$161 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 23, 2015 Check-out: May 24, 2015

Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel

4 stars
View map of 999 Ninth Street NW, 999 Ninth Street NW, Washington, DC 20001

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
189 out of 189
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.2

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ArtFan
Business
San Diego, CA
Jun 26, 2011

Great location

The hotel was located within walking distance to the several museums (Smithsonian Portrait & Art Gallery, Natural History, Archives, Spy to name a few). We walked to the White House area but took the cab on the way back. Close to Chinatown, good restaurants, movie theater. Room was spacious, a bit dated. First room we got was a bit musty, but the hotel was gracious enough to move us to a different room. Parking was expensive, barely used our car rental because we walked and anything that's not within walking distance can be reached by a cab. Overall a comfortable stay in a great location. Picked up some pastries and gelatto from a Farmer's Market on Thursday nearby. Fun.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Don't bother renting a car if you're visiting for the museums and DC attractions.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MamaC
Business
Cleveland, Ohio
Jun 23, 2011

Comfortable and convenient DC hotel

We were in DC for four days of events in June celebrating the 2011 US Presidential Scholars. The hotel's location was convenient, a 20-minute walk to the White House and the National Mall area. The Gateway/Chinatown Metro station is just 2 blocks from the hotel, and the $1/ride Circulator bus stops right out front. We took a taxi from the hotel to the Kennedy Center one night - surprisingly efficient and affordable. The hotel offers convenient underground parking (both self-park and valet). Our room was very comfortable, clean, and quiet. Hotel staff members were exceptionally helpful and friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Make time to eat at historic Old Ebbitt Grill near the White House. Their crab cakes and oysters are AMAZING! Also, there are many good, inexpensive cafes and restaurants near the hotel for breakfast, lunch, or dinner on a budget.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Raleigh, NC
Jun 14, 2011

Traveling with baby

Recently, my husband, 2 month old, and I spent a weekend at the Renaissance on 9th Street. The location was great since it was within walking distance to the mall, as well as all the restaurants in Chinatown. The room was clean, decent looking, but nothing special. The beds were soft and comfortable. View was nothing in particular (note, while our room oversaw the back court, in front there is a bit construction site). There was no fridge in the room, and since I needed one for baby milk, we had to have one brought in. We traveled with our 2 month old and had requested a crib. Although I called twice before the trip to request that a crib be put in the room, I had to remind them again once I got there. They had it brought in pretty soon after we went upstairs. The crib itself was pretty bad. Really hard, lumpy mattress and it was all metal. My baby almost managed to turn herself sidewise and hit the rails during the night. Overall, I think the hotel is great for the price and our experience was a positive one.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Rockland County, New York
May 10, 2011

Great location for the price

It was nice but in the morning it was quite noise with construction across the street from the Hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bryker
Business
New Milford CT
Apr 26, 2011

Great clean room

Hotel was very clean. The staff was kind and helpful when we asked questions. Parking was $0.00 but well worth it. Room service was very good. Food was hot and we did not have to wait long. Overall, a very good stay. Thank you

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

All the attractions were about 8-10 blocks away, but worth it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Suzy Seltzer
Business
Kensington, CT
Apr 25, 2011

Great location, room not so great

My family spent 4 days in downtown DC so the location of the hotel was great - walking distance (teenage kids) to the National Mall and monuments. THe lobby of the hotel was very cool, hip place to hang out. The room, however, was not so great. It was too small for four people- beds were Full size and mattresses not very comfortable. Construction across the street started at 7 am which was a rude awakening. The fan in bathroom was broken and after four showers the room was very steamy. Fridge was also broken. Also, $80 breakfast in the hotel restaurant was a waste of money; however, The hotel's Fitness Center was top notch!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Old Ebbit Grill, which is within walkting distance from the hotel has wonderful raw bar and a versatile menu. Great place with consistently good food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Getting the best out of every $$
Business
Connecticut
Apr 24, 2011

Great location for the price

Great location - close to Chinatown & 5 blocks from The White House. Great hotel: luxury at a great price

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

2 blocks from Chinatown where so many different kinds of restaurants are available.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Happy traveler.
Business
Buffalo, NY
Apr 23, 2011

Clean. comfy, quality hotel!

First time in DC was fantastic, made even more so by staying in a wonderful hotel. We walked our feet off (although the Circulator bus for $1 was also convenient)then had a comfy bed with down pillows & comforter to crash in every night. Great location, Cafe Phillp around the corner for breakfast or Starbucks right in the lobby. The hotel and city was full of friendly helpful people.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Old Ebbitts Grill, and other downtown popular restaurants, required a reservation. Georgetown restaurants, on the other hand, allowed us to walk in and sit down without waiting. Paper Moon and Altiramisu (closer to Dupont Circle) were excellent. We took the Circulator to Georgetown.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Long Island, New York
Apr 20, 2011

DC Style

Modern motif in the lobby. Very nice cozy nooks for private talk and relaxation. No free Wi-Fi in rooms, had to go to lobby to check emails, etc. Inconvenient. Hotel breakfast buffet was yummy but pricey with kids ($17 Continental, $20 Full) There are cheaper breakfast options on 9th as you head toward the Mall, look on both sides of street!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Cuba Libre...fabulous tapas and Cuban cuisine.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
My 3 sons
Business
Syracuse NY
Apr 20, 2011

Zen Hotel

I originally thought I was staying at the Mayflower...oops so after we unpacked and repacked we easily arrived at the Chinatown location. The mood was not stuffy or pretentious...more upbeat while still being very zen. The lobby was fantastic. Composed of several living room style hideaways and one huge common area filled with tons of places to sit and lounge after walking 12 miles! Never felt like I had to tell the kids to calm down, be quiet or behave because the lobby was set up well. Silly I know, but I have 3 boys and we usually are not hard to miss! The room we were in was small but clean and the staff were all friendly. Again, not snooty to the family people. Bad stuff was $40 a day valet and $12 wireless in room. You could go to the lobby for free access....it was really a nice lobby! Location was good. About 3 blocks from Chinatown Metro. We mostly walked everywhere....stuff looks much closer, but overall the location was great. There is construction right now across the street...not sure what street..9th? I'd ask. K street was a bit noisy because of the trucks going around the corner...but not horrible. Overall I would go here again. We paid $153 a night plus the stupid parking fee...note self park is available.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We had a great meal at EAT FIRST Chinatown. FAmily style...lots of food...under order. Also the kids loved fro-ZEN-yo...a frozen yogurt place you pay what it weighs...lots of options.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top