$144 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 23, 2015 Check-out: Jul 26, 2015

Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel

4 stars
View map of 999 Ninth Street NW, 999 Ninth Street NW, Washington, DC 20001

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
207 out of 207
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.3

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Lawyer on the Go
Business
Wisconsin
Dec 10, 2013

Decent place, convenient location

I stayed here for business last week. I chose the hotel based on location and the fact that my usual spot was full. Overall, I was pleasantly surprised. The rooms were comfortable, the restaurant downstairs was nice (and convenient), and there is a Starbucks attached to the lobby - for that quick fix in the morning. The rooms were fairly clean, although not perfect. The staff was great, but the cleaning crew seemed ever present and, frankly, loud. Thankfully, I wasn't in my room much.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
George jrR
Business
Tampa Florida
Dec 1, 2013

Wonderful hotel for family

This is a beautiful hotel , very cleaning, perfect location

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dr. huggins
Business
maryland
Nov 2, 2013

Comfy

I love comfort when I am staying at a hotel. The beds, the bathrooms and the décor are all reminiscent of a cozy getaway in the heart of the nation's capitol. I have stayed here before the renovations, and now after and I am very pleased. It is a little pricey, but a very nice treat for yourself.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

7th street has a variety of restaurants and even a museum to visit. There is also a movie theater and the Verizon center which showcases many well known acts.

Review of Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Manny Roberts
Business
Pittsburgh
Sep 30, 2013

Okay but not great

When I arrived at the hotel, the phone in my room did not work unless it was on speaker. I called the desk twice and went down to the desk once. I felt like the staff was looking at me like I was crazy. One time I was told to use the other phone in the room and there was no phone. On the description of the room, it was indicated that there was "living space" but it was a standard size room with two beds and no real extra room. It was clean, quiet, and everything but the phone worked. My other experiences with the staff were pleasant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CFBennett
Business
Kitchener Ontario
Sep 30, 2013

Very surprising

Didn't have much expectation given the $109CDN booking cost. Very pleasantly surprised at my stay and the cost compared to value. Not accustomed to this as I stay in Toronto mostly where I pay much more for much less. Of particular mention - the staff - friendly, smiling, helpful and at-the-ready. Great time in DC...made better by this location...thanks. Chris.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Cuban restaurant for Sunday brunch - Wow!

Review of Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Visitor from SFO
Business
San Francisco
Sep 29, 2013

Nice Hotel

This is a modern convenient hotel and I had a good rate. The only downside is that they charge for internet in the room and the walls are so thin you can hear the person in the next room on the phone! It's a nice hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sfscott41
Business
Dallas
Sep 25, 2013

Great hotel

Great hotel - location, cleanliness, and staff. Plenty of accommodations nearby

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Linda Xiao
Business
Rochester, NY
Sep 20, 2013

Fantastic family getaway

It's a wonderful hotel in Washington. Good location, very close to the White House. Good service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LegalEd
Business
Washington, DC
Sep 11, 2013

Good location and value

Friendly staff. Reason for lower room cleanliness was the bath mat was dirty which is a bit nit picky but even when it was obvious to the housekeeper on cleaning my room it wasn't replaced. I asked for a room with a view and looked directly out at an office building across the street. Had to stand at window to get a decent view and that was of construction across the street. But I wasn't there to sigh tsee so it was of no major consequence. I was also offered a newspaper outside my room each morning but that never arrived. I would stay there again overlooking these minor issues.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Maria Gomez
Business
Hialeah, FL
Sep 9, 2013

Loved the hotel!!!

The hotel was increible, the staff, location, rooms cleanliness and amenities. Within walking distance to must of the museum, China Town, and Restaurants. The lobby has a beautiful decor, the breakfast is very good. The staff is outstanding!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel is within walking distance to the museums, China Town, Restaurants, Old Town Trolley and Metro. Very close to Walgreens and the Hospital.

Back to menu Return to top