$127 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 13, 2015 Check-out: Aug 16, 2015

Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel

4 stars
View map of 999 Ninth Street NW, 999 Ninth Street NW, Washington, DC 20001

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
185 reviews
DC trip

Excellent hotel. Clean with good amenities. Lobby with great lounge area. Location excellent. See full review

  • DRJ.231
  • Jul 21, 2015
wonderful business trip.

Location was excellent that was easy to enjoy city's museums and garden and restaurants. I also... See full review

  • Janet s.
  • Jun 30, 2015
Seamlessly blending style, functionality, and comfort, the Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel welcomes you to the heart of the city with impeccable amenities and refined luxury. You're just moments from some of the most famous things to do and experience here in the Nation's Capital, including Chinatown, the White House, the National Portrait Gallery, and much more. Settle in to your newly renovated room or suite, and enjoy perks like plush pillowtop mattresses, flat-screen TVs, and a well-lit desk. Stay healthy and focused with a visit to our fitness center, or enjoy a range of delicious dining options at our on-site restaurants and lounges. With nearly 65,000 square feet of event space, we provide the perfect backdrop for magnificent meetings and events here in Washington. Yet through it all, our hotel manages to retain the sense of quiet luxury that will make you feel as though you've found a secret hideaway in the middle of it all. Plan your escape to the Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Elevators
Executive level
Ice machine
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Sauna
Tennis
Steam bath
Horseback riding
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Coffee shop
Room service
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express check in
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
FAX
Video checkout
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Turndown service
Bathroom telephone
Cribs available
In room movies
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Shower
Iron
Ironing board
Bath tub
Wet bar

Nearby points of interest

  • Chinatown: 0.1 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 0.2 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 0.2 mi
  • National Museum of American Art: 0.3 mi
  • Smithsonian American Art Museum: 0.3 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Verizon Center: 0.3 mi
  • International Spy Museum: 0.3 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • National Building Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Koshland Science Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Folger Shakespeare Library: 0.4 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Judiciary Square: 0.5 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.1 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 0.2 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 0.2 mi
  • National Museum of American Art: 0.3 mi
  • Smithsonian American Art Museum: 0.3 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Verizon Center: 0.3 mi
  • International Spy Museum: 0.3 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • National Building Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Koshland Science Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Folger Shakespeare Library: 0.4 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Judiciary Square: 0.5 mi
  • National Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 0.5 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 0.6 mi
  • Old Post office Pavilion: 0.6 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 0.6 mi
  • National Archives: 0.6 mi
  • Newseum: 0.6 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.7 mi
  • Ronald Reagan Building: 0.7 mi
  • National Aquarium: 0.7 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.7 mi
  • National Museum of Natural History: 0.7 mi
  • National Gallery of Art: 0.7 mi
  • National Museum of American History: 0.8 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.8 mi
  • Blair House: 0.8 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 0.8 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.8 mi
  • National Postal Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.9 mi
  • Smithsonian Institution: 0.9 mi
  • National Mall: 0.9 mi
  • Presidents Park: 0.9 mi
  • Enid A Haupt Garden: 0.9 mi
  • Ripley Center: 0.9 mi
  • Hirshhorn Museum and Sculpture Garden: 0.9 mi
  • Arts and Industries Building: 0.9 mi
  • Union Station: 0.9 mi
  • Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum: 0.9 mi

Dining

Fifteen Squares Restaurant
Effortlessly combining fine dining and a relaxed bistro atmosphere, our signature restaurant is sure to please even the most discerning palates.
Starbucks®
Start your morning here in downtown DC with a specialty coffee drink and a pastry from Starbucks®, located in the hotel lobby.
Mixx
Mixx offers a creative menu of drinks and food, and is the perfect place to start (or to end) your evening here in Washington.
Presidents Sports Bar & Grille
Enjoy a light meal and a drink with friends in our welcoming sports bar. Presidential memorabilia adorns the wall, adding to the authentic Washington, DC vibe.
Liberty Market
Enjoy a bite to eat on the go. Liberty Market serves premium sandwiches and quick bites for busy guests in a hurry.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
34 out of 185
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.6
Value:
4

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Janet s.
Business
N/A
Jun 30, 2015

wonderful business trip.

Location was excellent that was easy to enjoy city's museums and garden and restaurants. I also attended a 2 day conference which was held at the hotel. Hotel was clean and quite services were great. Staffs in the reception and lobby and cleaning service were courteous and helpful. I will recommend the hotel to others.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MRB
Business
glen burnie
May 14, 2015

Conference trip

The room was clean, and the receptionist was rude and not friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mariah B.
Business
N/A
Jan 12, 2015

Business Trip

I was very pleased with the staff's assistance. This was my first time in the area and not only were they friendly, but they should also be commended on their knowledge in regards to the best mode of transportation, etc. The only thing I would have liked altered would be easier access to wifi. Thank you overall! I look forward to future business!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jeffrey C.
Business
Lake in the hills
Jan 5, 2015

very nice

very pleasant experience, great staff and superior cleanliness. Downside parking fees are what I would consider excessive for parking your car at the hotel you're staying at

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ngold
Business
Atlanta, GA
Nov 12, 2014

Business Trip

The hotel is very pretty, and the sports bar and Starbucks on premises are nice touches. Everything was very clean and the staff were extra friendly and helpful. My only complaints were with the room itself. The main purpose of the hotel was sleep, and that was very hard to do there. The walls are paper-thin, so we heard every conversation outside of our room and every fire truck that passed the building. In addition, the beds are horrible. Three of us shared a room with 2 double beds and none of us could sleep. The beds are unnecessarily hard and the comforter is annoyingly loud. I woke myself up just turning over. Sad to say I wouldn't stay there again even though the hotel is so pretty and convenient.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Trini Patsy
Business
NYC
Oct 6, 2014

Monument Dedication

Staff very professional and helpful. The hotel lobby is spectacular.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Cuba Libre on 9th St, tapas was excellent

Review of Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Kurina
Business
San Diego, CA
Sep 4, 2014

Renaissance Marriott

Overall, this was a good hotel. It's very close to DCA and is accessible by metro. Most of the staff at this hotel are very friendly (there was one crabby front desk clerk#. The amenities were very nice. The wifi was out in the hotel for nearly a day so I was unable to work from my room which was a huge pain. Room service is very overpriced. The room was not as clean as I would expect from such a pricey hotel #mildew on the shower curtain, stain on the bathroom counter).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Hamptoci
Business
Charlotte, NC
Jul 13, 2014

Downtown location but noisy

Overall the hotel was great. The location was very central to everything that I needed. I was able to walk around Gallery Place and then walk to my meeting the next morning. It's an older hotel but it has been renovated so the bathrooms have been upgraded with things like rainfall shower heads. The staff was extremely helpful and nice. My only complaint is the noise associated with being in a downtown location (sirens late into the night and early in the morning) as well as some noise in the hotel itself. I was awakened at 6am by the sound of water running through the pipes. Every time someone on the floor ran their water it was extremely loud in my room. Ordinarily I wouldn't have cared but when it starts at 6am it's very annoying.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Check out the Quiznos on I street. The owner is very nice!

Review of Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
yvette t.
Business
puerto rico
Jun 16, 2014

excellent

The hotel was outstanding and convenient to everything. I highly recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Clydes restaurant

Review of Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Surf Fun and Turf
Business
South West FL
Jun 11, 2014

Very Nice Place to Stay

I enjoyed my stay in DC at this hotel. The room was neat, clean and great view.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top