$127 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 13, 2015 Check-out: Aug 16, 2015

Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel

4 stars
View map of 999 Ninth Street NW, 999 Ninth Street NW, Washington, DC 20001

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
185 out of 185
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.2

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Joewei
Jersey City, New Jersey
Aug 20, 2012

Nice Hotel

Hotel is perfect!! The room is so clean. Because they renovated the room so it is so great. !!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jrf622
Business
CT
Dec 20, 2010

Great experience

Overall a very nice hotel. The only down side was the construction in the garage which I could hear all the way up on the 7th floor in my room...unless there was construction somewhere else in the hotel and even on the weekend! But it was a clean and nice hotel. Friendly staff too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
new orleans
Nov 6, 2010

wedding

it was just ok...took the cleaning staff a long time to tidy up the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Hudson County, NJ
Oct 25, 2010

Excellent hotel in the center of town!!

The hotel lobby and lobby bar were just renovated and they're spectacular. The gym was clean, and seemed recently updated with new equipment. The staff was pleasant and accommodating. We will be back! Location is extremely convenient and located downtown. About a ten minute walk to the National Park, and the hotel is very close to Chinatown. If you're taking a bus to DC (i.e. Megabus, Bolt, etc.) this location is especially convenient as these buses load and unload across the street.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Check out Georgetown, specifically M street. It offers great food and shopping.

Review of Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Birmingham, Alabama
Oct 28, 2010

Great stay but long walk to the Mall

I selected this hotel based on location and price. We had just a couple of days to visit Washington and it wasn't as close to the Mall as I thought it would be so we ended up using a trolley. It is close to a lot of dining options but if you are short of time the breakfast buffet at the hotel is wonderful.[...] The bed was the best. Our room facing the inside corridor on the 10th floor was very quiet and comfortable. This hotel would have received a five star rating but getting information and help from the male concierges was like pulling teeth. The female concierge on the day shift was very helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Make sure you buy a pass for the shuttle to the trolley office from the concierge before boarding the trolley. The evening male concierge doesn't give you this information. I found out asking the female concierge the next morning.Another couple would have missed the tolley shuttle if we had not been there to let them know.

Review of Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RBerryJ
Business
New York, NY
Nov 8, 2010

Rennaissance Hotel (Marriott) Wash., DC

From start to finish there are a LOT of people to help you. Help you find food, help you carry display items, help you with upgrades (I didn't even have to ask). The building is immaculately clean (again, a lot of people can always be seen cleaning which is very good). The Gym, facility is GREAT! It's probably better than yours at home. One down side, no pool. There is a hot tub, but elderly guest would find it almost impossible to use. It's ideally located. If you have teens, the DC China town is 2 blocks away, as is a DC METRO stop, and the National Portrait Gallery.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

This is one of DC's best areas. China Town, Metro, and even a Radio Shack are walking distance (for when your Cell needs a new battery!)

Review of Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dad with Family
Business
Pittsburgh, PA
Oct 26, 2010

Renaissance Washington was good.

Traveling with 3 small children on sightseeing trip. Took train to Union Station. Cab ride to hotel was very expensive 25$ for about 1 mile ride. Hotel was attractive and clean. Check in was seemless and extra bed requested was delivered immediately. Room was tight for us with 2 adults and three children. Refrigerator would have been nice. But on the whole, it was clean and housekeeping was good. Staff was helpful for information. For sightseeing, white house was a 10 minute walk, most smithsonian museums about 15 minutes and Washington monument and Lincoln memorial were more distant at about 20 - 25 minutes. Did not use hotel dining, seemed expensive and not a lot of options for children.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Rockland County, New York
May 10, 2011

Great location for the price

It was nice but in the morning it was quite noise with construction across the street from the Hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Long Island, New York
Apr 20, 2011

DC Style

Modern motif in the lobby. Very nice cozy nooks for private talk and relaxation. No free Wi-Fi in rooms, had to go to lobby to check emails, etc. Inconvenient. Hotel breakfast buffet was yummy but pricey with kids ($17 Continental, $20 Full) There are cheaper breakfast options on 9th as you head toward the Mall, look on both sides of street!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Cuba Libre...fabulous tapas and Cuban cuisine.

Review of Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Larry Boy
Business
Indianapolis, Indiana
Mar 10, 2011

Not what I would call a luxury hotel

We stayed there because the hotel was close to convention center where one of us was attending events. It was also within reasonable walking distance from tourist attractions. It is not really a luxury hotel, as claimed. Restaurants not open on Sunday afternoon. However, many good eateries within 4 blocks. Room rather small for price. If we do return to DC for sightseeing, we will stay further out and take Metro back and forth to save time and money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Many eateries nearby within a few blocks.

Review of Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Raleigh, NC
Jun 14, 2011

Traveling with baby

Recently, my husband, 2 month old, and I spent a weekend at the Renaissance on 9th Street. The location was great since it was within walking distance to the mall, as well as all the restaurants in Chinatown. The room was clean, decent looking, but nothing special. The beds were soft and comfortable. View was nothing in particular (note, while our room oversaw the back court, in front there is a bit construction site). There was no fridge in the room, and since I needed one for baby milk, we had to have one brought in. We traveled with our 2 month old and had requested a crib. Although I called twice before the trip to request that a crib be put in the room, I had to remind them again once I got there. They had it brought in pretty soon after we went upstairs. The crib itself was pretty bad. Really hard, lumpy mattress and it was all metal. My baby almost managed to turn herself sidewise and hit the rails during the night. Overall, I think the hotel is great for the price and our experience was a positive one.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top