Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel

4 stars
View map of 999 Ninth Street NW, 999 Ninth Street NW, Washington, DC 20001

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
190 reviews
Trip to DC

Perfect location for touring DC. Beautiful hotel with easy access.. nice bar, nice lounge area,... See full review

  • bruce from nc
  • Aug 25, 2015
Is good for short or longer staying

i was there for two nights. I felt there very comfortable. Room was modern furnished, clean and... See full review

  • Jana R.
  • Aug 17, 2015
Seamlessly blending style, functionality, and comfort, the Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel welcomes you to the heart of the city with impeccable amenities and refined luxury. You're just moments from some of the most famous things to do and experience here in the Nation's Capital, including Chinatown, the White House, the National Portrait Gallery, and much more. Settle in to your newly renovated room or suite, and enjoy perks like plush pillowtop mattresses, flat-screen TVs, and a well-lit desk. Stay healthy and focused with a visit to our fitness center, or enjoy a range of delicious dining options at our on-site restaurants and lounges. With nearly 65,000 square feet of event space, we provide the perfect backdrop for magnificent meetings and events here in Washington. Yet through it all, our hotel manages to retain the sense of quiet luxury that will make you feel as though you've found a secret hideaway in the middle of it all. Plan your escape to the Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Elevators
Executive level
Ice machine
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Sauna
Tennis
Steam bath
Horseback riding
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Coffee shop
Room service
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express check in
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
FAX
Video checkout
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Turndown service
Bathroom telephone
Cribs available
In room movies
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Shower
Iron
Ironing board
Bath tub
Wet bar

Hotel Map

38.9017 -77.0235
Area served
Washington DC
Nearby airports
Ronald Reagan Washington National Airport, (DCA), 5.00, MI, NE; Washington Dulles International Airport, (IAD), 29.50, MI, SE; Baltimore/Washington International Thurgood Marshall Airport, (BWI), 34.00, MI, SW;
Area description
City Center, Location Type: City

Nearby points of interest

  • Chinatown: 0.1 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 0.2 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 0.2 mi
  • National Museum of American Art: 0.3 mi
  • Smithsonian American Art Museum: 0.3 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Verizon Center: 0.3 mi
  • International Spy Museum: 0.3 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • National Building Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Koshland Science Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Folger Shakespeare Library: 0.4 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Judiciary Square: 0.5 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.1 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 0.2 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 0.2 mi
  • National Museum of American Art: 0.3 mi
  • Smithsonian American Art Museum: 0.3 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Verizon Center: 0.3 mi
  • International Spy Museum: 0.3 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • National Building Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Koshland Science Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Folger Shakespeare Library: 0.4 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Judiciary Square: 0.5 mi
  • National Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 0.5 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 0.6 mi
  • Old Post office Pavilion: 0.6 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 0.6 mi
  • National Archives: 0.6 mi
  • Newseum: 0.6 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.7 mi
  • Ronald Reagan Building: 0.7 mi
  • National Aquarium: 0.7 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.7 mi
  • National Museum of Natural History: 0.7 mi
  • National Gallery of Art: 0.7 mi
  • National Museum of American History: 0.8 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.8 mi
  • Blair House: 0.8 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 0.8 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.8 mi
  • National Postal Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.9 mi
  • Smithsonian Institution: 0.9 mi
  • National Mall: 0.9 mi
  • Presidents Park: 0.9 mi
  • Enid A Haupt Garden: 0.9 mi
  • Ripley Center: 0.9 mi
  • Hirshhorn Museum and Sculpture Garden: 0.9 mi
  • Arts and Industries Building: 0.9 mi
  • Union Station: 0.9 mi
  • Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum: 0.9 mi

Dining

Fifteen Squares Restaurant
Effortlessly combining fine dining and a relaxed bistro atmosphere, our signature restaurant is sure to please even the most discerning palates.
StarbucksĀ®
Start your morning here in downtown DC with a specialty coffee drink and a pastry from StarbucksĀ®, located in the hotel lobby.
Mixx
Mixx offers a creative menu of drinks and food, and is the perfect place to start (or to end) your evening here in Washington.
Presidents Sports Bar & Grille
Enjoy a light meal and a drink with friends in our welcoming sports bar. Presidential memorabilia adorns the wall, adding to the authentic Washington, DC vibe.
Liberty Market
Enjoy a bite to eat on the go. Liberty Market serves premium sandwiches and quick bites for busy guests in a hurry.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (190)

Ratings and reviews for Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
190 out of 190
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.2

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Emily Godly Mom
Family
Salisbury, Maryland
Jul 16, 2012

The Hot Spot

This hotel is within walking distance to the Smithsonian Mall area, and Chinatown. I was very impressed with the staff, my room accommodations and the food! It's a very beautiful place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to Chinatown. There are lots of places to go shopping, catch a movie, go bowling and to dine out.

Review of Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Siryn83
Couples
Boston, MA
Jun 19, 2012

Classy hotel in Chinatown

We had two rooms at this hotel for two nights while we were in town from Boston and New York, visiting family. Location is near a metro station so the travel from DCA was short/easy. Check-in was smooth and they even told us they'd call me once my room was ready around 11 for an early check-in (red-eye flight). The lobby is great (Starbucks, hotel restaurant, plentiful seating/couches, great decor, helpful valet, nice bar, charging outlets). The room was spacious, the bed was clean/comfortable, bathroom was tidy. In room safes, nice tv and a great view. The locale is good as there are plenty of options (even though we're in Chinatown - try Cloisters

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

ChurchKey on 14th NW between N st NW and N Rhode Island St NW. Great beer selection. Good food (try the disco fries. You won't be disappointed)

Review of Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Petaw
Family
Stony Creek, Va.
Jun 18, 2012

Very Nice

We had a great time in Washington. The location of the hotel was very convenient to lots of attractions. The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful from start to finish. Would like to visit gain and use this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sensei Mom
Family
Highlands Ranch, CO
Jun 5, 2012

Couldn't Have Been A Better Choice!

In researching hotels, I was looking for proximity to the airport, downtown restaurants and monuments (this was perfect for all and we'd recommend renting bikes off the street); the fitness/spa area blew both of my teenage boys away (best gym by far of any hotel we've stayed in and I had a very tension relieving 30 min. neck massage); it was quiet; the beds were very comfortable; and staff very helpful. Overall an easy 5 stars!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Definitely rent bikes off the street from Capital Bike Share. They are locked up in many locations throughout town and you simply use a credit card to rent (daily is just $7). We saw 4-5 monuments easily via bike when we would've made it to maybe 1-2 walking. SO much easier and more fun too!

Review of Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
phil Belgium
Family
Belgium
May 31, 2012

great hotel

4-days family stay, very good city hotel to discover Washington DC and surroundings.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Smittybird
Family
Wirtz, Va
May 29, 2012

Great stay

The Room was great and the staff provided a roll away bed for my grandson who is 8 years old. China Town was within 200 yards.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Super saver Wify
Family
Greensburg, PA
May 22, 2012

Stayed in the May of 2012

The China Town Metro is only 2 blocks away. Very quick walk. Many american & ethinic food sorces are also very close. Key feature is that there is a parking garage with this hotel about $33.00 a day if you don't get valet parking. We were very happy with the Hotel. Very nice in lobby. We had a dbl. bed room, it was very clean. It's just a plain room. But with so much to see in this city we spent only 5 waking hrs. in the 3 days that we stayed. We will return to this Hotel when we go back in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Use the Metro @ China Town.

Review of Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
grand mom
Family
washington dc
May 14, 2012

Family trip

Nice, clean, central location to most sites. Loved it and would book again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Wear comfortable shoes

Review of Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
viewfromabove
Family
Chicago, Illinois
Apr 19, 2012

Father/daughter time

This was a very nice hotel especially for the price. The room was small but comfortable and clean. Good selection of cable channels. Very convenient access to the mall, Metra system, and airport. Also, very close to China town and some descent restaurants. I considered including a rental car but thankfully I did not. The staff were very, very polite and helpful. There was no free internet access in the hotel room however my daughter was able to get on the internet at the Starbucks located next to the lobby. Major construction across the street during my stay but work never started early or ended late. Not disruptive at all. I would highly recommend this hotel for a brief family vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the Metra system to all the sites and your travels to and from Reagan Airport. Very safe and enjoyable. Skip the taxi fare.

Review of Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
DMOOYU
Family
Orange County, CA
Apr 16, 2012

Family of Four Experience

Pros: Close to Metro station, walking distance to different restaurant choices, rooms are kept tidy. Cons: No free internet, parking is $33/day, one particular concierge was not very helpful. Overall positive experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Although the hotel is walking distance (long) to the mall, it is better to take a cab than the Metro. This way you won't tired yourself out. The cab fare for four from the Lincoln memorial was $13.

Back to menu Return to top