$149 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 6, 2015 Check-out: Sep 7, 2015

Renaissance Washington, DC Dupont Circle Hotel

4 stars
View map of 1143 New Hampshire Avenue NW, 1143 New Hampshire Avenue NW, Washington, DC 20037

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Renaissance Washington, DC Dupont Circle Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
163 out of 163
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.1

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Renaissance Washington, DC Dupont Circle Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Boston
Jan 18, 2011

Close enough to Dupont Circle!

Very nice hotel and very convenient to Dupont Circle. We usually stay on the other side of the circle, but were surprised that it was a nice little walk and didn't mind being a little further away from the 17th street area than usual. Really a cut above most cookie cutter chain hotels. The lobby alone indicates what to expect in the rooms. Warm colors throughout and lots of dark wood made it homey, yet classy. A nice bar and restaurant located on the lobby level and a fitness room downstairs. Convenient to Georgetown and Dupont Circle. There are CVS, Walgreens, Starbucks, nice restaurants and fast food places all within a minute or a couple of minutes walk. We liked it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

I wouldn't really call it a long walk-- but If you like comfort food we absolutely love Trio at the corner of 17th and Q streets We spend a lot of time there because we find the food sooooo good! It has been in the same place for 61 years and is a neighborhood institution. Great atmosphere and vibe. 17th street has a few good restaurants, but we prefer Trio. Don't miss it.

Review of Renaissance Washington, DC Dupont Circle Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Gainesville, FL
Dec 16, 2010

Very good but expensive

comfortable but everything included water charged, that sucked.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Renaissance Washington, DC Dupont Circle Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Single
Ponte Vedra Beach, FL
Dec 6, 2010

Great Location, Great Price

I came to DC to visit graduate schools and this hotel's location was perfect. It is directly between Foggy Bottom, Georgetown, and Dupont Circle. Also, it is within two block of the Metro's Orange/Blue Lines and within three blocks of the Metro's Red Line. I can't think of a more convenient overall city location or easier access to the best Metro lines. The price was very impressive for the quality of the hotel. I ended up ordering room service and the fruit was actually ripe! During my last trip to DC, my hotel was more expensive and was located on the other side of Dupont Circle between the Dupont Circle and Faragut North stops on the Red Line. Overall the Renaissance hotel was a better value because of the location-I saved a lot of time on transportation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go anywhere in Dupont Circle- you can't go wrong! The food is fabulous and the atmosphere is fun yet sophisticated.

Review of Renaissance Washington, DC Dupont Circle Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Madison, WI
Dec 2, 2010

Nice, but small and a bit noisy

Stayed overnight and used fitness center. Staff was friendly. Room furnishings and amenities were high quality (+ on the Aveda products), but the room itself was quite small. Fine for a single traveler, but would be very hard with kids. Room was noisy -- outside street noise transmitted through walls throughout the night -- especially around 5:30-6:00am when deliveries/trash removal was happening. Would stay again given price, but bring ear plugs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Renaissance Washington, DC Dupont Circle Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
AfromIN
Couples
New Albany, IN
Nov 10, 2010

nice stay at the Renaissance

very helpful staff

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Renaissance Washington, DC Dupont Circle Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Boston MA
Oct 31, 2010

Great location, great service

The location was great -- we were in town for the Rally to Restore Sanity and it was an easy walk to the mall. The concierge made dinner reservations for us and the staff was very helpful -- advising us to take the Metro to the airport the next day, for instance, since all roads were being blocked for the marathon. The walls do let partying noise intrude (two nights of partying next door)and it was on the expensive side for the size of the room. There is a nice bar and coffee shop on the first floor. We would definitely stay there again, but would first try the Best Western two doors down to save money; I doubt the quality is much different.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are a couple of good restaurants right across the street, and there are a lot of restaurants several blocks away.

Review of Renaissance Washington, DC Dupont Circle Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tkoto
Couples
Boise, Idaho
Oct 24, 2010

Weekend wedding

Great central location. Walking distance to everything we needed, but always a taxi available when we needed it Staff was friendly and helpful. Rooms nice, clean and comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Dupont Circle a short couple block walk

Review of Renaissance Washington, DC Dupont Circle Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Boston, Ma.
Oct 4, 2010

Renaissance Dupony Circle

Traveled from Boston to DC for a rally on the Mall. Extremely easy access from airport on the Metro...$7.20 round trip for 2!!!! Short walk from Dupont Circle Station. Short walk to Georgetown and easy walk to White House and Mall. Clean comfortable room. Concierge very helpful, valet suggested the bartender could make me an ice cream sundae when we asked for directions to an ice cream store one night at 9 p.m. He made a fabulous banana split with hot fudge! Only thing better would have been an outdoor pool to relax by after long walks. Also...reasonably priced good breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Public Transportation

Review of Renaissance Washington, DC Dupont Circle Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
Sep 24, 2010

business best

Although more pricey than I usually pay this business trip needed to be comfortable to get work done and convenient to get to my meeting on time. I really appreciate the cleanliness of the room and all lighting and HVAC was energy efficient. Very friendly and helpful service staff. Give yourself a few minutes to walk to Metro or catch a cab when everyone else is at 8am.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

club lounge evening desserts and morning breakfast was helpful

Review of Renaissance Washington, DC Dupont Circle Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Nancy Nice
Family
Massachusetts
Sep 20, 2010

weekend get away

The staff was very pleasant and the hotel was clean and comfortable....I was not disappointed....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Back to menu Return to top