$149 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 23, 2014 Check-out: Aug 24, 2014

Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel

4 stars
999 Ninth Street NW, 999 Ninth Street NW, Washington, DC 20001
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
174 reviews
great hotel

fantastic stay, great location, staff was extremely nice and helpful See full review

  • debra c
  • Jul 29, 2014
Fun location

Enjoyed the location near metro, restaurants, and downtown. Beautiful hotel with friendly... See full review

  • Fl native gal
  • Jul 26, 2014
Penn Quarter hotel near Convention Center, downtown D.C. attractions

The central location of this hotel will please business and leisure travelers. The Washington Convention Center is across the street, and guests can walk to restaurants and shops, D.C.'s popular Chinatown neighborhood, the International Spy Museum, and the Smithsonian Museums.  Rooms and suites have spacious desks, and beds are topped with luxurious linens. Guests have access to Vida Fitness Center and Aura Spa. There are five on-site food and drink options, including a Starbucks.

Highlights
  • Central downtown location across from convention center
  • Access to Vida Fitness Center and Aura Spa
  • Elegant rooms with views of the city
Location

The hotel is located in the Penn Quarter neighborhood of D.C., near Chinatown, the National Mall, central downtown and within blocks of the Metro.

Rooms

The rooms and suites at the Renaissance offer views of the city and natural light. Rooms have spacious desks, and beds are topped with luxurious linens. Furnishings include elegant lamps and colorful pillows. The sophisticated sleep package includes a deluxe mattress and luxurious linens. Concierge-level service includes upgraded amenities and a continental breakfast. There is in-room, high-speed Internet access (fees apply).

Features

Guests have access to Vida Fitness Center and Aura Spa. There are five on-site food and drink options, including a Starbucks and a market for sandwiches. Fifteen Squares restaurant serves American bistro food for breakfast and lunch. The President's Sports Bar serves light fare and drinks for lunch or dinner. miXX is the place to meet for drinks. Valet service and on-site parking are available (fees apply).

Transportation
  • Gallery Place/Chinatown Metro stop
  • Regan National Airport
  • Dulles International Airport
Attractions
  • Washington Convention Center (0.2 mi/ 0.4 km)
  • Gallery Place/Chinatown (0.2 mi/ 0.4 km)
  • International Spy Museum (0.3 mi/ 0.4 km)
  • National Portrait Gallery (0.3 mi/ 0.4 km)
  • The National Mall (0.7 mi/ 1.2 km)
  • Union Station (0.9 mi/ 1.5 km)
  • United States Capitol (1 mi/ 1.7 km)
  • Dupont Circle (1.1 mi/ 1.8 km)
Business
  • Business center with copy and fax service
  • Complimentary high-speed Internet
  • 64,000 square feet of meeting space

Hotel Map

38.9017 -77.0235
Area served
CityCenterDC is located across the street from the front of our hotel
Nearby airports
Ronald Reagan Washington National Airport, (DCA), 5.00, MI, N; Washington Dulles International Airport, (IAD), 28.00, MI, E; Baltimore/Washington International Thurgood Marshall Airport, (BWI), 32.00, MI, SW;
Area description
City Center, Location Type: City

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Sauna
Tennis
Steam bath
Horseback riding
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Coffee shop
Room service
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express check in
Express checkout
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
FAX
Video checkout
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Turndown service
Bathroom telephone
Cribs available
In room movies
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Shower
Iron
Ironing board
Bath tub
Wet bar

Nearby points of interest

  • Chinatown: 0.1 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 0.2 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 0.2 mi
  • National Museum of American Art: 0.3 mi
  • Smithsonian American Art Museum: 0.3 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Verizon Center: 0.3 mi
  • International Spy Museum: 0.3 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • National Building Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Koshland Science Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Folger Shakespeare Library: 0.4 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Judiciary Square: 0.5 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.1 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 0.2 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 0.2 mi
  • National Museum of American Art: 0.3 mi
  • Smithsonian American Art Museum: 0.3 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Verizon Center: 0.3 mi
  • International Spy Museum: 0.3 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • National Building Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Koshland Science Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Folger Shakespeare Library: 0.4 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Judiciary Square: 0.5 mi
  • National Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 0.5 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 0.6 mi
  • Old Post office Pavilion: 0.6 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 0.6 mi
  • National Archives: 0.6 mi
  • Newseum: 0.6 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.7 mi
  • Ronald Reagan Building: 0.7 mi
  • National Aquarium: 0.7 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.7 mi
  • National Museum of Natural History: 0.7 mi
  • National Gallery of Art: 0.7 mi
  • National Museum of American History: 0.8 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.8 mi
  • Blair House: 0.8 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 0.8 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.8 mi
  • National Postal Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.9 mi
  • Smithsonian Institution: 0.9 mi
  • National Mall: 0.9 mi
  • Presidents Park: 0.9 mi
  • Enid A Haupt Garden: 0.9 mi
  • Ripley Center: 0.9 mi
  • Hirshhorn Museum and Sculpture Garden: 0.9 mi
  • Arts and Industries Building: 0.9 mi
  • Union Station: 0.9 mi
  • Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum: 0.9 mi

Dining

Fifteen Squares Restaurant
This American Bistro is a downtown Washington, DC restaurant with a convenient location, great American fare, and superb service.
Starbucks®
Enjoy hot and cold specialty drinks, quick bites, snacks, and pastries when meeting in Downtown DC.
Mixx
Enjoy a drink in the lobby just steps from the DC Convention Center, DC City Center and all that DC has to offer.
The Presidents Sports Bar
Our sports bar, featuring present and past President memorabilia, offers light fare and drinks. Grab a meal before or after an event at the Verizon Center or your next meeting. This restaurant in Downtown Washington, DC is steps away from DC City Center
Liberty Market
This on-site market is a grab-and-go gourmet deli serving premium sandwiches and quick bites.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (174)

Ratings and reviews for Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
174 out of 174
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.2

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Alabama
Jan 20, 2011

Great

It was a great experience, I will stay again soon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

I got engaged at your hotel.

Review of Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chris
Not Provided
May 30, 2010

Good hotel. spacious rooms, friendly

Good hotel. spacious rooms, friendly staff. Note that there is free wifi in the lobby, not in the rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
No rating
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
xxxx
Wallkill, NY 12589, USA
Aug 16, 2011

Great weekend in DC

The hotel is convenient to museums, restaurants and public transportation. The staff is courteous. The room and the hotel itself was immaculate. There is a Starbucks in the lobby, however it closes at 6 PM. The hotel should have coffee & hot water available 24 hours a day. The coffee maker in the room was not tasty at all. I missed the free breakfast which the Hampton Inn offers. I would stay at this hotel again and would recommend it to friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
prettygirl7
Ypsilanti, MI
Dec 5, 2011

Awesome

This hotel was absolutely gorgeous and the staff was very pleasant. I recommend this hotel to anyone who plans staying in DC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Park underneath in the parking garage. It is much cheaper than the valet

Review of Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
A2110
New York, NY, USA
Apr 9, 2012

Family Weekend Trip

The staff was wonderful and very accomodating. We were walking distance from all the sites, and the room was comfortable. The gym was great too!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
viewfromabove
Chicago, Illinois
Apr 19, 2012

Father/daughter time

This was a very nice hotel especially for the price. The room was small but comfortable and clean. Good selection of cable channels. Very convenient access to the mall, Metra system, and airport. Also, very close to China town and some descent restaurants. I considered including a rental car but thankfully I did not. The staff were very, very polite and helpful. There was no free internet access in the hotel room however my daughter was able to get on the internet at the Starbucks located next to the lobby. Major construction across the street during my stay but work never started early or ended late. Not disruptive at all. I would highly recommend this hotel for a brief family vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the Metra system to all the sites and your travels to and from Reagan Airport. Very safe and enjoyable. Skip the taxi fare.

Review of Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Super saver Wify
Greensburg, PA
May 22, 2012

Stayed in the May of 2012

The China Town Metro is only 2 blocks away. Very quick walk. Many american & ethinic food sorces are also very close. Key feature is that there is a parking garage with this hotel about $33.00 a day if you don't get valet parking. We were very happy with the Hotel. Very nice in lobby. We had a dbl. bed room, it was very clean. It's just a plain room. But with so much to see in this city we spent only 5 waking hrs. in the 3 days that we stayed. We will return to this Hotel when we go back in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Use the Metro @ China Town.

Review of Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Smittybird
Wirtz, Va
May 29, 2012

Great stay

The Room was great and the staff provided a roll away bed for my grandson who is 8 years old. China Town was within 200 yards.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
phil Belgium
Belgium
May 31, 2012

great hotel

4-days family stay, very good city hotel to discover Washington DC and surroundings.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Shawn33
VA
Aug 1, 2012

Great Location

My husband and I had the best time. We were so close to everything. The staff was extremely helpful with dinning ideas and directions. We only took a cab once and we walked everywhere. Only a 20 or 30 minute walk from the National Mall. We did not want to come home.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk to and around Chinatown and the Verizon Center to find awesome restaurants.

Back to menu Return to top

Change search