Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel

4 stars
View map of 999 Ninth Street NW, 999 Ninth Street NW, Washington, DC 20001

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
185 reviews
DC trip

Excellent hotel. Clean with good amenities. Lobby with great lounge area. Location excellent. See full review

  • DRJ.231
  • Jul 21, 2015
wonderful business trip.

Location was excellent that was easy to enjoy city's museums and garden and restaurants. I also... See full review

  • Janet s.
  • Jun 30, 2015
Seamlessly blending style, functionality, and comfort, the Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel welcomes you to the heart of the city with impeccable amenities and refined luxury. You're just moments from some of the most famous things to do and experience here in the Nation's Capital, including Chinatown, the White House, the National Portrait Gallery, and much more. Settle in to your newly renovated room or suite, and enjoy perks like plush pillowtop mattresses, flat-screen TVs, and a well-lit desk. Stay healthy and focused with a visit to our fitness center, or enjoy a range of delicious dining options at our on-site restaurants and lounges. With nearly 65,000 square feet of event space, we provide the perfect backdrop for magnificent meetings and events here in Washington. Yet through it all, our hotel manages to retain the sense of quiet luxury that will make you feel as though you've found a secret hideaway in the middle of it all. Plan your escape to the Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Elevators
Executive level
Ice machine
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Sauna
Tennis
Steam bath
Horseback riding
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Coffee shop
Room service
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express check in
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
FAX
Video checkout
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Turndown service
Bathroom telephone
Cribs available
In room movies
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Shower
Iron
Ironing board
Bath tub
Wet bar

Hotel Map

38.9017 -77.0235
Area served
Washington DC
Nearby airports
Ronald Reagan Washington National Airport, (DCA), 5.00, MI, NE; Washington Dulles International Airport, (IAD), 29.50, MI, SE; Baltimore/Washington International Thurgood Marshall Airport, (BWI), 34.00, MI, SW;
Area description
City Center, Location Type: City

Nearby points of interest

  • Chinatown: 0.1 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 0.2 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 0.2 mi
  • National Museum of American Art: 0.3 mi
  • Smithsonian American Art Museum: 0.3 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Verizon Center: 0.3 mi
  • International Spy Museum: 0.3 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • National Building Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Koshland Science Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Folger Shakespeare Library: 0.4 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Judiciary Square: 0.5 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.1 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 0.2 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 0.2 mi
  • National Museum of American Art: 0.3 mi
  • Smithsonian American Art Museum: 0.3 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Verizon Center: 0.3 mi
  • International Spy Museum: 0.3 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • National Building Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Koshland Science Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Folger Shakespeare Library: 0.4 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Judiciary Square: 0.5 mi
  • National Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 0.5 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 0.6 mi
  • Old Post office Pavilion: 0.6 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 0.6 mi
  • National Archives: 0.6 mi
  • Newseum: 0.6 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.7 mi
  • Ronald Reagan Building: 0.7 mi
  • National Aquarium: 0.7 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.7 mi
  • National Museum of Natural History: 0.7 mi
  • National Gallery of Art: 0.7 mi
  • National Museum of American History: 0.8 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.8 mi
  • Blair House: 0.8 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 0.8 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.8 mi
  • National Postal Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.9 mi
  • Smithsonian Institution: 0.9 mi
  • National Mall: 0.9 mi
  • Presidents Park: 0.9 mi
  • Enid A Haupt Garden: 0.9 mi
  • Ripley Center: 0.9 mi
  • Hirshhorn Museum and Sculpture Garden: 0.9 mi
  • Arts and Industries Building: 0.9 mi
  • Union Station: 0.9 mi
  • Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum: 0.9 mi

Dining

Fifteen Squares Restaurant
Effortlessly combining fine dining and a relaxed bistro atmosphere, our signature restaurant is sure to please even the most discerning palates.
StarbucksĀ®
Start your morning here in downtown DC with a specialty coffee drink and a pastry from StarbucksĀ®, located in the hotel lobby.
Mixx
Mixx offers a creative menu of drinks and food, and is the perfect place to start (or to end) your evening here in Washington.
Presidents Sports Bar & Grille
Enjoy a light meal and a drink with friends in our welcoming sports bar. Presidential memorabilia adorns the wall, adding to the authentic Washington, DC vibe.
Liberty Market
Enjoy a bite to eat on the go. Liberty Market serves premium sandwiches and quick bites for busy guests in a hurry.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (185)

Ratings and reviews for Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
185 out of 185
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.2

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jrf622
Business
CT
Dec 20, 2010

Great experience

Overall a very nice hotel. The only down side was the construction in the garage which I could hear all the way up on the 7th floor in my room...unless there was construction somewhere else in the hotel and even on the weekend! But it was a clean and nice hotel. Friendly staff too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
new orleans
Nov 6, 2010

wedding

it was just ok...took the cleaning staff a long time to tidy up the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Hudson County, NJ
Oct 25, 2010

Excellent hotel in the center of town!!

The hotel lobby and lobby bar were just renovated and they're spectacular. The gym was clean, and seemed recently updated with new equipment. The staff was pleasant and accommodating. We will be back! Location is extremely convenient and located downtown. About a ten minute walk to the National Park, and the hotel is very close to Chinatown. If you're taking a bus to DC (i.e. Megabus, Bolt, etc.) this location is especially convenient as these buses load and unload across the street.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Check out Georgetown, specifically M street. It offers great food and shopping.

Review of Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Birmingham, Alabama
Oct 28, 2010

Great stay but long walk to the Mall

I selected this hotel based on location and price. We had just a couple of days to visit Washington and it wasn't as close to the Mall as I thought it would be so we ended up using a trolley. It is close to a lot of dining options but if you are short of time the breakfast buffet at the hotel is wonderful.[...] The bed was the best. Our room facing the inside corridor on the 10th floor was very quiet and comfortable. This hotel would have received a five star rating but getting information and help from the male concierges was like pulling teeth. The female concierge on the day shift was very helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Make sure you buy a pass for the shuttle to the trolley office from the concierge before boarding the trolley. The evening male concierge doesn't give you this information. I found out asking the female concierge the next morning.Another couple would have missed the tolley shuttle if we had not been there to let them know.

Review of Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RBerryJ
Business
New York, NY
Nov 8, 2010

Rennaissance Hotel (Marriott) Wash., DC

From start to finish there are a LOT of people to help you. Help you find food, help you carry display items, help you with upgrades (I didn't even have to ask). The building is immaculately clean (again, a lot of people can always be seen cleaning which is very good). The Gym, facility is GREAT! It's probably better than yours at home. One down side, no pool. There is a hot tub, but elderly guest would find it almost impossible to use. It's ideally located. If you have teens, the DC China town is 2 blocks away, as is a DC METRO stop, and the National Portrait Gallery.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

This is one of DC's best areas. China Town, Metro, and even a Radio Shack are walking distance (for when your Cell needs a new battery!)

Review of Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dad with Family
Business
Pittsburgh, PA
Oct 26, 2010

Renaissance Washington was good.

Traveling with 3 small children on sightseeing trip. Took train to Union Station. Cab ride to hotel was very expensive 25$ for about 1 mile ride. Hotel was attractive and clean. Check in was seemless and extra bed requested was delivered immediately. Room was tight for us with 2 adults and three children. Refrigerator would have been nice. But on the whole, it was clean and housekeeping was good. Staff was helpful for information. For sightseeing, white house was a 10 minute walk, most smithsonian museums about 15 minutes and Washington monument and Lincoln memorial were more distant at about 20 - 25 minutes. Did not use hotel dining, seemed expensive and not a lot of options for children.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Rockland County, New York
May 10, 2011

Great location for the price

It was nice but in the morning it was quite noise with construction across the street from the Hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Long Island, New York
Apr 20, 2011

DC Style

Modern motif in the lobby. Very nice cozy nooks for private talk and relaxation. No free Wi-Fi in rooms, had to go to lobby to check emails, etc. Inconvenient. Hotel breakfast buffet was yummy but pricey with kids ($17 Continental, $20 Full) There are cheaper breakfast options on 9th as you head toward the Mall, look on both sides of street!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Cuba Libre...fabulous tapas and Cuban cuisine.

Review of Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Larry Boy
Business
Indianapolis, Indiana
Mar 10, 2011

Not what I would call a luxury hotel

We stayed there because the hotel was close to convention center where one of us was attending events. It was also within reasonable walking distance from tourist attractions. It is not really a luxury hotel, as claimed. Restaurants not open on Sunday afternoon. However, many good eateries within 4 blocks. Room rather small for price. If we do return to DC for sightseeing, we will stay further out and take Metro back and forth to save time and money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Many eateries nearby within a few blocks.

Review of Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Raleigh, NC
Jun 14, 2011

Traveling with baby

Recently, my husband, 2 month old, and I spent a weekend at the Renaissance on 9th Street. The location was great since it was within walking distance to the mall, as well as all the restaurants in Chinatown. The room was clean, decent looking, but nothing special. The beds were soft and comfortable. View was nothing in particular (note, while our room oversaw the back court, in front there is a bit construction site). There was no fridge in the room, and since I needed one for baby milk, we had to have one brought in. We traveled with our 2 month old and had requested a crib. Although I called twice before the trip to request that a crib be put in the room, I had to remind them again once I got there. They had it brought in pretty soon after we went upstairs. The crib itself was pretty bad. Really hard, lumpy mattress and it was all metal. My baby almost managed to turn herself sidewise and hit the rails during the night. Overall, I think the hotel is great for the price and our experience was a positive one.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top