$169 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 20, 2014 Check-out: Apr 21, 2014

Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel

4 stars
999 Ninth Street NW, 999 Ninth Street NW, Washington, DC 20001
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
154 reviews
NIght at the Washington Renaissance

Hotel was easy to get to via Metro. Staff was welcoming and friendly. Room was a good size,... See full review

  • MIke Tiger71
  • Mar 28, 2014
Fabulous @ Fifty

Everything was wonderful and location was awesome:) However, parking was a little expensive. See full review

  • LauLau
  • Feb 11, 2014
Penn Quarter hotel near Convention Center, downtown D.C. attractions

The central location of this hotel will please business and leisure travelers. The Washington Convention Center is across the street, and guests can walk to restaurants and shops, D.C.'s popular Chinatown neighborhood, the International Spy Museum, and the Smithsonian Museums.  Rooms and suites have spacious desks, and beds are topped with luxurious linens. Guests have access to Vida Fitness Center and Aura Spa. There are five on-site food and drink options, including a Starbucks.

Highlights
  • Central downtown location across from convention center
  • Access to Vida Fitness Center and Aura Spa
  • Elegant rooms with views of the city
Location

The hotel is located in the Penn Quarter neighborhood of D.C., near Chinatown, the National Mall, central downtown and within blocks of the Metro.

Rooms

The rooms and suites at the Renaissance offer views of the city and natural light. Rooms have spacious desks, and beds are topped with luxurious linens. Furnishings include elegant lamps and colorful pillows. The sophisticated sleep package includes a deluxe mattress and luxurious linens. Concierge-level service includes upgraded amenities and a continental breakfast. There is in-room, high-speed Internet access (fees apply).

Features

Guests have access to Vida Fitness Center and Aura Spa. There are five on-site food and drink options, including a Starbucks and a market for sandwiches. Fifteen Squares restaurant serves American bistro food for breakfast and lunch. The President's Sports Bar serves light fare and drinks for lunch or dinner. miXX is the place to meet for drinks. Valet service and on-site parking are available (fees apply).

Transportation
  • Gallery Place/Chinatown Metro stop
  • Regan National Airport
  • Dulles International Airport
Attractions
  • Washington Convention Center (0.2 mi/ 0.4 km)
  • Gallery Place/Chinatown (0.2 mi/ 0.4 km)
  • International Spy Museum (0.3 mi/ 0.4 km)
  • National Portrait Gallery (0.3 mi/ 0.4 km)
  • The National Mall (0.7 mi/ 1.2 km)
  • Union Station (0.9 mi/ 1.5 km)
  • United States Capitol (1 mi/ 1.7 km)
  • Dupont Circle (1.1 mi/ 1.8 km)
Business
  • Business center with copy and fax service
  • Complimentary high-speed Internet
  • 64,000 square feet of meeting space

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Sauna
Tennis
Steam bath
Horseback riding
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Coffee shop
Room service
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express check in
Express checkout
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
FAX
Video checkout
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Turndown service
Bathroom telephone
Cribs available
In room movies
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Shower
Iron
Ironing board
Bath tub
Wet bar

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Hotel Map

38.9017 -77.0235
Area served
CityCenterDC is located across the street from the front of our hotel
Nearby airports
Ronald Reagan Washington National Airport, (DCA), 5.00, MI, N; Washington Dulles International Airport, (IAD), 28.00, MI, E; Baltimore/Washington International Thurgood Marshall Airport, (BWI), 32.00, MI, SW;
Area description
City Center, Location Type: City

Nearby points of interest

  • Chinatown: 0.1 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 0.2 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 0.2 mi
  • National Museum of American Art: 0.3 mi
  • Smithsonian American Art Museum: 0.3 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Verizon Center: 0.3 mi
  • International Spy Museum: 0.3 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • National Building Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Koshland Science Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Folger Shakespeare Library: 0.4 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Judiciary Square: 0.5 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.1 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 0.2 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 0.2 mi
  • National Museum of American Art: 0.3 mi
  • Smithsonian American Art Museum: 0.3 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Verizon Center: 0.3 mi
  • International Spy Museum: 0.3 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • National Building Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Koshland Science Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Folger Shakespeare Library: 0.4 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Judiciary Square: 0.5 mi
  • National Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 0.5 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 0.6 mi
  • Old Post office Pavilion: 0.6 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 0.6 mi
  • National Archives: 0.6 mi
  • Newseum: 0.6 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.7 mi
  • Ronald Reagan Building: 0.7 mi
  • National Aquarium: 0.7 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.7 mi
  • National Museum of Natural History: 0.7 mi
  • National Gallery of Art: 0.7 mi
  • National Museum of American History: 0.8 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.8 mi
  • Blair House: 0.8 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 0.8 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.8 mi
  • National Postal Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.9 mi
  • Smithsonian Institution: 0.9 mi
  • National Mall: 0.9 mi
  • Presidents Park: 0.9 mi
  • Enid A Haupt Garden: 0.9 mi
  • Ripley Center: 0.9 mi
  • Hirshhorn Museum and Sculpture Garden: 0.9 mi
  • Arts and Industries Building: 0.9 mi
  • Union Station: 0.9 mi
  • Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum: 0.9 mi

Dining

Fifteen Squares Restaurant
This American Bistro is a downtown Washington, DC restaurant with a convenient location, great American fare, and superb service.
Starbucks®
Enjoy hot and cold specialty drinks, quick bites, snacks, and pastries when meeting in Downtown DC.
Mixx
Enjoy a drink in the lobby just steps from the DC Convention Center, DC City Center and all that DC has to offer.
The Presidents Sports Bar
Our sports bar, featuring present and past President memorabilia, offers light fare and drinks. Grab a meal before or after an event at the Verizon Center or your next meeting. This restaurant in Downtown Washington, DC is steps away from DC City Center
Liberty Market
This on-site market is a grab-and-go gourmet deli serving premium sandwiches and quick bites.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (154)

Ratings and reviews for Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel

Overall score

4.2 / 5
154 out of 154
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.2

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

5
lilmsu
VA
Aug 6, 2012

Girls Getaway!

I surprised my cousin and her bridal party with a girls getaway for the weekend. We REALLY enjoyed ourselves. Macys and other stores was only a few blocks away and the club, bars were also 3-5 mins away (driving). The hotel was very nice n the staff was friendly n helpful. I would recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

3
Suzy Seltzer
Kensington, CT
Apr 25, 2011

Great location, room not so great

My family spent 4 days in downtown DC so the location of the hotel was great - walking distance (teenage kids) to the National Mall and monuments. THe lobby of the hotel was very cool, hip place to hang out. The room, however, was not so great. It was too small for four people- beds were Full size and mattresses not very comfortable. Construction across the street started at 7 am which was a rude awakening. The fan in bathroom was broken and after four showers the room was very steamy. Fridge was also broken. Also, $80 breakfast in the hotel restaurant was a waste of money; however, The hotel's Fitness Center was top notch!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Old Ebbit Grill, which is within walkting distance from the hotel has wonderful raw bar and a versatile menu. Great place with consistently good food.

Review of Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

5
Getting the best out of every $$
Connecticut
Apr 24, 2011

Great location for the price

Great location - close to Chinatown & 5 blocks from The White House. Great hotel: luxury at a great price

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

2 blocks from Chinatown where so many different kinds of restaurants are available.

Review of Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

5
Happy traveler.
Buffalo, NY
Apr 23, 2011

Clean. comfy, quality hotel!

First time in DC was fantastic, made even more so by staying in a wonderful hotel. We walked our feet off (although the Circulator bus for $1 was also convenient)then had a comfy bed with down pillows & comforter to crash in every night. Great location, Cafe Phillp around the corner for breakfast or Starbucks right in the lobby. The hotel and city was full of friendly helpful people.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Old Ebbitts Grill, and other downtown popular restaurants, required a reservation. Georgetown restaurants, on the other hand, allowed us to walk in and sit down without waiting. Paper Moon and Altiramisu (closer to Dupont Circle) were excellent. We took the Circulator to Georgetown.

Review of Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
Long Island, New York
Apr 20, 2011

DC Style

Modern motif in the lobby. Very nice cozy nooks for private talk and relaxation. No free Wi-Fi in rooms, had to go to lobby to check emails, etc. Inconvenient. Hotel breakfast buffet was yummy but pricey with kids ($17 Continental, $20 Full) There are cheaper breakfast options on 9th as you head toward the Mall, look on both sides of street!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Cuba Libre...fabulous tapas and Cuban cuisine.

Review of Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

4
My 3 sons
Syracuse NY
Apr 20, 2011

Zen Hotel

I originally thought I was staying at the Mayflower...oops so after we unpacked and repacked we easily arrived at the Chinatown location. The mood was not stuffy or pretentious...more upbeat while still being very zen. The lobby was fantastic. Composed of several living room style hideaways and one huge common area filled with tons of places to sit and lounge after walking 12 miles! Never felt like I had to tell the kids to calm down, be quiet or behave because the lobby was set up well. Silly I know, but I have 3 boys and we usually are not hard to miss! The room we were in was small but clean and the staff were all friendly. Again, not snooty to the family people. Bad stuff was $40 a day valet and $12 wireless in room. You could go to the lobby for free access....it was really a nice lobby! Location was good. About 3 blocks from Chinatown Metro. We mostly walked everywhere....stuff looks much closer, but overall the location was great. There is construction right now across the street...not sure what street..9th? I'd ask. K street was a bit noisy because of the trucks going around the corner...but not horrible. Overall I would go here again. We paid $153 a night plus the stupid parking fee...note self park is available.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We had a great meal at EAT FIRST Chinatown. FAmily style...lots of food...under order. Also the kids loved fro-ZEN-yo...a frozen yogurt place you pay what it weighs...lots of options.

Review of Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

3
Anonymous
NYC
Apr 4, 2011

Good for the value

The hotel is not too far from the tourist attractions like the Capitol Hill, the Mall, etc... and not too far from the Union Station as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

4
Larry Boy
Indianapolis, Indiana
Mar 10, 2011

Not what I would call a luxury hotel

We stayed there because the hotel was close to convention center where one of us was attending events. It was also within reasonable walking distance from tourist attractions. It is not really a luxury hotel, as claimed. Restaurants not open on Sunday afternoon. However, many good eateries within 4 blocks. Room rather small for price. If we do return to DC for sightseeing, we will stay further out and take Metro back and forth to save time and money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Many eateries nearby within a few blocks.

Review of Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

4
Lisapisa
Washington D.C.
Feb 20, 2011

Lovely hotel

We just needed a hotel for one night to visit my brother who lives in the Chinatown area. This hotel was lovely. Beautiful lobby. Very nice room. Very comfortable beds. And, easily walkable to the Chinatown district, Legal Seafood, etc. Starbucks is in the lobby for coffee enthusiasts as myself. Pretty good price for room given the location. We were also able to have a light lunch right in the hotel at the sports bar which was so convenient.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Legal seafood was a short walk from the hotel as are so many other restaurants as well.

Review of Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

3
Shaq blew it
bethesda,md
Jan 23, 2011

Celtics lost

Hotel was nice. It was much better than my prior stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Chop House.

Review of Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
Alabama
Jan 20, 2011

Great

It was a great experience, I will stay again soon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

I got engaged at your hotel.

Back to menu Return to top