$127 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 13, 2015 Check-out: Aug 16, 2015

Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel

4 stars
View map of 999 Ninth Street NW, 999 Ninth Street NW, Washington, DC 20001

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
185 out of 185
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.2

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
My 3 sons
Business
Syracuse NY
Apr 20, 2011

Zen Hotel

I originally thought I was staying at the Mayflower...oops so after we unpacked and repacked we easily arrived at the Chinatown location. The mood was not stuffy or pretentious...more upbeat while still being very zen. The lobby was fantastic. Composed of several living room style hideaways and one huge common area filled with tons of places to sit and lounge after walking 12 miles! Never felt like I had to tell the kids to calm down, be quiet or behave because the lobby was set up well. Silly I know, but I have 3 boys and we usually are not hard to miss! The room we were in was small but clean and the staff were all friendly. Again, not snooty to the family people. Bad stuff was $40 a day valet and $12 wireless in room. You could go to the lobby for free access....it was really a nice lobby! Location was good. About 3 blocks from Chinatown Metro. We mostly walked everywhere....stuff looks much closer, but overall the location was great. There is construction right now across the street...not sure what street..9th? I'd ask. K street was a bit noisy because of the trucks going around the corner...but not horrible. Overall I would go here again. We paid $153 a night plus the stupid parking fee...note self park is available.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We had a great meal at EAT FIRST Chinatown. FAmily style...lots of food...under order. Also the kids loved fro-ZEN-yo...a frozen yogurt place you pay what it weighs...lots of options.

Review of Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
An Orbitz customer
Business
Richmond, VA
Dec 29, 2010

Beautiful and great location

Hotel was beautiful on the inside...one of the nicest lobbies/bar/sitting areas I've seen on the east coast. The staff was friendly and the rooms were clean. The only issue we had was a bit of construction noise from the roof that started very early in the morning. I would highly recommend this hotel for the money and the location. Like anywhere in DC though, parking is $$$. Also there is wi-fi but its $13 a day. The Starbucks in the lobby was also very convenient in the AM.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NYC
Jan 3, 2011

Right by the Bolt Bus station.

A very comfortable, spacious, clean room; a good central location; very convenient location that's right by the Bold Bus and other bus companies' DC station.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lisapisa
Business
Washington D.C.
Feb 20, 2011

Lovely hotel

We just needed a hotel for one night to visit my brother who lives in the Chinatown area. This hotel was lovely. Beautiful lobby. Very nice room. Very comfortable beds. And, easily walkable to the Chinatown district, Legal Seafood, etc. Starbucks is in the lobby for coffee enthusiasts as myself. Pretty good price for room given the location. We were also able to have a light lunch right in the hotel at the sports bar which was so convenient.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Legal seafood was a short walk from the hotel as are so many other restaurants as well.

Review of Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Richmond, VA
Jan 4, 2011

Very nice stay

This trip was very nice and relaxing, hotel was very close to lots of attractions. The staff was nice, and the hotel was clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Very close to lots of restaurants in chinatown.

Review of Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Atlanta, GA
Jul 12, 2011

Great hotel near the Convention Center

Very helpful and courteous staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Clyde's Restaurant on 7th Street

Review of Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington, Dc
Aug 29, 2011

Great Value!

Great service, pleasant atmosphere. Very clean and neat. Decor was simple elegance. Very please, would definitely stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ArtFan
Business
San Diego, CA
Jun 26, 2011

Great location

The hotel was located within walking distance to the several museums (Smithsonian Portrait & Art Gallery, Natural History, Archives, Spy to name a few). We walked to the White House area but took the cab on the way back. Close to Chinatown, good restaurants, movie theater. Room was spacious, a bit dated. First room we got was a bit musty, but the hotel was gracious enough to move us to a different room. Parking was expensive, barely used our car rental because we walked and anything that's not within walking distance can be reached by a cab. Overall a comfortable stay in a great location. Picked up some pastries and gelatto from a Farmer's Market on Thursday nearby. Fun.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Don't bother renting a car if you're visiting for the museums and DC attractions.

Review of Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ohio
Jun 27, 2011

Renaissance W DC Downtown

Very nice hotel. Staff very friendly and helpful. Hotel on the edge of Chinatown. Two blocks from Metro, Verizon Center, and good restaurants. Two blocks north of Portrait Gallery which has great quiet atrium and Wi-Fi. Walking distance to White House and other sites. Starbucks in the lobby. Free Wi-Fi in lobby with tables to plug in for electricity. Mini food court and post office in walkway below. Two blocks south of convention center.[...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Forever 21, H&M, Macy's a few blocks west toward White House. Very few convenience stores or drug stores nearby if you are looking for snacks. Restaurants near 7th and G (Chinatown/Verizon Center) are great.

Review of Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MamaC
Business
Cleveland, Ohio
Jun 23, 2011

Comfortable and convenient DC hotel

We were in DC for four days of events in June celebrating the 2011 US Presidential Scholars. The hotel's location was convenient, a 20-minute walk to the White House and the National Mall area. The Gateway/Chinatown Metro station is just 2 blocks from the hotel, and the $1/ride Circulator bus stops right out front. We took a taxi from the hotel to the Kennedy Center one night - surprisingly efficient and affordable. The hotel offers convenient underground parking (both self-park and valet). Our room was very comfortable, clean, and quiet. Hotel staff members were exceptionally helpful and friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Make time to eat at historic Old Ebbitt Grill near the White House. Their crab cakes and oysters are AMAZING! Also, there are many good, inexpensive cafes and restaurants near the hotel for breakfast, lunch, or dinner on a budget.

Back to menu Return to top