$139 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 26, 2014 Check-out: Jul 27, 2014

Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel

4 stars
999 Ninth Street NW, 999 Ninth Street NW, Washington, DC 20001
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
245 reviews
excellent

The hotel was outstanding and convenient to everything. I highly recommend this hotel. See full review

  • yvette t.
  • Jun 16, 2014
Family meeting

Very nice hotel. Service great! Rooms were great. All was good. See full review

  • UCONN
  • Jun 11, 2014
Penn Quarter hotel near Convention Center, downtown D.C. attractions

The central location of this hotel will please business and leisure travelers. The Washington Convention Center is across the street, and guests can walk to restaurants and shops, D.C.'s popular Chinatown neighborhood, the International Spy Museum, and the Smithsonian Museums.  Rooms and suites have spacious desks, and beds are topped with luxurious linens. Guests have access to Vida Fitness Center and Aura Spa. There are five on-site food and drink options, including a Starbucks.

Highlights
  • Central downtown location across from convention center
  • Access to Vida Fitness Center and Aura Spa
  • Elegant rooms with views of the city
Location

The hotel is located in the Penn Quarter neighborhood of D.C., near Chinatown, the National Mall, central downtown and within blocks of the Metro.

Rooms

The rooms and suites at the Renaissance offer views of the city and natural light. Rooms have spacious desks, and beds are topped with luxurious linens. Furnishings include elegant lamps and colorful pillows. The sophisticated sleep package includes a deluxe mattress and luxurious linens. Concierge-level service includes upgraded amenities and a continental breakfast. There is in-room, high-speed Internet access (fees apply).

Features

Guests have access to Vida Fitness Center and Aura Spa. There are five on-site food and drink options, including a Starbucks and a market for sandwiches. Fifteen Squares restaurant serves American bistro food for breakfast and lunch. The President's Sports Bar serves light fare and drinks for lunch or dinner. miXX is the place to meet for drinks. Valet service and on-site parking are available (fees apply).

Transportation
  • Gallery Place/Chinatown Metro stop
  • Regan National Airport
  • Dulles International Airport
Attractions
  • Washington Convention Center (0.2 mi/ 0.4 km)
  • Gallery Place/Chinatown (0.2 mi/ 0.4 km)
  • International Spy Museum (0.3 mi/ 0.4 km)
  • National Portrait Gallery (0.3 mi/ 0.4 km)
  • The National Mall (0.7 mi/ 1.2 km)
  • Union Station (0.9 mi/ 1.5 km)
  • United States Capitol (1 mi/ 1.7 km)
  • Dupont Circle (1.1 mi/ 1.8 km)
Business
  • Business center with copy and fax service
  • Complimentary high-speed Internet
  • 64,000 square feet of meeting space

Hotel Map

38.9017 -77.0235
Area served
CityCenterDC is located across the street from the front of our hotel
Nearby airports
Ronald Reagan Washington National Airport, (DCA), 5.00, MI, N; Washington Dulles International Airport, (IAD), 28.00, MI, E; Baltimore/Washington International Thurgood Marshall Airport, (BWI), 32.00, MI, SW;
Area description
Oceanfront

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Sauna
Tennis
Steam bath
Horseback riding
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Coffee shop
Room service
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express check in
Express checkout
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
FAX
Video checkout
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Turndown service
Bathroom telephone
Cribs available
In room movies
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Shower
Iron
Ironing board
Bath tub
Wet bar

Nearby points of interest

  • Chinatown: 0.1 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 0.2 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 0.2 mi
  • National Museum of American Art: 0.3 mi
  • Smithsonian American Art Museum: 0.3 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Verizon Center: 0.3 mi
  • International Spy Museum: 0.3 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • National Building Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Koshland Science Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Folger Shakespeare Library: 0.4 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Judiciary Square: 0.5 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.1 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 0.2 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 0.2 mi
  • National Museum of American Art: 0.3 mi
  • Smithsonian American Art Museum: 0.3 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Verizon Center: 0.3 mi
  • International Spy Museum: 0.3 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • National Building Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Koshland Science Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Folger Shakespeare Library: 0.4 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Judiciary Square: 0.5 mi
  • National Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 0.5 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 0.6 mi
  • Old Post office Pavilion: 0.6 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 0.6 mi
  • National Archives: 0.6 mi
  • Newseum: 0.6 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.7 mi
  • Ronald Reagan Building: 0.7 mi
  • National Aquarium: 0.7 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.7 mi
  • National Museum of Natural History: 0.7 mi
  • National Gallery of Art: 0.7 mi
  • National Museum of American History: 0.8 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.8 mi
  • Blair House: 0.8 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 0.8 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.8 mi
  • National Postal Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.9 mi
  • Smithsonian Institution: 0.9 mi
  • National Mall: 0.9 mi
  • Presidents Park: 0.9 mi
  • Enid A Haupt Garden: 0.9 mi
  • Ripley Center: 0.9 mi
  • Hirshhorn Museum and Sculpture Garden: 0.9 mi
  • Arts and Industries Building: 0.9 mi
  • Union Station: 0.9 mi
  • Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum: 0.9 mi

Dining

Fifteen Squares Restaurant
This American Bistro is a downtown Washington, DC restaurant with a convenient location, great American fare, and superb service.
Starbucks®
Enjoy hot and cold specialty drinks, quick bites, snacks, and pastries when meeting in Downtown DC.
Mixx
Enjoy a drink in the lobby just steps from the DC Convention Center, DC City Center and all that DC has to offer.
The Presidents Sports Bar
Our sports bar, featuring present and past President memorabilia, offers light fare and drinks. Grab a meal before or after an event at the Verizon Center or your next meeting. This restaurant in Downtown Washington, DC is steps away from DC City Center
Liberty Market
This on-site market is a grab-and-go gourmet deli serving premium sandwiches and quick bites.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (245)

Ratings and reviews for Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
245 out of 245
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.2

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CFBennett
Kitchener Ontario
Sep 30, 2013

Very surprising

Didn't have much expectation given the $109CDN booking cost. Very pleasantly surprised at my stay and the cost compared to value. Not accustomed to this as I stay in Toronto mostly where I pay much more for much less. Of particular mention - the staff - friendly, smiling, helpful and at-the-ready. Great time in DC...made better by this location...thanks. Chris.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Cuban restaurant for Sunday brunch - Wow!

Review of Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
VA
Jul 10, 2011

Nice hotel

The hotel is nice and clean. My king size bed was very comfortable. The rooms does not reflect the lobby decor. The lobby is very modern and cool to hangout. This is very close to chinatown.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Carlisle, PA
Aug 30, 2010

great location

The negative aspect about this reservation was the room detail stated 1 queen bed or 2 queen beds and I specified that my reservation was for 3 adults. Luckily, I called the hotel and stated I would be in need of 2 beds and they stated that booking on the internet will only give you what the hotel has available. I asked them to cancel my reservation then and all of a sudden they had 2 beds available.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Taxis are very reasonable.

Review of Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Baerli
Simpsonville, SC
Dec 24, 2009

Snow-Weekend

It was only one night, but it was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
pennsylvania
Jul 9, 2011

unbeatable location for the price

Everything was good

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lisapisa
Washington D.C.
Feb 20, 2011

Lovely hotel

We just needed a hotel for one night to visit my brother who lives in the Chinatown area. This hotel was lovely. Beautiful lobby. Very nice room. Very comfortable beds. And, easily walkable to the Chinatown district, Legal Seafood, etc. Starbucks is in the lobby for coffee enthusiasts as myself. Pretty good price for room given the location. We were also able to have a light lunch right in the hotel at the sports bar which was so convenient.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Legal seafood was a short walk from the hotel as are so many other restaurants as well.

Review of Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Cambridge, MA
Apr 4, 2010

A great value

Very happy with the hotel, esp. the staff who were great. Some minor but basic issues...handbasin taps had some build-up which hadn't been cleaned and the house maintenance didn't empty the trash bin. Conveniently close to Metro Rail (Yellow line) and some great restaurants. Cherry blossoms were beautiful around the tidal basin. Enjoyed visits to the Library of Congress, Supreme Court and the Mt. Vernon. All the monuments and the memorial were extremely impressive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Raleigh, NC
Jun 14, 2011

Traveling with baby

Recently, my husband, 2 month old, and I spent a weekend at the Renaissance on 9th Street. The location was great since it was within walking distance to the mall, as well as all the restaurants in Chinatown. The room was clean, decent looking, but nothing special. The beds were soft and comfortable. View was nothing in particular (note, while our room oversaw the back court, in front there is a bit construction site). There was no fridge in the room, and since I needed one for baby milk, we had to have one brought in. We traveled with our 2 month old and had requested a crib. Although I called twice before the trip to request that a crib be put in the room, I had to remind them again once I got there. They had it brought in pretty soon after we went upstairs. The crib itself was pretty bad. Really hard, lumpy mattress and it was all metal. My baby almost managed to turn herself sidewise and hit the rails during the night. Overall, I think the hotel is great for the price and our experience was a positive one.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
George jrR
Tampa Florida
Dec 1, 2013

Wonderful hotel for family

This is a beautiful hotel , very cleaning, perfect location

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
lounging
nyc
Sep 20, 2010

great place to stay, calm cool quite

a great location ,with a discount price only for that weekend!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

near central parking lot. Where all the tourist bus pass and pickup.

Back to menu Return to top