$161 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 23, 2015 Check-out: May 24, 2015

Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel

4 stars
View map of 999 Ninth Street NW, 999 Ninth Street NW, Washington, DC 20001

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
189 out of 189
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.2

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Lawyer on the Go
Business
Wisconsin
Dec 10, 2013

Decent place, convenient location

I stayed here for business last week. I chose the hotel based on location and the fact that my usual spot was full. Overall, I was pleasantly surprised. The rooms were comfortable, the restaurant downstairs was nice (and convenient), and there is a Starbucks attached to the lobby - for that quick fix in the morning. The rooms were fairly clean, although not perfect. The staff was great, but the cleaning crew seemed ever present and, frankly, loud. Thankfully, I wasn't in my room much.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Jun 30, 2009

Just OK

The hotel was very noisy. My room was by the ice maker and all night long I was disturbed by the sound of the machine. Also, every morning, the cleaning staff talked loudly and slammed doors so I was always rudely awoken. Also, the movie station didn't work properly. Sometimes I couldn't even access it, and when I could, I had trouble selecting my movie and I had to call maintenance to get to watch it. And the picture quality on the movie channel was much worse than the normal tv, and of course it was very expensive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Cafe Atlantico, Proof, The Source and Ratiska were all great restaurants that were a short walk from the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JRR2
Business
Nashua NH
Nov 15, 2010

Nice location, but not luxury

We stayed at the Renaissance for Jon Stewart's Rally. Nice location. We had stayed there before. However, this stay was fully of disappointments. Dirty room-service dishes sitting in the hallway for over a day, broken curtain in the room, bar with slow service and not enough staff, and all of my 'parking meter' change in my car was taken by the valet staff. I won't be back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
mithrandir
Business
massachusetts
Oct 31, 2010

Good location

Sent to a room that was already occupied. This was remedied quickly and we got another room adjacent to a bank of elevators. It served the purpose and was fine except for the noise every time someone pushed an eleveator button.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NC
Nov 21, 2010

good for the price overall

The two major reasons I booked this hotel were its downtown location and the affordable price. It's several blocks away from Gallery-place Chinatown metro station so it's easy to get around and there are many restaurants not far away from the hotel. The room is pretty good for the price ( standard 3 1/2 I think). Their in-room service is pretty good and the dishes I ordered from the menu are pretty decent. However, the customer service is not satisfactory at all. The reception desk is unhelpful and so is the technical team of the hotel. My computer couldn't connect to the internet in my room and I called to get help. I was told that they would send someone in to fix the problem but it never happened. That is simply not acceptable! For this reason, I take 2 stars from my rating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Several blocks from Gallery-Place Chinatown. Great location.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Saiyan82
Business
Newport News VA
Nov 2, 2010

ok but not worth the price

The rooms were over priced for what they offered and the restaurant charged us 20 bucks a person for a breakfast buffet that only offered 6 things, the average bacon, eggs, etc. The location was the only thing that was really a positive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

China town has great place to save money

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NYC
Apr 4, 2011

Good for the value

The hotel is not too far from the tourist attractions like the Capitol Hill, the Mall, etc... and not too far from the Union Station as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Suzy Seltzer
Business
Kensington, CT
Apr 25, 2011

Great location, room not so great

My family spent 4 days in downtown DC so the location of the hotel was great - walking distance (teenage kids) to the National Mall and monuments. THe lobby of the hotel was very cool, hip place to hang out. The room, however, was not so great. It was too small for four people- beds were Full size and mattresses not very comfortable. Construction across the street started at 7 am which was a rude awakening. The fan in bathroom was broken and after four showers the room was very steamy. Fridge was also broken. Also, $80 breakfast in the hotel restaurant was a waste of money; however, The hotel's Fitness Center was top notch!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Old Ebbit Grill, which is within walkting distance from the hotel has wonderful raw bar and a versatile menu. Great place with consistently good food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Asheville, NC
Dec 30, 2010

Christmas in DC

We were in DC to spend time together- just the three of us. We love DC at Christmas because there are no lines at the Museums, and rates at the Hotels are much lower. We only have two complaints- I will get to those after I share the good stuff. We were very happy with our rate at this Hotel. The staff was excellent! 5 Star staff. It was near China Town, which we loved! The lobby area was super cool. We played games in the lobby because it has little semi-private lounges in scattered throughout. The only things we found upsetting were the bed- the worst ever...anywhere, and on our last day the maintenance crew was hammering on pipes non-stop. starting at 7:30 AM. We really wanted a lazy morning due to our long drive home- not possible! The bed was so old, and sunken in, and bouncy we had a lot of trouble sleeping. T workers literally hammered for 3 hours non-stop until we finally escaped!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sore Foot Sue
Business
Haverhill, MA
Jan 13, 2011

Nice ground floor, good location

Easy checking, small standard hotel room clean but dated somewhat bathroom, tiny bathtub and poor water pressure. Main problem was that every weekday morning by 8:00am by what sounded like construction above our room. When I asked the manager he said he has know about this for 4 months and asked the contractor to hold work until 10am - this didn't do a thing about the noise. Why put customers in rooms with active construction @ 300 a night? Would not book here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Casual food and great drinks are to be had at Ella's Wood Fired Pizza just down 9th ave. Chinatown is very close also with something for everyone.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top