening than we expected and the food was very good. This hotel is midway between two metro stops, so no matter where in DC we planned to go, the metro was within a few blocks. The Dupont Circle area was clean and fun with lots of restaurants and stores in the area. I will definitly stay at this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you want to eat at one of the popular restaurants, be sure to make a reservation.

Back to menu Return to top