$169 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 23, 2015 Check-out: May 24, 2015

Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel

4 stars
View map of 999 Ninth Street NW, 999 Ninth Street NW, Washington, DC 20001

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
186 out of 186
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.2

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
new york, ny
Aug 24, 2010

Conveniently located and Comfortable

this was VERY conveniently located- minutes from all the smithsonian museums (we walked to all of them), as well as the capitol. there are also plenty of places to eat but BEWARE: DO NOT waste money on food, its very expensive and super small proportions. the room service is nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

all nearby restaurants as well as the hotel's dining menu is very expensive.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Carlisle, PA
Aug 30, 2010

great location

The negative aspect about this reservation was the room detail stated 1 queen bed or 2 queen beds and I specified that my reservation was for 3 adults. Luckily, I called the hotel and stated I would be in need of 2 beds and they stated that booking on the internet will only give you what the hotel has available. I asked them to cancel my reservation then and all of a sudden they had 2 beds available.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Taxis are very reasonable.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
ybor city, fl
Oct 15, 2009

bargain luxury

The bed, linen and pillows made for a luxurious nights sleep.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Denver, Co.
Oct 5, 2009

quiet hotel, restfull

we were sightseing. took the double decker bus and got a pass good for two days, good value, and bus stoped at the hotel for pickup/let off. get on &off both days at 24 locations, from food to monuments to museums.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

see concierre desk for restaurant of desire

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lakergirlxo
Business
Central Valley, CA
Jun 16, 2014

Got lucky with this one!

This hotel ended up being in a perfect location to see all the sites of DC, be in walking distance of their transportation system (metro and bus) and was in a pretty lively area but not too lively where outside noise was an issue. I felt comfortable and safe there. The rooms were clean and nice with a great bar downstairs as well that surprising was a very social place to be in the evenings. I will be staying here again next time I'm in DC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

If you're in town to see the normal historical sites of DC, yes, everything is within walking distance but it helps to have a metro SmartTrip card for attractions that area little too far for walking or on your 2nd or 3rd day of walking when you're tired! It's a cheap and easy way to get around the city and the card also works with the bus system.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BaSister
Business
Memphis, TN
Jul 24, 2014

Great getaway

The hotel was awesome! I enjoyed my stay and will return. I only had one minor problem, there was a faint smell of mildew probably in the carpet. I didn't let the hotel know, so I can't say they wouldn't have moved me. Other than that, everything else was great. Great location as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk, it's less expensive.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ang vaca time
Business
virginia
Jul 27, 2014

good location

The room was clean and it was in a great location . we were able to walk most every where which saved money on cabfair.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Hamptoci
Business
Charlotte, NC
Jul 13, 2014

Downtown location but noisy

Overall the hotel was great. The location was very central to everything that I needed. I was able to walk around Gallery Place and then walk to my meeting the next morning. It's an older hotel but it has been renovated so the bathrooms have been upgraded with things like rainfall shower heads. The staff was extremely helpful and nice. My only complaint is the noise associated with being in a downtown location (sirens late into the night and early in the morning) as well as some noise in the hotel itself. I was awakened at 6am by the sound of water running through the pipes. Every time someone on the floor ran their water it was extremely loud in my room. Ordinarily I wouldn't have cared but when it starts at 6am it's very annoying.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Check out the Quiznos on I street. The owner is very nice!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
njmattia
Business
New York
Jul 31, 2014

Comfortable

Nice, comfortable hotel for an affordable price. A little far from the tourist attractions, but worth it. Restaurant was great and there's a gastro pub around the block called City Tap Room that was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Troy1967
Business
Fargo
Aug 6, 2014

Nice place, great location

Rooms we're clean and staff was very nice. On site Starbucks was a big plus. High end bar and sports bar with good late night apps. National mall was within walking distance and a ton of good restaurants near by.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Cab from the airport was about $20 so forget a car rental. D.C. Has more cabs than any city in the US.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top