$149 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 1, 2014 Check-out: Aug 2, 2014

Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel

4 stars
999 Ninth Street NW, 999 Ninth Street NW, Washington, DC 20001
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
245 reviews
excellent

The hotel was outstanding and convenient to everything. I highly recommend this hotel. See full review

  • yvette t.
  • Jun 16, 2014
Family meeting

Very nice hotel. Service great! Rooms were great. All was good. See full review

  • UCONN
  • Jun 11, 2014
Penn Quarter hotel near Convention Center, downtown D.C. attractions

The central location of this hotel will please business and leisure travelers. The Washington Convention Center is across the street, and guests can walk to restaurants and shops, D.C.'s popular Chinatown neighborhood, the International Spy Museum, and the Smithsonian Museums.  Rooms and suites have spacious desks, and beds are topped with luxurious linens. Guests have access to Vida Fitness Center and Aura Spa. There are five on-site food and drink options, including a Starbucks.

Highlights
  • Central downtown location across from convention center
  • Access to Vida Fitness Center and Aura Spa
  • Elegant rooms with views of the city
Location

The hotel is located in the Penn Quarter neighborhood of D.C., near Chinatown, the National Mall, central downtown and within blocks of the Metro.

Rooms

The rooms and suites at the Renaissance offer views of the city and natural light. Rooms have spacious desks, and beds are topped with luxurious linens. Furnishings include elegant lamps and colorful pillows. The sophisticated sleep package includes a deluxe mattress and luxurious linens. Concierge-level service includes upgraded amenities and a continental breakfast. There is in-room, high-speed Internet access (fees apply).

Features

Guests have access to Vida Fitness Center and Aura Spa. There are five on-site food and drink options, including a Starbucks and a market for sandwiches. Fifteen Squares restaurant serves American bistro food for breakfast and lunch. The President's Sports Bar serves light fare and drinks for lunch or dinner. miXX is the place to meet for drinks. Valet service and on-site parking are available (fees apply).

Transportation
  • Gallery Place/Chinatown Metro stop
  • Regan National Airport
  • Dulles International Airport
Attractions
  • Washington Convention Center (0.2 mi/ 0.4 km)
  • Gallery Place/Chinatown (0.2 mi/ 0.4 km)
  • International Spy Museum (0.3 mi/ 0.4 km)
  • National Portrait Gallery (0.3 mi/ 0.4 km)
  • The National Mall (0.7 mi/ 1.2 km)
  • Union Station (0.9 mi/ 1.5 km)
  • United States Capitol (1 mi/ 1.7 km)
  • Dupont Circle (1.1 mi/ 1.8 km)
Business
  • Business center with copy and fax service
  • Complimentary high-speed Internet
  • 64,000 square feet of meeting space

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Sauna
Tennis
Steam bath
Horseback riding
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Coffee shop
Room service
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express check in
Express checkout
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
FAX
Video checkout
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Turndown service
Bathroom telephone
Cribs available
In room movies
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Shower
Iron
Ironing board
Bath tub
Wet bar

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Hotel Map

38.9017 -77.0235
Area served
CityCenterDC is located across the street from the front of our hotel
Nearby airports
Ronald Reagan Washington National Airport, (DCA), 5.00, MI, N; Washington Dulles International Airport, (IAD), 28.00, MI, E; Baltimore/Washington International Thurgood Marshall Airport, (BWI), 32.00, MI, SW;
Area description
Oceanfront

Nearby points of interest

  • Chinatown: 0.1 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 0.2 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 0.2 mi
  • National Museum of American Art: 0.3 mi
  • Smithsonian American Art Museum: 0.3 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Verizon Center: 0.3 mi
  • International Spy Museum: 0.3 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • National Building Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Koshland Science Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Folger Shakespeare Library: 0.4 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Judiciary Square: 0.5 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.1 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 0.2 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 0.2 mi
  • National Museum of American Art: 0.3 mi
  • Smithsonian American Art Museum: 0.3 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Verizon Center: 0.3 mi
  • International Spy Museum: 0.3 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • National Building Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Koshland Science Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Folger Shakespeare Library: 0.4 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Judiciary Square: 0.5 mi
  • National Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 0.5 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 0.6 mi
  • Old Post office Pavilion: 0.6 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 0.6 mi
  • National Archives: 0.6 mi
  • Newseum: 0.6 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.7 mi
  • Ronald Reagan Building: 0.7 mi
  • National Aquarium: 0.7 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.7 mi
  • National Museum of Natural History: 0.7 mi
  • National Gallery of Art: 0.7 mi
  • National Museum of American History: 0.8 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.8 mi
  • Blair House: 0.8 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 0.8 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.8 mi
  • National Postal Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.9 mi
  • Smithsonian Institution: 0.9 mi
  • National Mall: 0.9 mi
  • Presidents Park: 0.9 mi
  • Enid A Haupt Garden: 0.9 mi
  • Ripley Center: 0.9 mi
  • Hirshhorn Museum and Sculpture Garden: 0.9 mi
  • Arts and Industries Building: 0.9 mi
  • Union Station: 0.9 mi
  • Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum: 0.9 mi

Dining

Fifteen Squares Restaurant
This American Bistro is a downtown Washington, DC restaurant with a convenient location, great American fare, and superb service.
Starbucks®
Enjoy hot and cold specialty drinks, quick bites, snacks, and pastries when meeting in Downtown DC.
Mixx
Enjoy a drink in the lobby just steps from the DC Convention Center, DC City Center and all that DC has to offer.
The Presidents Sports Bar
Our sports bar, featuring present and past President memorabilia, offers light fare and drinks. Grab a meal before or after an event at the Verizon Center or your next meeting. This restaurant in Downtown Washington, DC is steps away from DC City Center
Liberty Market
This on-site market is a grab-and-go gourmet deli serving premium sandwiches and quick bites.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (245)

Ratings and reviews for Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
245 out of 245
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.2

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Love a quiet room
Business
LA, CA
Dec 11, 2013

Sensitive to noise? Light sleeper? Think again

This is a beautiful and gracious hotel with lovely rooms and helpful staff. Very unfortunately the heating units in each room are antiquated - Extremely loud hissing even with earplugs in. Although it was 19 degrees out, I shut mine off and fell asleep with two blankets on. But that didn't help: Every time the heat went on in the adjacent room, I jolted awake from the sound. Must have been up every hour or so -- Right before an important meeting.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
md789
Pittsburgh, PA, USA
Mar 13, 2012

too costly for value

it was too costly to appreciate any real value, only good part was convience of location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

downtown dc

Review of Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Jstew
Business
Silver Spring, MD, USA
Sep 26, 2011

NOT WORTH THE MONEY OR HASSLE!

The hotel has a nice location, however, the restaurant is very over priced. There should be a 24 hour store that sells little conveniences. I was told three times that I could get a room with refrigerator, however, when I arrived all of the rooms with refrigerator's were occupied. Then, after complaining to the front desk manager a refrigerator room "appeared." I was also told that I could order a fridge for my room, but was told none were available. The Room was very small for the price. The bed was not comfortable and there were not enough outlets. The bathroom was like a closet, no space. The room's closet was ridiculous. The bar for clothes did not go from left to right, but from front to back. I was staying with someone so all of our clothes were crushed together. This was one of the stupidest things that I have seen in a room. I have stayed at all type of hotels, but this closet space was ridiculous. I would never stay at this hotel again. I will stay at the Embassy Suites next time and get the manager's reception and the free breakfast. A lot better value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Jstew
Business
Silver Spring, MD, USA
Sep 26, 2011

NOT WORTH THE MONEY OR HASSLE!

The hotel has a nice location, however, the restaurant is very over priced. There should be a 24 hour store that sells little conveniences. I was told three times that I could get a room with refrigerator, however, when I arrived all of the rooms with refrigerator's were occupied. Then, after complaining to the front desk manager a refrigerator room "appeared." I was also told that I could order a fridge for my room, but was told none were available. The Room was very small for the price. The bed was not comfortable and there were not enough outlets. The bathroom was like a closet, no space. The room's closet was ridiculous. The bar for clothes did not go from left to right, but from front to back. I was staying with someone so all of our clothes were crushed together. This was one of the stupidest things that I have seen in a room. I have stayed at all type of hotels, but this closet space was ridiculous. I would never stay at this hotel again. I will stay at the Embassy Suites next time and get the manager's reception and the free breakfast. A lot better value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
EMarch
NJ
Jul 7, 2013

Forth of July in DC

No pool. Breakfast not included with stay. No free WIFI?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Lawyer on the Go
Business
Wisconsin
Dec 10, 2013

Decent place, convenient location

I stayed here for business last week. I chose the hotel based on location and the fact that my usual spot was full. Overall, I was pleasantly surprised. The rooms were comfortable, the restaurant downstairs was nice (and convenient), and there is a Starbucks attached to the lobby - for that quick fix in the morning. The rooms were fairly clean, although not perfect. The staff was great, but the cleaning crew seemed ever present and, frankly, loud. Thankfully, I wasn't in my room much.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Asheville, NC
Dec 30, 2010

Christmas in DC

We were in DC to spend time together- just the three of us. We love DC at Christmas because there are no lines at the Museums, and rates at the Hotels are much lower. We only have two complaints- I will get to those after I share the good stuff. We were very happy with our rate at this Hotel. The staff was excellent! 5 Star staff. It was near China Town, which we loved! The lobby area was super cool. We played games in the lobby because it has little semi-private lounges in scattered throughout. The only things we found upsetting were the bed- the worst ever...anywhere, and on our last day the maintenance crew was hammering on pipes non-stop. starting at 7:30 AM. We really wanted a lazy morning due to our long drive home- not possible! The bed was so old, and sunken in, and bouncy we had a lot of trouble sleeping. T workers literally hammered for 3 hours non-stop until we finally escaped!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Trucker.
Business
Chicago
Apr 21, 2014

comfortable beds, loud guests, expensive Internet

Charging $12.99 for Internet is not cool. Lots of partying takes place in the hallways on the weekends. The room cleaners do a good job and are friendly. The food is overpriced.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
mithrandir
massachusetts
Oct 31, 2010

Good location

Sent to a room that was already occupied. This was remedied quickly and we got another room adjacent to a bank of elevators. It served the purpose and was fine except for the noise every time someone pushed an eleveator button.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JRR2
Nashua NH
Nov 15, 2010

Nice location, but not luxury

We stayed at the Renaissance for Jon Stewart's Rally. Nice location. We had stayed there before. However, this stay was fully of disappointments. Dirty room-service dishes sitting in the hallway for over a day, broken curtain in the room, bar with slow service and not enough staff, and all of my 'parking meter' change in my car was taken by the valet staff. I won't be back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Back to menu Return to top