$127 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 13, 2015 Check-out: Aug 16, 2015

Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel

4 stars
View map of 999 Ninth Street NW, 999 Ninth Street NW, Washington, DC 20001

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
185 reviews
DC trip

Excellent hotel. Clean with good amenities. Lobby with great lounge area. Location excellent. See full review

  • DRJ.231
  • Jul 21, 2015
wonderful business trip.

Location was excellent that was easy to enjoy city's museums and garden and restaurants. I also... See full review

  • Janet s.
  • Jun 30, 2015
Seamlessly blending style, functionality, and comfort, the Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel welcomes you to the heart of the city with impeccable amenities and refined luxury. You're just moments from some of the most famous things to do and experience here in the Nation's Capital, including Chinatown, the White House, the National Portrait Gallery, and much more. Settle in to your newly renovated room or suite, and enjoy perks like plush pillowtop mattresses, flat-screen TVs, and a well-lit desk. Stay healthy and focused with a visit to our fitness center, or enjoy a range of delicious dining options at our on-site restaurants and lounges. With nearly 65,000 square feet of event space, we provide the perfect backdrop for magnificent meetings and events here in Washington. Yet through it all, our hotel manages to retain the sense of quiet luxury that will make you feel as though you've found a secret hideaway in the middle of it all. Plan your escape to the Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Elevators
Executive level
Ice machine
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Sauna
Tennis
Steam bath
Horseback riding
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Coffee shop
Room service
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express check in
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
FAX
Video checkout
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Turndown service
Bathroom telephone
Cribs available
In room movies
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Shower
Iron
Ironing board
Bath tub
Wet bar

Nearby points of interest

  • Chinatown: 0.1 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 0.2 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 0.2 mi
  • National Museum of American Art: 0.3 mi
  • Smithsonian American Art Museum: 0.3 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Verizon Center: 0.3 mi
  • International Spy Museum: 0.3 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • National Building Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Koshland Science Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Folger Shakespeare Library: 0.4 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Judiciary Square: 0.5 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.1 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 0.2 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 0.2 mi
  • National Museum of American Art: 0.3 mi
  • Smithsonian American Art Museum: 0.3 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Verizon Center: 0.3 mi
  • International Spy Museum: 0.3 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • National Building Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Koshland Science Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Folger Shakespeare Library: 0.4 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Judiciary Square: 0.5 mi
  • National Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 0.5 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 0.6 mi
  • Old Post office Pavilion: 0.6 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 0.6 mi
  • National Archives: 0.6 mi
  • Newseum: 0.6 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.7 mi
  • Ronald Reagan Building: 0.7 mi
  • National Aquarium: 0.7 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.7 mi
  • National Museum of Natural History: 0.7 mi
  • National Gallery of Art: 0.7 mi
  • National Museum of American History: 0.8 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.8 mi
  • Blair House: 0.8 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 0.8 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.8 mi
  • National Postal Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.9 mi
  • Smithsonian Institution: 0.9 mi
  • National Mall: 0.9 mi
  • Presidents Park: 0.9 mi
  • Enid A Haupt Garden: 0.9 mi
  • Ripley Center: 0.9 mi
  • Hirshhorn Museum and Sculpture Garden: 0.9 mi
  • Arts and Industries Building: 0.9 mi
  • Union Station: 0.9 mi
  • Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum: 0.9 mi

Dining

Fifteen Squares Restaurant
Effortlessly combining fine dining and a relaxed bistro atmosphere, our signature restaurant is sure to please even the most discerning palates.
Starbucks®
Start your morning here in downtown DC with a specialty coffee drink and a pastry from Starbucks®, located in the hotel lobby.
Mixx
Mixx offers a creative menu of drinks and food, and is the perfect place to start (or to end) your evening here in Washington.
Presidents Sports Bar & Grille
Enjoy a light meal and a drink with friends in our welcoming sports bar. Presidential memorabilia adorns the wall, adding to the authentic Washington, DC vibe.
Liberty Market
Enjoy a bite to eat on the go. Liberty Market serves premium sandwiches and quick bites for busy guests in a hurry.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
8 out of 185
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.3

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
YEQI Z.
Business
Bloomington
Apr 21, 2015

luxury hotel

This is a really clean and looks really new. The room is comfortable with big window. The staffs are really nice for any requirts. The location is not really good if you want to take subway. Since the station is a little far from hotel. But if you prefer to take bus,the station is really close. Great trip!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lakergirlxo
Business
Central Valley, CA
Jun 16, 2014

Got lucky with this one!

This hotel ended up being in a perfect location to see all the sites of DC, be in walking distance of their transportation system (metro and bus) and was in a pretty lively area but not too lively where outside noise was an issue. I felt comfortable and safe there. The rooms were clean and nice with a great bar downstairs as well that surprising was a very social place to be in the evenings. I will be staying here again next time I'm in DC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

If you're in town to see the normal historical sites of DC, yes, everything is within walking distance but it helps to have a metro SmartTrip card for attractions that area little too far for walking or on your 2nd or 3rd day of walking when you're tired! It's a cheap and easy way to get around the city and the card also works with the bus system.

Review of Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The traveling dr
Business
Puerto Rico
May 27, 2014

Fantastic location! And friendly staff

I recommend this to any type of client whether his business, family , or single

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Everything is walking distance

Review of Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
md789
Business
Pittsburgh, PA, USA
Mar 13, 2012

too costly for value

it was too costly to appreciate any real value, only good part was convience of location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

downtown dc

Review of Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jrf622
Business
CT
Dec 20, 2010

Great experience

Overall a very nice hotel. The only down side was the construction in the garage which I could hear all the way up on the 7th floor in my room...unless there was construction somewhere else in the hotel and even on the weekend! But it was a clean and nice hotel. Friendly staff too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NC
Nov 21, 2010

good for the price overall

The two major reasons I booked this hotel were its downtown location and the affordable price. It's several blocks away from Gallery-place Chinatown metro station so it's easy to get around and there are many restaurants not far away from the hotel. The room is pretty good for the price ( standard 3 1/2 I think). Their in-room service is pretty good and the dishes I ordered from the menu are pretty decent. However, the customer service is not satisfactory at all. The reception desk is unhelpful and so is the technical team of the hotel. My computer couldn't connect to the internet in my room and I called to get help. I was told that they would send someone in to fix the problem but it never happened. That is simply not acceptable! For this reason, I take 2 stars from my rating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Several blocks from Gallery-Place Chinatown. Great location.

Review of Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cambridge, MA
Apr 4, 2010

A great value

Very happy with the hotel, esp. the staff who were great. Some minor but basic issues...handbasin taps had some build-up which hadn't been cleaned and the house maintenance didn't empty the trash bin. Conveniently close to Metro Rail (Yellow line) and some great restaurants. Cherry blossoms were beautiful around the tidal basin. Enjoyed visits to the Library of Congress, Supreme Court and the Mt. Vernon. All the monuments and the memorial were extremely impressive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
pdfierro
Business
Tampa, FL
Oct 14, 2009

Great price w/ central location

I recently stayed at this Renaissance. I booked it for $99 a night. The rate can run anywhere up to $270-300, so I've seen. But at $99, it was perfect. Very nice hotel, no complaints. It is mainly a hotel for business travellers, when I was there this past weekend there was a big convention going on. Hotel is centrally located in downtown DC. Was close to everything, even the Metro. I recommnend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top