$169 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 20, 2014 Check-out: Apr 21, 2014

Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel

4 stars
999 Ninth Street NW, 999 Ninth Street NW, Washington, DC 20001
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
154 reviews
NIght at the Washington Renaissance

Hotel was easy to get to via Metro. Staff was welcoming and friendly. Room was a good size,... See full review

  • MIke Tiger71
  • Mar 28, 2014
Fabulous @ Fifty

Everything was wonderful and location was awesome:) However, parking was a little expensive. See full review

  • LauLau
  • Feb 11, 2014
Penn Quarter hotel near Convention Center, downtown D.C. attractions

The central location of this hotel will please business and leisure travelers. The Washington Convention Center is across the street, and guests can walk to restaurants and shops, D.C.'s popular Chinatown neighborhood, the International Spy Museum, and the Smithsonian Museums.  Rooms and suites have spacious desks, and beds are topped with luxurious linens. Guests have access to Vida Fitness Center and Aura Spa. There are five on-site food and drink options, including a Starbucks.

Highlights
  • Central downtown location across from convention center
  • Access to Vida Fitness Center and Aura Spa
  • Elegant rooms with views of the city
Location

The hotel is located in the Penn Quarter neighborhood of D.C., near Chinatown, the National Mall, central downtown and within blocks of the Metro.

Rooms

The rooms and suites at the Renaissance offer views of the city and natural light. Rooms have spacious desks, and beds are topped with luxurious linens. Furnishings include elegant lamps and colorful pillows. The sophisticated sleep package includes a deluxe mattress and luxurious linens. Concierge-level service includes upgraded amenities and a continental breakfast. There is in-room, high-speed Internet access (fees apply).

Features

Guests have access to Vida Fitness Center and Aura Spa. There are five on-site food and drink options, including a Starbucks and a market for sandwiches. Fifteen Squares restaurant serves American bistro food for breakfast and lunch. The President's Sports Bar serves light fare and drinks for lunch or dinner. miXX is the place to meet for drinks. Valet service and on-site parking are available (fees apply).

Transportation
  • Gallery Place/Chinatown Metro stop
  • Regan National Airport
  • Dulles International Airport
Attractions
  • Washington Convention Center (0.2 mi/ 0.4 km)
  • Gallery Place/Chinatown (0.2 mi/ 0.4 km)
  • International Spy Museum (0.3 mi/ 0.4 km)
  • National Portrait Gallery (0.3 mi/ 0.4 km)
  • The National Mall (0.7 mi/ 1.2 km)
  • Union Station (0.9 mi/ 1.5 km)
  • United States Capitol (1 mi/ 1.7 km)
  • Dupont Circle (1.1 mi/ 1.8 km)
Business
  • Business center with copy and fax service
  • Complimentary high-speed Internet
  • 64,000 square feet of meeting space

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Sauna
Tennis
Steam bath
Horseback riding
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Coffee shop
Room service
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express check in
Express checkout
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
FAX
Video checkout
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Turndown service
Bathroom telephone
Cribs available
In room movies
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Shower
Iron
Ironing board
Bath tub
Wet bar

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Hotel Map

38.9017 -77.0235
Area served
CityCenterDC is located across the street from the front of our hotel
Nearby airports
Ronald Reagan Washington National Airport, (DCA), 5.00, MI, N; Washington Dulles International Airport, (IAD), 28.00, MI, E; Baltimore/Washington International Thurgood Marshall Airport, (BWI), 32.00, MI, SW;
Area description
City Center, Location Type: City

Nearby points of interest

  • Chinatown: 0.1 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 0.2 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 0.2 mi
  • National Museum of American Art: 0.3 mi
  • Smithsonian American Art Museum: 0.3 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Verizon Center: 0.3 mi
  • International Spy Museum: 0.3 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • National Building Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Koshland Science Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Folger Shakespeare Library: 0.4 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Judiciary Square: 0.5 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.1 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 0.2 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 0.2 mi
  • National Museum of American Art: 0.3 mi
  • Smithsonian American Art Museum: 0.3 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Verizon Center: 0.3 mi
  • International Spy Museum: 0.3 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • National Building Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Koshland Science Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Folger Shakespeare Library: 0.4 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Judiciary Square: 0.5 mi
  • National Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 0.5 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 0.6 mi
  • Old Post office Pavilion: 0.6 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 0.6 mi
  • National Archives: 0.6 mi
  • Newseum: 0.6 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.7 mi
  • Ronald Reagan Building: 0.7 mi
  • National Aquarium: 0.7 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.7 mi
  • National Museum of Natural History: 0.7 mi
  • National Gallery of Art: 0.7 mi
  • National Museum of American History: 0.8 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.8 mi
  • Blair House: 0.8 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 0.8 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.8 mi
  • National Postal Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.9 mi
  • Smithsonian Institution: 0.9 mi
  • National Mall: 0.9 mi
  • Presidents Park: 0.9 mi
  • Enid A Haupt Garden: 0.9 mi
  • Ripley Center: 0.9 mi
  • Hirshhorn Museum and Sculpture Garden: 0.9 mi
  • Arts and Industries Building: 0.9 mi
  • Union Station: 0.9 mi
  • Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum: 0.9 mi

Dining

Fifteen Squares Restaurant
This American Bistro is a downtown Washington, DC restaurant with a convenient location, great American fare, and superb service.
Starbucks®
Enjoy hot and cold specialty drinks, quick bites, snacks, and pastries when meeting in Downtown DC.
Mixx
Enjoy a drink in the lobby just steps from the DC Convention Center, DC City Center and all that DC has to offer.
The Presidents Sports Bar
Our sports bar, featuring present and past President memorabilia, offers light fare and drinks. Grab a meal before or after an event at the Verizon Center or your next meeting. This restaurant in Downtown Washington, DC is steps away from DC City Center
Liberty Market
This on-site market is a grab-and-go gourmet deli serving premium sandwiches and quick bites.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (154)

Ratings and reviews for Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel

Overall score

4.2 / 5
154 out of 154
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.2

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
Durham, NC
Nov 23, 2009

Excellent stay and great location

The hotel was in a perfect location as it was only a few blocks from a metro station, a quick walk to Chinatown, and not too far from the National Mall. The location was definitely the best thing about this hotel. They wanted $25 for parking. I parked across the street in the public lot for a little less. The room was clean and the AC worked really well. The room was serviceable. I found this hotel to be a great value overall. We got a great deal on a hotel to be in that location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

In Chinatown, we ate at Matchbox which was terrific and Tasca, the Tapas place. I would highly recommend both.

Review of Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
Cave Creek, Az.
Oct 27, 2009

Great location and price

[...] Incorrectly advised of Visa rebate card and breakfast. Hotel unable to honor card but did honor breakfast daily. Also had incorrect room reservation but were willing to change room to correct it. The double bed room was extremely small and obviously not the king or two doubles that we reserved.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
ybor city, fl
Oct 15, 2009

bargain luxury

The bed, linen and pillows made for a luxurious nights sleep.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

5
pdfierro
Tampa, FL
Oct 14, 2009

Great price w/ central location

I recently stayed at this Renaissance. I booked it for $99 a night. The rate can run anywhere up to $270-300, so I've seen. But at $99, it was perfect. Very nice hotel, no complaints. It is mainly a hotel for business travellers, when I was there this past weekend there was a big convention going on. Hotel is centrally located in downtown DC. Was close to everything, even the Metro. I recommnend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
New York State
Oct 14, 2009

none

Fantastic

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
Denver, Co.
Oct 5, 2009

quiet hotel, restfull

we were sightseing. took the double decker bus and got a pass good for two days, good value, and bus stoped at the hotel for pickup/let off. get on &off both days at 24 locations, from food to monuments to museums.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

see concierre desk for restaurant of desire

Review of Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
Business
kansas city
Sep 14, 2009

Renaissance DC

At first I was in a room that faced the lobby - which seemed strange to me. Instead of the window opening to the outside - it opened to the hotel lobby. This allowed for so much noise! Music & people talking - till about 1am - then started at 6am the next morning. The hotel staff was very nice when I please asked to be moved to a higher floor to avoid the noise - sweet dreams after that! On my reservation from Orbits it stated that I would have a mini frig & a sitting area, neither of which I had in either room. But none the less the room was still very nice -the bed & bedding was soft & comfey!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Chinatown, movies, dining shopping was all very close.

Review of Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

5
Very Happy D.C. Visitor
Orange, CA
Aug 11, 2009

Great location for first time visitors

We were first time visitors to D.C. and elected not to rent a car. Fantastic location to National Mall, Circulator bus, Metro subway system and taxis. Vehicle was not necessary thanks to D.C.'s public transportation system. Chinatown with lots of restaurants and activities only two to three block away. Safe to walk even late at night. Excellent housekeeping service everyday. Concierges very friendly and helpful. Message to other first time D.C. visitors: the city is actually quite compact and easy to access by walking or inexpensive taxi rides.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
Columbia, SC
Jul 27, 2009

"Great location"

Guest relations were useful/very knowledgeable; assisted us with directions and use of public transportation systems. This hotel is situated with easy access to train, rail, bus systems and walking distance to national mall if you prefer; safe and clean surroundings.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Ask guest relations for help with circulator (bus) system the first day you arrive.

Review of Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

3
Anonymous
Minneapolis, MN
Jun 30, 2009

Just OK

The hotel was very noisy. My room was by the ice maker and all night long I was disturbed by the sound of the machine. Also, every morning, the cleaning staff talked loudly and slammed doors so I was always rudely awoken. Also, the movie station didn't work properly. Sometimes I couldn't even access it, and when I could, I had trouble selecting my movie and I had to call maintenance to get to watch it. And the picture quality on the movie channel was much worse than the normal tv, and of course it was very expensive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Cafe Atlantico, Proof, The Source and Ratiska were all great restaurants that were a short walk from the hotel.

Back to menu Return to top