$144 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 18, 2015 Check-out: Jun 21, 2015

Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel

4 stars
View map of 999 Ninth Street NW, 999 Ninth Street NW, Washington, DC 20001

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
202 out of 202
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.2

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington, Dc
Aug 29, 2011

Great Value!

Great service, pleasant atmosphere. Very clean and neat. Decor was simple elegance. Very please, would definitely stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ArtFan
Business
San Diego, CA
Jun 26, 2011

Great location

The hotel was located within walking distance to the several museums (Smithsonian Portrait & Art Gallery, Natural History, Archives, Spy to name a few). We walked to the White House area but took the cab on the way back. Close to Chinatown, good restaurants, movie theater. Room was spacious, a bit dated. First room we got was a bit musty, but the hotel was gracious enough to move us to a different room. Parking was expensive, barely used our car rental because we walked and anything that's not within walking distance can be reached by a cab. Overall a comfortable stay in a great location. Picked up some pastries and gelatto from a Farmer's Market on Thursday nearby. Fun.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Don't bother renting a car if you're visiting for the museums and DC attractions.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ohio
Jun 27, 2011

Renaissance W DC Downtown

Very nice hotel. Staff very friendly and helpful. Hotel on the edge of Chinatown. Two blocks from Metro, Verizon Center, and good restaurants. Two blocks north of Portrait Gallery which has great quiet atrium and Wi-Fi. Walking distance to White House and other sites. Starbucks in the lobby. Free Wi-Fi in lobby with tables to plug in for electricity. Mini food court and post office in walkway below. Two blocks south of convention center.[...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Forever 21, H&M, Macy's a few blocks west toward White House. Very few convenience stores or drug stores nearby if you are looking for snacks. Restaurants near 7th and G (Chinatown/Verizon Center) are great.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MamaC
Business
Cleveland, Ohio
Jun 23, 2011

Comfortable and convenient DC hotel

We were in DC for four days of events in June celebrating the 2011 US Presidential Scholars. The hotel's location was convenient, a 20-minute walk to the White House and the National Mall area. The Gateway/Chinatown Metro station is just 2 blocks from the hotel, and the $1/ride Circulator bus stops right out front. We took a taxi from the hotel to the Kennedy Center one night - surprisingly efficient and affordable. The hotel offers convenient underground parking (both self-park and valet). Our room was very comfortable, clean, and quiet. Hotel staff members were exceptionally helpful and friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Make time to eat at historic Old Ebbitt Grill near the White House. Their crab cakes and oysters are AMAZING! Also, there are many good, inexpensive cafes and restaurants near the hotel for breakfast, lunch, or dinner on a budget.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
PA
Jul 5, 2011

Comfortable

The hotel was very clean and organized. Room was a little on the small side, but beds were comfy and room was very clean. Staff was very friendly. Garage was a little creepy...wish obvious security cameras were visible. Convenient to Metro stop and in nice neighborhood. Missed having a pool on site.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Union station has a great Food Court, is only two Metro stops away from Chinatown. There is something for everyone there, commercial mostly.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Webberville Mi
Jul 7, 2011

Nice Stay.

Took the family on a trip to D.C. to see museums and monuments. Hotel had a good location right next to Chinatown and metro. A little walk to both of them which was nice. Wish the hotel had a pool and free wifi. That's a little bit on the pricey side. Why would I pay there when I could walk a block and get it for free. Kids disappointed that there wasn't a pool. Would've been nice on these hot summer days. All in all it was a nice place to stay with a friendly staff. Price was also affordable. Except for parking, but there gonna get you everywhere for that.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Find the metro and use it. Saves lots of walking and it's realtively inexpensive.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
VA
Jul 10, 2011

Nice hotel

The hotel is nice and clean. My king size bed was very comfortable. The rooms does not reflect the lobby decor. The lobby is very modern and cool to hangout. This is very close to chinatown.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
pennsylvania
Jul 9, 2011

unbeatable location for the price

Everything was good

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Arizona
Jun 27, 2011

Great Stay, for Family or Business

I had to travel to D.C. for business and decided to take my family with me. Really wanted to stay downtown, but did not want to pay an arm and a leg. The Renaissance Washington, D.C. Downtown was centrally located to everything my family wanted to see, as well as my firm's office, making it very convenient to get around on foot and by the Metro. Hotel was clean, lobby is beautiful, restaurants had good food that was fairly priced, Starbucks in lobby was a bonus. Only complaint was that the maids did not observe the Do Not Disturb sign and were quite loud when cleaning other rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

This hotel is very close to the International Spy Museum. I would not recommend this attraction for little children. Admission for two adults and two children was $94. It is dedicated to the cold war, so unless you have a particular interest in this subject, I'd recommend you pass. Most of the information can be found by watching the Discovery Channel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lovetotravel1009
Business
Bayonne, NJ, USA
Sep 5, 2011

Great trip and great location!

This was our first time in DC and we had a great time! The hotel was in the perfect location. Easy walk to all of the main attractions. The room was very clean and the staff was extremely helpful. The only downside was that our tv stopped working for one night, but the hotel was able to accommodate us. Additionally, the breakfast buffet was a bit over priced for $15 a person. Other than that, this was a great hotel in the perfect location!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top