$159 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 5, 2015 Check-out: Sep 7, 2015

Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel

4 stars
View map of 999 Ninth Street NW, 999 Ninth Street NW, Washington, DC 20001

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
190 out of 190
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.2

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Emily Godly Mom
Family
Salisbury, Maryland
Jul 16, 2012

The Hot Spot

This hotel is within walking distance to the Smithsonian Mall area, and Chinatown. I was very impressed with the staff, my room accommodations and the food! It's a very beautiful place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to Chinatown. There are lots of places to go shopping, catch a movie, go bowling and to dine out.

Review of Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Siryn83
Couples
Boston, MA
Jun 19, 2012

Classy hotel in Chinatown

We had two rooms at this hotel for two nights while we were in town from Boston and New York, visiting family. Location is near a metro station so the travel from DCA was short/easy. Check-in was smooth and they even told us they'd call me once my room was ready around 11 for an early check-in (red-eye flight). The lobby is great (Starbucks, hotel restaurant, plentiful seating/couches, great decor, helpful valet, nice bar, charging outlets). The room was spacious, the bed was clean/comfortable, bathroom was tidy. In room safes, nice tv and a great view. The locale is good as there are plenty of options (even though we're in Chinatown - try Cloisters

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

ChurchKey on 14th NW between N st NW and N Rhode Island St NW. Great beer selection. Good food (try the disco fries. You won't be disappointed)

Review of Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Petaw
Family
Stony Creek, Va.
Jun 18, 2012

Very Nice

We had a great time in Washington. The location of the hotel was very convenient to lots of attractions. The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful from start to finish. Would like to visit gain and use this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sensei Mom
Family
Highlands Ranch, CO
Jun 5, 2012

Couldn't Have Been A Better Choice!

In researching hotels, I was looking for proximity to the airport, downtown restaurants and monuments (this was perfect for all and we'd recommend renting bikes off the street); the fitness/spa area blew both of my teenage boys away (best gym by far of any hotel we've stayed in and I had a very tension relieving 30 min. neck massage); it was quiet; the beds were very comfortable; and staff very helpful. Overall an easy 5 stars!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Definitely rent bikes off the street from Capital Bike Share. They are locked up in many locations throughout town and you simply use a credit card to rent (daily is just $7). We saw 4-5 monuments easily via bike when we would've made it to maybe 1-2 walking. SO much easier and more fun too!

Review of Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
phil Belgium
Family
Belgium
May 31, 2012

great hotel

4-days family stay, very good city hotel to discover Washington DC and surroundings.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Smittybird
Family
Wirtz, Va
May 29, 2012

Great stay

The Room was great and the staff provided a roll away bed for my grandson who is 8 years old. China Town was within 200 yards.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Super saver Wify
Family
Greensburg, PA
May 22, 2012

Stayed in the May of 2012

The China Town Metro is only 2 blocks away. Very quick walk. Many american & ethinic food sorces are also very close. Key feature is that there is a parking garage with this hotel about $33.00 a day if you don't get valet parking. We were very happy with the Hotel. Very nice in lobby. We had a dbl. bed room, it was very clean. It's just a plain room. But with so much to see in this city we spent only 5 waking hrs. in the 3 days that we stayed. We will return to this Hotel when we go back in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Use the Metro @ China Town.

Review of Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
grand mom
Family
washington dc
May 14, 2012

Family trip

Nice, clean, central location to most sites. Loved it and would book again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Wear comfortable shoes

Review of Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
viewfromabove
Family
Chicago, Illinois
Apr 19, 2012

Father/daughter time

This was a very nice hotel especially for the price. The room was small but comfortable and clean. Good selection of cable channels. Very convenient access to the mall, Metra system, and airport. Also, very close to China town and some descent restaurants. I considered including a rental car but thankfully I did not. The staff were very, very polite and helpful. There was no free internet access in the hotel room however my daughter was able to get on the internet at the Starbucks located next to the lobby. Major construction across the street during my stay but work never started early or ended late. Not disruptive at all. I would highly recommend this hotel for a brief family vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the Metra system to all the sites and your travels to and from Reagan Airport. Very safe and enjoyable. Skip the taxi fare.

Review of Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
DMOOYU
Family
Orange County, CA
Apr 16, 2012

Family of Four Experience

Pros: Close to Metro station, walking distance to different restaurant choices, rooms are kept tidy. Cons: No free internet, parking is $33/day, one particular concierge was not very helpful. Overall positive experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Although the hotel is walking distance (long) to the mall, it is better to take a cab than the Metro. This way you won't tired yourself out. The cab fare for four from the Lincoln memorial was $13.

Back to menu Return to top