$152 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 3, 2014 Check-out: Oct 6, 2014

Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel

4 stars
999 Ninth Street NW, 999 Ninth Street NW, Washington, DC 20001
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
174 reviews
great hotel

fantastic stay, great location, staff was extremely nice and helpful See full review

  • debra c
  • Jul 29, 2014
Fun location

Enjoyed the location near metro, restaurants, and downtown. Beautiful hotel with friendly... See full review

  • Fl native gal
  • Jul 26, 2014
Penn Quarter hotel near Convention Center, downtown D.C. attractions

The central location of this hotel will please business and leisure travelers. The Washington Convention Center is across the street, and guests can walk to restaurants and shops, D.C.'s popular Chinatown neighborhood, the International Spy Museum, and the Smithsonian Museums.  Rooms and suites have spacious desks, and beds are topped with luxurious linens. Guests have access to Vida Fitness Center and Aura Spa. There are five on-site food and drink options, including a Starbucks.

Highlights
  • Central downtown location across from convention center
  • Access to Vida Fitness Center and Aura Spa
  • Elegant rooms with views of the city
Location

The hotel is located in the Penn Quarter neighborhood of D.C., near Chinatown, the National Mall, central downtown and within blocks of the Metro.

Rooms

The rooms and suites at the Renaissance offer views of the city and natural light. Rooms have spacious desks, and beds are topped with luxurious linens. Furnishings include elegant lamps and colorful pillows. The sophisticated sleep package includes a deluxe mattress and luxurious linens. Concierge-level service includes upgraded amenities and a continental breakfast. There is in-room, high-speed Internet access (fees apply).

Features

Guests have access to Vida Fitness Center and Aura Spa. There are five on-site food and drink options, including a Starbucks and a market for sandwiches. Fifteen Squares restaurant serves American bistro food for breakfast and lunch. The President's Sports Bar serves light fare and drinks for lunch or dinner. miXX is the place to meet for drinks. Valet service and on-site parking are available (fees apply).

Transportation
  • Gallery Place/Chinatown Metro stop
  • Regan National Airport
  • Dulles International Airport
Attractions
  • Washington Convention Center (0.2 mi/ 0.4 km)
  • Gallery Place/Chinatown (0.2 mi/ 0.4 km)
  • International Spy Museum (0.3 mi/ 0.4 km)
  • National Portrait Gallery (0.3 mi/ 0.4 km)
  • The National Mall (0.7 mi/ 1.2 km)
  • Union Station (0.9 mi/ 1.5 km)
  • United States Capitol (1 mi/ 1.7 km)
  • Dupont Circle (1.1 mi/ 1.8 km)
Business
  • Business center with copy and fax service
  • Complimentary high-speed Internet
  • 64,000 square feet of meeting space

Hotel Map

38.9017 -77.0235
Area served
CityCenterDC is located across the street from the front of our hotel
Nearby airports
Ronald Reagan Washington National Airport, (DCA), 5.00, MI, N; Washington Dulles International Airport, (IAD), 28.00, MI, E; Baltimore/Washington International Thurgood Marshall Airport, (BWI), 32.00, MI, SW;
Area description
City Center, Location Type: City

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Sauna
Tennis
Steam bath
Horseback riding
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Coffee shop
Room service
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express check in
Express checkout
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
FAX
Video checkout
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Turndown service
Bathroom telephone
Cribs available
In room movies
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Shower
Iron
Ironing board
Bath tub
Wet bar

Nearby points of interest

  • Chinatown: 0.1 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 0.2 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 0.2 mi
  • National Museum of American Art: 0.3 mi
  • Smithsonian American Art Museum: 0.3 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Verizon Center: 0.3 mi
  • International Spy Museum: 0.3 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • National Building Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Koshland Science Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Folger Shakespeare Library: 0.4 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Judiciary Square: 0.5 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.1 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 0.2 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 0.2 mi
  • National Museum of American Art: 0.3 mi
  • Smithsonian American Art Museum: 0.3 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Verizon Center: 0.3 mi
  • International Spy Museum: 0.3 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • National Building Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Koshland Science Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Folger Shakespeare Library: 0.4 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Judiciary Square: 0.5 mi
  • National Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 0.5 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 0.6 mi
  • Old Post office Pavilion: 0.6 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 0.6 mi
  • National Archives: 0.6 mi
  • Newseum: 0.6 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.7 mi
  • Ronald Reagan Building: 0.7 mi
  • National Aquarium: 0.7 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.7 mi
  • National Museum of Natural History: 0.7 mi
  • National Gallery of Art: 0.7 mi
  • National Museum of American History: 0.8 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.8 mi
  • Blair House: 0.8 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 0.8 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.8 mi
  • National Postal Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.9 mi
  • Smithsonian Institution: 0.9 mi
  • National Mall: 0.9 mi
  • Presidents Park: 0.9 mi
  • Enid A Haupt Garden: 0.9 mi
  • Ripley Center: 0.9 mi
  • Hirshhorn Museum and Sculpture Garden: 0.9 mi
  • Arts and Industries Building: 0.9 mi
  • Union Station: 0.9 mi
  • Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum: 0.9 mi

Dining

Fifteen Squares Restaurant
Enjoy this American Bistro in Washington, DC restaurant with a convenient location, great American fare, and superb service.
Starbucks®
Enjoy hot and cold specialty drinks, quick bites, snacks, and pastries when meeting in Downtown DC.
Mixx
Enjoy a drink and great food in the lobby just steps from the DC Convention Center, DC City Center and all that DC has to offer.
The Presidents Sports Bar
Our sports bar, featuring present and past President memorabilia, offers light fare and drinks. Grab a meal before or after an event at the Verizon Center or your next meeting. This restaurant in Downtown Washington, DC is steps away from DC City Center
Liberty Market
This on-site market is a grab-and-go gourmet deli serving premium sandwiches and quick bites.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (174)

Ratings and reviews for Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
174 out of 174
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.2

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Easter fun
Nashville, TN
Apr 22, 2014

Great Location

Easily walkable to all attractions, super friendly and accommodating staff, great fitness center, and the best designed hotel lobby ever! Robes and slippers in the room would have been nice, but everything else was great. Will definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
lounging
nyc
Sep 20, 2010

great place to stay, calm cool quite

a great location ,with a discount price only for that weekend!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

near central parking lot. Where all the tourist bus pass and pickup.

Review of Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
poetic traveler
tampa,fl
Sep 3, 2013

good energy hotel

Nice atmosphere. Friendly bar and nice open layout. Needed book of amenities in room and more signage as to what is in hotel. Otherwise, professional staff and clean rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MB E350
Philadelphia
Dec 9, 2012

Excellent location

As we spent all of our time in DC in museums on the Mall,the location was excellent and the price was right. The hotel is clean and pleasent. One big draw back is lack of a restaurant (The Four Corners was, for unexplained reasons, closed), and we are not the sports bar type. One negative, right after arrival I told the frron desk that the exhaust fan in the bathroom did not work - it still did not work when we left.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Raleigh, NC
Jun 14, 2011

Traveling with baby

Recently, my husband, 2 month old, and I spent a weekend at the Renaissance on 9th Street. The location was great since it was within walking distance to the mall, as well as all the restaurants in Chinatown. The room was clean, decent looking, but nothing special. The beds were soft and comfortable. View was nothing in particular (note, while our room oversaw the back court, in front there is a bit construction site). There was no fridge in the room, and since I needed one for baby milk, we had to have one brought in. We traveled with our 2 month old and had requested a crib. Although I called twice before the trip to request that a crib be put in the room, I had to remind them again once I got there. They had it brought in pretty soon after we went upstairs. The crib itself was pretty bad. Really hard, lumpy mattress and it was all metal. My baby almost managed to turn herself sidewise and hit the rails during the night. Overall, I think the hotel is great for the price and our experience was a positive one.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
8/28 DC
Santa Clara, CA
Aug 30, 2010

Beautiful and elegant

The hotel was gorgeous. The staff friendly. However, the handicapped room was way too far from the elevator. Difficult for someone on o2 to walk easily. My son and I received a room with a single King bed when I had asked for doubles. They did send in a roll away, which needs no explanation about the comfort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
My 3 sons
Syracuse NY
Apr 20, 2011

Zen Hotel

I originally thought I was staying at the Mayflower...oops so after we unpacked and repacked we easily arrived at the Chinatown location. The mood was not stuffy or pretentious...more upbeat while still being very zen. The lobby was fantastic. Composed of several living room style hideaways and one huge common area filled with tons of places to sit and lounge after walking 12 miles! Never felt like I had to tell the kids to calm down, be quiet or behave because the lobby was set up well. Silly I know, but I have 3 boys and we usually are not hard to miss! The room we were in was small but clean and the staff were all friendly. Again, not snooty to the family people. Bad stuff was $40 a day valet and $12 wireless in room. You could go to the lobby for free access....it was really a nice lobby! Location was good. About 3 blocks from Chinatown Metro. We mostly walked everywhere....stuff looks much closer, but overall the location was great. There is construction right now across the street...not sure what street..9th? I'd ask. K street was a bit noisy because of the trucks going around the corner...but not horrible. Overall I would go here again. We paid $153 a night plus the stupid parking fee...note self park is available.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We had a great meal at EAT FIRST Chinatown. FAmily style...lots of food...under order. Also the kids loved fro-ZEN-yo...a frozen yogurt place you pay what it weighs...lots of options.

Review of Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
An Orbitz customer
Richmond, VA
Dec 29, 2010

Beautiful and great location

Hotel was beautiful on the inside...one of the nicest lobbies/bar/sitting areas I've seen on the east coast. The staff was friendly and the rooms were clean. The only issue we had was a bit of construction noise from the roof that started very early in the morning. I would highly recommend this hotel for the money and the location. Like anywhere in DC though, parking is $$$. Also there is wi-fi but its $13 a day. The Starbucks in the lobby was also very convenient in the AM.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
viewfromabove
Chicago, Illinois
Apr 19, 2012

Father/daughter time

This was a very nice hotel especially for the price. The room was small but comfortable and clean. Good selection of cable channels. Very convenient access to the mall, Metra system, and airport. Also, very close to China town and some descent restaurants. I considered including a rental car but thankfully I did not. The staff were very, very polite and helpful. There was no free internet access in the hotel room however my daughter was able to get on the internet at the Starbucks located next to the lobby. Major construction across the street during my stay but work never started early or ended late. Not disruptive at all. I would highly recommend this hotel for a brief family vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the Metra system to all the sites and your travels to and from Reagan Airport. Very safe and enjoyable. Skip the taxi fare.

Review of Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Traveling with couples
Minneapolis, MN
Oct 11, 2010

Clean, Comfortable, Convenient

We were in town for 3 nights and 4 days to enjoy the city and sights. The location was stellar! The hotel staff was on par for what you would expect at a Renaissance property - professional, courteous and pulled together. The lobby was gorgeous as it underwent a complete renovation 3 months prior to our arrival. The rooms themselves were nice enough with adequate space, decent furnishings and comfortable beds and bedding (without the horrible polyester quilts). The rooms are slated to undergo remodeling next year. If we're back, we'd definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Good central location to all of the major attractions and just around the corner from a nice little stretch of shopping and dining.

Back to menu Return to top

Change search