$159 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 5, 2015 Check-out: Sep 7, 2015

Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel

4 stars
View map of 999 Ninth Street NW, 999 Ninth Street NW, Washington, DC 20001

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
192 out of 192
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.2

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dr. huggins
Couples
maryland
Nov 2, 2013

Comfy

I love comfort when I am staying at a hotel. The beds, the bathrooms and the décor are all reminiscent of a cozy getaway in the heart of the nation's capitol. I have stayed here before the renovations, and now after and I am very pleased. It is a little pricey, but a very nice treat for yourself.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

7th street has a variety of restaurants and even a museum to visit. There is also a movie theater and the Verizon center which showcases many well known acts.

Review of Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Manny Roberts
Business
Pittsburgh
Sep 30, 2013

Okay but not great

When I arrived at the hotel, the phone in my room did not work unless it was on speaker. I called the desk twice and went down to the desk once. I felt like the staff was looking at me like I was crazy. One time I was told to use the other phone in the room and there was no phone. On the description of the room, it was indicated that there was "living space" but it was a standard size room with two beds and no real extra room. It was clean, quiet, and everything but the phone worked. My other experiences with the staff were pleasant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CFBennett
Couples
Kitchener Ontario
Sep 30, 2013

Very surprising

Didn't have much expectation given the $109CDN booking cost. Very pleasantly surprised at my stay and the cost compared to value. Not accustomed to this as I stay in Toronto mostly where I pay much more for much less. Of particular mention - the staff - friendly, smiling, helpful and at-the-ready. Great time in DC...made better by this location...thanks. Chris.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Cuban restaurant for Sunday brunch - Wow!

Review of Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Visitor from SFO
Business
San Francisco
Sep 29, 2013

Nice Hotel

This is a modern convenient hotel and I had a good rate. The only downside is that they charge for internet in the room and the walls are so thin you can hear the person in the next room on the phone! It's a nice hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sfscott41
Couples
Dallas
Sep 25, 2013

Great hotel

Great hotel - location, cleanliness, and staff. Plenty of accommodations nearby

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LegalEd
Business
Washington, DC
Sep 11, 2013

Good location and value

Friendly staff. Reason for lower room cleanliness was the bath mat was dirty which is a bit nit picky but even when it was obvious to the housekeeper on cleaning my room it wasn't replaced. I asked for a room with a view and looked directly out at an office building across the street. Had to stand at window to get a decent view and that was of construction across the street. But I wasn't there to sigh tsee so it was of no major consequence. I was also offered a newspaper outside my room each morning but that never arrived. I would stay there again overlooking these minor issues.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Maria Gomez
Family
Hialeah, FL
Sep 9, 2013

Loved the hotel!!!

The hotel was increible, the staff, location, rooms cleanliness and amenities. Within walking distance to must of the museum, China Town, and Restaurants. The lobby has a beautiful decor, the breakfast is very good. The staff is outstanding!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel is within walking distance to the museums, China Town, Restaurants, Old Town Trolley and Metro. Very close to Walgreens and the Hospital.

Review of Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Maria Gomez
Family
Hialeah, FL
Sep 9, 2013

room

bed in the rooms were little hard for my taste other than that issue no problems

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

museums

Review of Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
poetic traveler
Friends
tampa,fl
Sep 3, 2013

good energy hotel

Nice atmosphere. Friendly bar and nice open layout. Needed book of amenities in room and more signage as to what is in hotel. Otherwise, professional staff and clean rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lewis T
Business
Washington state
Aug 24, 2013

WASHINGTON RENAISSANCE BY MARRIOTT

The in-house fitness center was great. The room was a little dank at times, owing in part to the sensor-activated climate control and the inability to open windows. The front desk staff were all helpful and friendly. I found some stale Dorito chips on the floor near one of the windows. It would have been helpful to have a hotel book with descriptions of in-room services and the like. It took me a couple of days to discover that the room had a refrigerator.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

RFD is absolutely the worst place for customer service and for food and drink availability in the area. Do not go there under any circumstances.

Back to menu Return to top