$109 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 3, 2015 Check-out: Jan 4, 2015

Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel

4 stars
999 Ninth Street NW, 999 Ninth Street NW, Washington, DC 20001
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
178 reviews
Awesome trip

Very good location. Near the Metro, Chinatown, Verizon Center... See full review

  • Tao X.
  • Dec 23, 2014
Awesome trip

Very good location. Near the Metro, Chinatown, Verizon Center... See full review

  • Tao X.
  • Dec 22, 2014
Penn Quarter hotel near Convention Center, downtown D.C. attractions

The central location of this hotel will please business and leisure travelers. The Washington Convention Center is across the street, and guests can walk to restaurants and shops, D.C.'s popular Chinatown neighborhood, the International Spy Museum, and the Smithsonian Museums.  Rooms and suites have spacious desks, and beds are topped with luxurious linens. Guests have access to Vida Fitness Center and Aura Spa. There are five on-site food and drink options, including a Starbucks.

Highlights
  • Central downtown location across from convention center
  • Access to Vida Fitness Center and Aura Spa
  • Elegant rooms with views of the city
Location

The hotel is located in the Penn Quarter neighborhood of D.C., near Chinatown, the National Mall, central downtown and within blocks of the Metro.

Rooms

The rooms and suites at the Renaissance offer views of the city and natural light. Rooms have spacious desks, and beds are topped with luxurious linens. Furnishings include elegant lamps and colorful pillows. The sophisticated sleep package includes a deluxe mattress and luxurious linens. Concierge-level service includes upgraded amenities and a continental breakfast. There is in-room, high-speed Internet access (fees apply).

Features

Guests have access to Vida Fitness Center and Aura Spa. There are five on-site food and drink options, including a Starbucks and a market for sandwiches. Fifteen Squares restaurant serves American bistro food for breakfast and lunch. The President's Sports Bar serves light fare and drinks for lunch or dinner. miXX is the place to meet for drinks. Valet service and on-site parking are available (fees apply).

Transportation
  • Gallery Place/Chinatown Metro stop
  • Regan National Airport
  • Dulles International Airport
Attractions
  • Washington Convention Center (0.2 mi/ 0.4 km)
  • Gallery Place/Chinatown (0.2 mi/ 0.4 km)
  • International Spy Museum (0.3 mi/ 0.4 km)
  • National Portrait Gallery (0.3 mi/ 0.4 km)
  • The National Mall (0.7 mi/ 1.2 km)
  • Union Station (0.9 mi/ 1.5 km)
  • United States Capitol (1 mi/ 1.7 km)
  • Dupont Circle (1.1 mi/ 1.8 km)
Business
  • Business center with copy and fax service
  • Complimentary high-speed Internet
  • 64,000 square feet of meeting space

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Sauna
Tennis
Steam bath
Horseback riding
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Coffee shop
Room service
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express check in
Express checkout
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
FAX
Video checkout
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Turndown service
Bathroom telephone
Cribs available
In room movies
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Shower
Iron
Ironing board
Bath tub
Wet bar

Nearby points of interest

  • Chinatown: 0.1 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 0.2 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 0.2 mi
  • National Museum of American Art: 0.3 mi
  • Smithsonian American Art Museum: 0.3 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Verizon Center: 0.3 mi
  • International Spy Museum: 0.3 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • National Building Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Koshland Science Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Folger Shakespeare Library: 0.4 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Judiciary Square: 0.5 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.1 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 0.2 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 0.2 mi
  • National Museum of American Art: 0.3 mi
  • Smithsonian American Art Museum: 0.3 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Verizon Center: 0.3 mi
  • International Spy Museum: 0.3 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • National Building Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Koshland Science Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Folger Shakespeare Library: 0.4 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Judiciary Square: 0.5 mi
  • National Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 0.5 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 0.6 mi
  • Old Post office Pavilion: 0.6 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 0.6 mi
  • National Archives: 0.6 mi
  • Newseum: 0.6 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.7 mi
  • Ronald Reagan Building: 0.7 mi
  • National Aquarium: 0.7 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.7 mi
  • National Museum of Natural History: 0.7 mi
  • National Gallery of Art: 0.7 mi
  • National Museum of American History: 0.8 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.8 mi
  • Blair House: 0.8 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 0.8 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.8 mi
  • National Postal Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.9 mi
  • Smithsonian Institution: 0.9 mi
  • National Mall: 0.9 mi
  • Presidents Park: 0.9 mi
  • Enid A Haupt Garden: 0.9 mi
  • Ripley Center: 0.9 mi
  • Hirshhorn Museum and Sculpture Garden: 0.9 mi
  • Arts and Industries Building: 0.9 mi
  • Union Station: 0.9 mi
  • Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum: 0.9 mi

Dining

Fifteen Squares Restaurant
Enjoy this American Bistro in Washington, DC restaurant with a convenient location, great American fare, and superb service.
Starbucks®
Enjoy hot and cold specialty drinks, quick bites, snacks, and pastries when meeting in Downtown DC.
Mixx
Enjoy a drink and great food in the lobby just steps from the DC Convention Center, DC City Center and all that DC has to offer.
The Presidents Sports Bar
Our sports bar, featuring present and past President memorabilia, offers light fare and drinks. Grab a meal before or after an event at the Verizon Center or your next meeting. This restaurant in Downtown Washington, DC is steps away from DC City Center
Liberty Market
This on-site market is a grab-and-go gourmet deli serving premium sandwiches and quick bites.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (178)

Ratings and reviews for Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
8 out of 178
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.3

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lakergirlxo
Business
Central Valley, CA
Jun 16, 2014

Got lucky with this one!

This hotel ended up being in a perfect location to see all the sites of DC, be in walking distance of their transportation system (metro and bus) and was in a pretty lively area but not too lively where outside noise was an issue. I felt comfortable and safe there. The rooms were clean and nice with a great bar downstairs as well that surprising was a very social place to be in the evenings. I will be staying here again next time I'm in DC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

If you're in town to see the normal historical sites of DC, yes, everything is within walking distance but it helps to have a metro SmartTrip card for attractions that area little too far for walking or on your 2nd or 3rd day of walking when you're tired! It's a cheap and easy way to get around the city and the card also works with the bus system.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The traveling dr
Business
Puerto Rico
May 27, 2014

Fantastic location! And friendly staff

I recommend this to any type of client whether his business, family , or single

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Everything is walking distance

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
md789
Business
Pittsburgh, PA, USA
Mar 13, 2012

too costly for value

it was too costly to appreciate any real value, only good part was convience of location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

downtown dc

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jrf622
Business
CT
Dec 20, 2010

Great experience

Overall a very nice hotel. The only down side was the construction in the garage which I could hear all the way up on the 7th floor in my room...unless there was construction somewhere else in the hotel and even on the weekend! But it was a clean and nice hotel. Friendly staff too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NC
Nov 21, 2010

good for the price overall

The two major reasons I booked this hotel were its downtown location and the affordable price. It's several blocks away from Gallery-place Chinatown metro station so it's easy to get around and there are many restaurants not far away from the hotel. The room is pretty good for the price ( standard 3 1/2 I think). Their in-room service is pretty good and the dishes I ordered from the menu are pretty decent. However, the customer service is not satisfactory at all. The reception desk is unhelpful and so is the technical team of the hotel. My computer couldn't connect to the internet in my room and I called to get help. I was told that they would send someone in to fix the problem but it never happened. That is simply not acceptable! For this reason, I take 2 stars from my rating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Several blocks from Gallery-Place Chinatown. Great location.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NYC, NY
Sep 7, 2010

Unbeatable location for the price

I was very familiar with the Renaissance which is why I decided to stay there again. Every time I stay in the D.C. area you can find me there if the price is right. I know I will receive top quality service, the fitness center is out of this world. I feel safe in the area, I love Chinese food and Chinatown is just around the corner. Renaissance can always depend on my return. ;-)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cambridge, MA
Apr 4, 2010

A great value

Very happy with the hotel, esp. the staff who were great. Some minor but basic issues...handbasin taps had some build-up which hadn't been cleaned and the house maintenance didn't empty the trash bin. Conveniently close to Metro Rail (Yellow line) and some great restaurants. Cherry blossoms were beautiful around the tidal basin. Enjoyed visits to the Library of Congress, Supreme Court and the Mt. Vernon. All the monuments and the memorial were extremely impressive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
pdfierro
Business
Tampa, FL
Oct 14, 2009

Great price w/ central location

I recently stayed at this Renaissance. I booked it for $99 a night. The rate can run anywhere up to $270-300, so I've seen. But at $99, it was perfect. Very nice hotel, no complaints. It is mainly a hotel for business travellers, when I was there this past weekend there was a big convention going on. Hotel is centrally located in downtown DC. Was close to everything, even the Metro. I recommnend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top