$101 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 18, 2014 Check-out: Dec 21, 2014

Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel

4 stars
999 Ninth Street NW, 999 Ninth Street NW, Washington, DC 20001
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
176 reviews
Monument Dedication

Staff very professional and helpful. The hotel lobby is spectacular. See full review

  • Trini Patsy
  • Oct 6, 2014
great hotel

fantastic stay, great location, staff was extremely nice and helpful See full review

  • debra c
  • Jul 29, 2014
Penn Quarter hotel near Convention Center, downtown D.C. attractions

The central location of this hotel will please business and leisure travelers. The Washington Convention Center is across the street, and guests can walk to restaurants and shops, D.C.'s popular Chinatown neighborhood, the International Spy Museum, and the Smithsonian Museums.  Rooms and suites have spacious desks, and beds are topped with luxurious linens. Guests have access to Vida Fitness Center and Aura Spa. There are five on-site food and drink options, including a Starbucks.

Highlights
  • Central downtown location across from convention center
  • Access to Vida Fitness Center and Aura Spa
  • Elegant rooms with views of the city
Location

The hotel is located in the Penn Quarter neighborhood of D.C., near Chinatown, the National Mall, central downtown and within blocks of the Metro.

Rooms

The rooms and suites at the Renaissance offer views of the city and natural light. Rooms have spacious desks, and beds are topped with luxurious linens. Furnishings include elegant lamps and colorful pillows. The sophisticated sleep package includes a deluxe mattress and luxurious linens. Concierge-level service includes upgraded amenities and a continental breakfast. There is in-room, high-speed Internet access (fees apply).

Features

Guests have access to Vida Fitness Center and Aura Spa. There are five on-site food and drink options, including a Starbucks and a market for sandwiches. Fifteen Squares restaurant serves American bistro food for breakfast and lunch. The President's Sports Bar serves light fare and drinks for lunch or dinner. miXX is the place to meet for drinks. Valet service and on-site parking are available (fees apply).

Transportation
  • Gallery Place/Chinatown Metro stop
  • Regan National Airport
  • Dulles International Airport
Attractions
  • Washington Convention Center (0.2 mi/ 0.4 km)
  • Gallery Place/Chinatown (0.2 mi/ 0.4 km)
  • International Spy Museum (0.3 mi/ 0.4 km)
  • National Portrait Gallery (0.3 mi/ 0.4 km)
  • The National Mall (0.7 mi/ 1.2 km)
  • Union Station (0.9 mi/ 1.5 km)
  • United States Capitol (1 mi/ 1.7 km)
  • Dupont Circle (1.1 mi/ 1.8 km)
Business
  • Business center with copy and fax service
  • Complimentary high-speed Internet
  • 64,000 square feet of meeting space

Hotel Map

38.9017 -77.0235
Area served
CityCenterDC is located across the street from the front of our hotel
Nearby airports
Ronald Reagan Washington National Airport, (DCA), 5.00, MI, N; Washington Dulles International Airport, (IAD), 28.00, MI, E; Baltimore/Washington International Thurgood Marshall Airport, (BWI), 32.00, MI, SW;
Area description
City Center, Location Type: City

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Sauna
Tennis
Steam bath
Horseback riding
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Coffee shop
Room service
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express check in
Express checkout
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
FAX
Video checkout
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Turndown service
Bathroom telephone
Cribs available
In room movies
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Shower
Iron
Ironing board
Bath tub
Wet bar

Nearby points of interest

  • Chinatown: 0.1 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 0.2 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 0.2 mi
  • National Museum of American Art: 0.3 mi
  • Smithsonian American Art Museum: 0.3 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Verizon Center: 0.3 mi
  • International Spy Museum: 0.3 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • National Building Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Koshland Science Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Folger Shakespeare Library: 0.4 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Judiciary Square: 0.5 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.1 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 0.2 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 0.2 mi
  • National Museum of American Art: 0.3 mi
  • Smithsonian American Art Museum: 0.3 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Verizon Center: 0.3 mi
  • International Spy Museum: 0.3 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • National Building Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Koshland Science Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Folger Shakespeare Library: 0.4 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Judiciary Square: 0.5 mi
  • National Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 0.5 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 0.6 mi
  • Old Post office Pavilion: 0.6 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 0.6 mi
  • National Archives: 0.6 mi
  • Newseum: 0.6 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.7 mi
  • Ronald Reagan Building: 0.7 mi
  • National Aquarium: 0.7 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.7 mi
  • National Museum of Natural History: 0.7 mi
  • National Gallery of Art: 0.7 mi
  • National Museum of American History: 0.8 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.8 mi
  • Blair House: 0.8 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 0.8 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.8 mi
  • National Postal Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.9 mi
  • Smithsonian Institution: 0.9 mi
  • National Mall: 0.9 mi
  • Presidents Park: 0.9 mi
  • Enid A Haupt Garden: 0.9 mi
  • Ripley Center: 0.9 mi
  • Hirshhorn Museum and Sculpture Garden: 0.9 mi
  • Arts and Industries Building: 0.9 mi
  • Union Station: 0.9 mi
  • Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum: 0.9 mi

Dining

Fifteen Squares Restaurant
Enjoy this American Bistro in Washington, DC restaurant with a convenient location, great American fare, and superb service.
Starbucks®
Enjoy hot and cold specialty drinks, quick bites, snacks, and pastries when meeting in Downtown DC.
Mixx
Enjoy a drink and great food in the lobby just steps from the DC Convention Center, DC City Center and all that DC has to offer.
The Presidents Sports Bar
Our sports bar, featuring present and past President memorabilia, offers light fare and drinks. Grab a meal before or after an event at the Verizon Center or your next meeting. This restaurant in Downtown Washington, DC is steps away from DC City Center
Liberty Market
This on-site market is a grab-and-go gourmet deli serving premium sandwiches and quick bites.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (176)

Ratings and reviews for Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
176 out of 176
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.2

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Joewei
Jersey City, New Jersey
Aug 20, 2012

Nice Hotel

Hotel is perfect!! The room is so clean. Because they renovated the room so it is so great. !!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
md789
Business
Pittsburgh, PA, USA
Mar 13, 2012

too costly for value

it was too costly to appreciate any real value, only good part was convience of location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

downtown dc

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
EMarch
Business
NJ
Jul 7, 2013

Forth of July in DC

No pool. Breakfast not included with stay. No free WIFI?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Love a quiet room
Business
LA, CA
Dec 11, 2013

Sensitive to noise? Light sleeper? Think again

This is a beautiful and gracious hotel with lovely rooms and helpful staff. Very unfortunately the heating units in each room are antiquated - Extremely loud hissing even with earplugs in. Although it was 19 degrees out, I shut mine off and fell asleep with two blankets on. But that didn't help: Every time the heat went on in the adjacent room, I jolted awake from the sound. Must have been up every hour or so -- Right before an important meeting.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Jstew
Business
Silver Spring, MD, USA
Sep 26, 2011

NOT WORTH THE MONEY OR HASSLE!

The hotel has a nice location, however, the restaurant is very over priced. There should be a 24 hour store that sells little conveniences. I was told three times that I could get a room with refrigerator, however, when I arrived all of the rooms with refrigerator's were occupied. Then, after complaining to the front desk manager a refrigerator room "appeared." I was also told that I could order a fridge for my room, but was told none were available. The Room was very small for the price. The bed was not comfortable and there were not enough outlets. The bathroom was like a closet, no space. The room's closet was ridiculous. The bar for clothes did not go from left to right, but from front to back. I was staying with someone so all of our clothes were crushed together. This was one of the stupidest things that I have seen in a room. I have stayed at all type of hotels, but this closet space was ridiculous. I would never stay at this hotel again. I will stay at the Embassy Suites next time and get the manager's reception and the free breakfast. A lot better value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Diappointed French trvlrs
Business
Paris, France
Aug 3, 2014

So noisy

Hotel room walls must be paper thin because you can hear everything going on inside and outside the hotel... Could not sleep it was so noisy! Parking was very expensive and was not disclosed on travel website, not a good surprise upon arrival. When we came down for breakfast at 9:30, the buffet was almost empty, no pastries, no bread. It took the staff 25 minutes to replenish. Would not stay there again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Trucker.
Business
Chicago
Apr 21, 2014

comfortable beds, loud guests, expensive Internet

Charging $12.99 for Internet is not cool. Lots of partying takes place in the hallways on the weekends. The room cleaners do a good job and are friendly. The food is overpriced.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
DMOOYU
Business
Orange County, CA
Apr 16, 2012

Family of Four Experience

Pros: Close to Metro station, walking distance to different restaurant choices, rooms are kept tidy. Cons: No free internet, parking is $33/day, one particular concierge was not very helpful. Overall positive experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Although the hotel is walking distance (long) to the mall, it is better to take a cab than the Metro. This way you won't tired yourself out. The cab fare for four from the Lincoln memorial was $13.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Lovetotravel1009
Business
Bayonne, NJ, USA
Jan 16, 2013

Great experience

We enjoyed our stay at the Renaissance Downtown Hotel. The walk to all of the attractions was not that far. The breakfast buffet was a bit pricey but overall good. The rooms were clean and comfortale. Overall, we had a good experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Manny Roberts
Business
Pittsburgh
Sep 30, 2013

Okay but not great

When I arrived at the hotel, the phone in my room did not work unless it was on speaker. I called the desk twice and went down to the desk once. I felt like the staff was looking at me like I was crazy. One time I was told to use the other phone in the room and there was no phone. On the description of the room, it was indicated that there was "living space" but it was a standard size room with two beds and no real extra room. It was clean, quiet, and everything but the phone worked. My other experiences with the staff were pleasant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Visitor from SFO
Business
San Francisco
Sep 29, 2013

Nice Hotel

This is a modern convenient hotel and I had a good rate. The only downside is that they charge for internet in the room and the walls are so thin you can hear the person in the next room on the phone! It's a nice hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top