$127 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 13, 2015 Check-out: Aug 16, 2015

Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel

4 stars
View map of 999 Ninth Street NW, 999 Ninth Street NW, Washington, DC 20001

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
185 reviews
DC trip

Excellent hotel. Clean with good amenities. Lobby with great lounge area. Location excellent. See full review

  • DRJ.231
  • Jul 21, 2015
wonderful business trip.

Location was excellent that was easy to enjoy city's museums and garden and restaurants. I also... See full review

  • Janet s.
  • Jun 30, 2015
Seamlessly blending style, functionality, and comfort, the Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel welcomes you to the heart of the city with impeccable amenities and refined luxury. You're just moments from some of the most famous things to do and experience here in the Nation's Capital, including Chinatown, the White House, the National Portrait Gallery, and much more. Settle in to your newly renovated room or suite, and enjoy perks like plush pillowtop mattresses, flat-screen TVs, and a well-lit desk. Stay healthy and focused with a visit to our fitness center, or enjoy a range of delicious dining options at our on-site restaurants and lounges. With nearly 65,000 square feet of event space, we provide the perfect backdrop for magnificent meetings and events here in Washington. Yet through it all, our hotel manages to retain the sense of quiet luxury that will make you feel as though you've found a secret hideaway in the middle of it all. Plan your escape to the Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Elevators
Executive level
Ice machine
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Sauna
Tennis
Steam bath
Horseback riding
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Coffee shop
Room service
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express check in
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
FAX
Video checkout
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Turndown service
Bathroom telephone
Cribs available
In room movies
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Shower
Iron
Ironing board
Bath tub
Wet bar

Nearby points of interest

  • Chinatown: 0.1 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 0.2 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 0.2 mi
  • National Museum of American Art: 0.3 mi
  • Smithsonian American Art Museum: 0.3 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Verizon Center: 0.3 mi
  • International Spy Museum: 0.3 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • National Building Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Koshland Science Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Folger Shakespeare Library: 0.4 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Judiciary Square: 0.5 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.1 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 0.2 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 0.2 mi
  • National Museum of American Art: 0.3 mi
  • Smithsonian American Art Museum: 0.3 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Verizon Center: 0.3 mi
  • International Spy Museum: 0.3 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • National Building Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Koshland Science Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Folger Shakespeare Library: 0.4 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Judiciary Square: 0.5 mi
  • National Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 0.5 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 0.6 mi
  • Old Post office Pavilion: 0.6 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 0.6 mi
  • National Archives: 0.6 mi
  • Newseum: 0.6 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.7 mi
  • Ronald Reagan Building: 0.7 mi
  • National Aquarium: 0.7 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.7 mi
  • National Museum of Natural History: 0.7 mi
  • National Gallery of Art: 0.7 mi
  • National Museum of American History: 0.8 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.8 mi
  • Blair House: 0.8 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 0.8 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.8 mi
  • National Postal Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.9 mi
  • Smithsonian Institution: 0.9 mi
  • National Mall: 0.9 mi
  • Presidents Park: 0.9 mi
  • Enid A Haupt Garden: 0.9 mi
  • Ripley Center: 0.9 mi
  • Hirshhorn Museum and Sculpture Garden: 0.9 mi
  • Arts and Industries Building: 0.9 mi
  • Union Station: 0.9 mi
  • Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum: 0.9 mi

Dining

Fifteen Squares Restaurant
Effortlessly combining fine dining and a relaxed bistro atmosphere, our signature restaurant is sure to please even the most discerning palates.
Starbucks®
Start your morning here in downtown DC with a specialty coffee drink and a pastry from Starbucks®, located in the hotel lobby.
Mixx
Mixx offers a creative menu of drinks and food, and is the perfect place to start (or to end) your evening here in Washington.
Presidents Sports Bar & Grille
Enjoy a light meal and a drink with friends in our welcoming sports bar. Presidential memorabilia adorns the wall, adding to the authentic Washington, DC vibe.
Liberty Market
Enjoy a bite to eat on the go. Liberty Market serves premium sandwiches and quick bites for busy guests in a hurry.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
13 out of 185
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.8

100% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
AA Hybrid
Business
Cedar Falls
Jun 20, 2015

Thanksgiving w/ friends

Went with my 2 friends during our Thanksgiving break last year. Location was excellent and safe. Near subways and a few blocks from National Mall. Also near us were shopping, restaurants, and convenient stores. The hotel was beautiful and a very relaxing lobby. The staff were very friendly. Answered all our questions and gave us recommendations for places to see and eat. Planing to go again later this year and definitely going to this hotel. We split the hotel bill between us three, and it was one of my cheapest trips of all time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Super David
Business
Boston
Sep 8, 2014

Good place

So comfortable so clean good location. The breakfast is so good

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KACYR
Business
WV
Dec 29, 2013

Nice hotel and worth the price at $110, but not list of $250

All wa good....except the obstinate doorman. Rarely do I refuse to tip, but did so this time. Nice gym...very clean

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Easy access to Chinatown

Review of Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
poetic traveler
Business
tampa,fl
Sep 3, 2013

good energy hotel

Nice atmosphere. Friendly bar and nice open layout. Needed book of amenities in room and more signage as to what is in hotel. Otherwise, professional staff and clean rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
K at Women of Faith Conf
Business
Oak Hill, Virgnina
Aug 18, 2013

Great hotel. Beautifully appointed, and excellent staff

Loved our stay at this beautiful hotel. Only issue, was that reservation through travel site did not go through to hotel for bed configuration. had 4 adults (ladies in town for a conference) and no double bed rooms available. Had to put 4 ladies in a king and a pull out. Understand that hotel staff did all they could do, would just recommend calling ahead to double check any request for specific bed configuration. Beautiful hotel. Lovely stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
lilmsu
Business
VA
Aug 6, 2012

Girls Getaway!

I surprised my cousin and her bridal party with a girls getaway for the weekend. We REALLY enjoyed ourselves. Macys and other stores was only a few blocks away and the club, bars were also 3-5 mins away (driving). The hotel was very nice n the staff was friendly n helpful. I would recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
prettygirl7
Business
Ypsilanti, MI
Dec 5, 2011

Awesome

This hotel was absolutely gorgeous and the staff was very pleasant. I recommend this hotel to anyone who plans staying in DC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Park underneath in the parking garage. It is much cheaper than the valet

Review of Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
xxxx
Business
Wallkill, NY 12589, USA
Aug 16, 2011

Great weekend in DC

The hotel is convenient to museums, restaurants and public transportation. The staff is courteous. The room and the hotel itself was immaculate. There is a Starbucks in the lobby, however it closes at 6 PM. The hotel should have coffee & hot water available 24 hours a day. The coffee maker in the room was not tasty at all. I missed the free breakfast which the Hampton Inn offers. I would stay at this hotel again and would recommend it to friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
xxxx
Business
Wallkill, NY 12589, USA
Aug 16, 2011

Great weekend in DC

The hotel is convenient to museums, restaurants and public transportation. The staff is courteous. The room and the hotel itself was immaculate. There is a Starbucks in the lobby, however it closes at 6 PM. The hotel should have coffee & hot water available 24 hours a day. The coffee maker in the room was not tasty at all. I missed the free breakfast which the Hampton Inn offers. I would stay at this hotel again and would recommend it to friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

The hotel has maps for public buses and the Metro.

Review of Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Alegna
Business
Raleigh, NC
Jan 2, 2011

Great value, convenient location

Stayed at the Renaissance Washington Friday and Saturday nights during a New Years Eve trip with friends. The hotel is in the heart of downtown, right next to Chinatown with a metro station and the Smithsonian Art Museum a few blocks away. Our basic room with two double beds was a good size and the beds were very comfortable. A couple of drawbacks include expensive hotel parking (however there are other nearby options), no refrigerator in our room, and we had to pay $3.50 for a corkscrew. The bathroom was simple but not up to par with other "luxury hotels". Overall we had a pleasant stay and got a great deal for the money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

If driving: rather than park for $28/day in the hotel's underground deck, try one of the lots nearby. We parked right in front of the hotel at a lot across the street and paid $10/day (weekend rate). Also, street-side parking is free on Sundays.

Back to menu Return to top