$109 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 28, 2015 Check-out: Aug 29, 2015

Phoenix Park Hotel

3 stars
View map of 520 North Capitol St. N.W., Washington, DC 20001

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
131 reviews
Great for a weekend trip

This hotel was great for a no-frills weekend trip to D.C. The room, though small was very clean... See full review

  • Gracie T.
  • Apr 10, 2015
DC Trip

Great location, excellent value. Very close to major attractions/points of interest. See full review

  • tripleM
  • Mar 10, 2015

The Phoenix Park Hotel has a somewhat eclectic history, starting life in the hotel business as a place designed for workers and travelers coming from the nearby Union Station. Originally featuring shared bathrooms, Irish-American entrepreneur Daniel Coleman updated and modernized the Phoenix Park Hotel. The name comes from the iconic Phoenix Park in Dublin, and the hotel strives to do homage to this important piece of Irish history with its gorgeously crafted architecture and decor, including original oil paintings and marble staircase. All guests have access to the notable Irish pub and Dubliner Restaurant, one of Capitol Hill's most respected places to eat and drink. Valet parking is available for a fee.

Rooms

The Phoenix Park Hotel offers guests rooms with the touch of a distinguished Irish country estate. The classic European styling features patterned wallpapers, dark wood furnishings, and a gentle palette of colors for a sense of refinement and ease. The Phoenix Park Hotel provides amenities produced by Irish companies as often as possible; all rooms feature fine linens, lighting fixtures, custom designed carpeting and toiletries by some of Ireland's most notable companies. Other facilities offered in every room include oversized bath sheets, 32 inch flat screen TV including HD quality, in room safe, two telephones, Irish cotton bathrobes, complementary umbrella, daily newspaper and high speed Internet access (LAN and wireless). Guests can choose from a range of rooms and suites. The basic Superior room with king or queen sized bed allows for a single or couple to stay in comfort. Superior rooms are also available with two beds, making them ideal for groups or families. Free Wi-Fi and Wired high speed internet is also provided.

Highlights
  • Combines classic Washington style with distinctive Irish touches

  • Great location just a few blocks from the Smithsonian museums and Capitol Building

  • Popular hotel for weddings, functions, and for visiting politicians and functionaries including Bill Clinton

  • Free Wi-Fi and Wired high speed internet in all public areas
Nearby attractions
  • Union Station (1 block)

  • U.S. Capitol Building (2 blocks)

  • Smithsonian Museums (4 blocks)

  • Verizon Center (5 blocks)

  • Library of Congress (1mi/1.6km)

  • White House (2.6mi/4.2km)

Policies
  • Valet parking fee is $50 USD per including tax.
  • Check in 15.00
  • Check out 13.00

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Phoenix Park Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Phoenix Park Hotel Rooms

Superior - One King Bed
One King bed with 300 thread-count Egyptian Cotton Linens and plush pillow top mattress; oversized bath towels; Irish cotton bath robes; award-winning Galanta Irish amenities; iron and ironing board; bedside radio/alarm clock; two-speed hair dryer; 2 telephones with voicemail; wireless and wired internet access at no charge; safe; coffee maker; 32" Flat Screen TV with HD programming; pay per view movies; umbrellas, in-room safe, express check-out capability. 2 telephones/ 2 direct lines with voicemail Coffee maker 32" Flat Screen TV with HD Programming Pay per view movies Umbrellas In room safes Express check-out capability
Superior - One Queen Bed
One Queen Bed, plush pillowtop mattress, 32" HD flat panel TV, Wireless and wired Internet access at no charge, Safe, Terry cloth bathrobes, Umbrella, Irish toiletries.
Superior - Two Double Beds
Two double beds, plush pillowtop mattress, 32" HD flat panel TV, wireless and wired internet access at no charge, Safe, Terry cloth bathrobes, Umbrella, Irish toiletries.
Superior - One Full Bed
Luxurious guest room with one full bed, plush Simmons Beautyrest pillow top mattresses, 32" HD flat panel TV, complimentary high speed and wireless internet, in-room safe, Terry cloth bathrobe, Irish toiletries and newspaper.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible Rooms/Facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest
Ramp access to buildings
Knock light (hearing impaired)
Brailled elevators

Nearby points of interest

  • National Postal Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Union Station: 0.2 mi
  • Columbus Memorial Fountain: 0.2 mi
  • Folger Shakespeare Library: 0.4 mi
  • Capital Children's Museum: 0.4 mi
  • National Building Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Peace Monument: 0.5 mi
  • Judiciary Square: 0.5 mi
  • United States Capitol: 0.5 mi
  • United States Supreme Court: 0.5 mi
  • Koshland Science Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Verizon Center: 0.6 mi
  • Newseum: 0.6 mi
  • United States Botanic Garden: 0.6 mi
  • National Gallery of Art: 0.7 mi
  • National Postal Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Union Station: 0.2 mi
  • Columbus Memorial Fountain: 0.2 mi
  • Folger Shakespeare Library: 0.4 mi
  • Capital Children's Museum: 0.4 mi
  • National Building Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Peace Monument: 0.5 mi
  • Judiciary Square: 0.5 mi
  • United States Capitol: 0.5 mi
  • United States Supreme Court: 0.5 mi
  • Koshland Science Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Verizon Center: 0.6 mi
  • Newseum: 0.6 mi
  • United States Botanic Garden: 0.6 mi
  • National Gallery of Art: 0.7 mi
  • Smithsonian American Art Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Library of Congress: 0.7 mi
  • National Museum of the American Indian: 0.7 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • National Museum of American Art: 0.7 mi
  • International Spy Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.8 mi
  • National Archives: 0.8 mi
  • National Air and Space Museum: 0.8 mi
  • National Mall: 0.8 mi
  • Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 0.9 mi
  • Hirshhorn Museum and Sculpture Garden: 0.9 mi
  • National Museum of Natural History: 1 mi
  • Old Post office Pavilion: 1 mi
  • Arts and Industries Building: 1 mi
  • Smithsonian Institution: 1 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 1 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 1.1 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Enid A Haupt Garden: 1.1 mi
  • National Museum of African Art: 1.1 mi
  • L'enfant Plaza: 1.1 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 1.1 mi
  • Ripley Center: 1.1 mi
  • Sackler Gallery: 1.1 mi
  • National Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Arthur M Sackler Gallery: 1.1 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 1.1 mi

Dining

The Dubliner
The Phoenix Park Hotel's world famous Dubliner Restaurant and Pub is one of Capitol Hill's most well-regarded bars. The Dubliner Restaurant and Pub is a favorite for Washingtonians and travelers alike. Known throughout the city for its free-flowing spirits as well as its in-house brewed Irish spirit, the Dubliner offers delicious pub fare, live Irish entertainment 7 nights a week, along with a vast selection of beers and ales- including our very own brew, Old Dubliner Amber Ale. For that after work get together or casual gathering of friends and family, the Dubliner is where genuine Irish cuisine and style prevail.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Phoenix Park Hotel's elegantly appointed conference rooms provide the perfect venue for business conferences, special events or a stunning wedding in Washington DC. We provide guests with hearty Irish breakfasts, gourmet-style lunches, and savory dinners. The Phoenix Park Hotel, one of Capitol Hill's most popular meeting places, offers a total of 5,000 square feet of distinctive banquet and meeting space.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
1:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Phoenix Park Hotel

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
19 out of 131
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.8

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Phoenix Park Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
life is a journey
Business
QINGDAO
Jul 19, 2015

Great Location

This hotel is just opposite to Union Station which makes it easy for transportation by train, bus, etc. .. Walking distance to Capitol Hill... overall a very satisfied stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Phoenix Park Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
SunShine
Business
N/A
Jul 11, 2015

1 night stay

The hotel room was clean. The cost of the parking was too high. The bottled water that was in the room cost too much money. The room was very small but fit our needs for our 1 night stay. Our view was terrible. The window looked out at the brick and rooms across from our room. The carpet was stained. Would not stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Phoenix Park Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
life is a journey
Business
N/A
Apr 6, 2015

Great location and cozy room

This hotel has a great location. It is within walking distance to capitol hill, and just opposite to Union Station. We had some tours started from Union Station , so extremely convenient. The rooms are clean and cozy, staffs are helpful. Highly recommended.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Phoenix Park Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
jenel25
Business
Jersey Shore
Aug 26, 2014

Convenient and comfortable

My tween daughter and I enjoyed our recent one-night stay at the Phoenix Park Hotel. Staff was pleasant and accommodating and our room was clean and very comfortable. I found an excellent rate online that was well within our modest budget. The hotel is an easy one-block walk from Union Station, where a plethora of casual eateries, shops, and tours can be found. Our 2 1/2 hour Amtrak train ride from NJ, though not exactly cheap, was quite comfortable and certainly preferable to traveling by car. The Postal Museum is just across the street from the hotel is well done and worth the visit. The Capitol, National Mall, Smithsonian museums, etc., are technically within walking distance, but I definitely recommend taking a hop-on/hop-off bus tour from Union Station, such as Old Town Trolley or Big Bus, to avoid aching legs and feet. Food at the the attached Dubliner Restaurant, where we dined outdoors, was quite decent and kid-friendly, though not exceptional. Breakfast at the Corner Bakery Cafe, steps away from the hotel, was excellent and definitely recommended.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Phoenix Park Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
PeterSanMateo
Business
San Mateo, CA
Aug 22, 2014

Convenient and clean. A good no frills hotel

We took AmTrack from NY, so this was really convenient. My 12 yr. old and I were visiting DC for the first time. There are metro bikes right across the street, that was great. Having Union station right there was a plus. The hotel is a classic old building. Clean. There is a workout room in the lower level but didn't check it out. The rooms were decent size. We were booked for a lower floor, I requested as high up as possible, they were very accommodating and we were moved to the 8th floor. Rooms we're clean, beds a bit on the soft side. I think this was more a case of deep pillow tops, not soft springs. Housekeeping was top notch. I had left out a container of fruit. Came back to find note stating that they put it in the fridge for us (and where the fridge was located. Didn't know it had one). Highly recommended.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

If the weather is in your favor, use metrobike. 1 or 3 day pass. First half hour of any ride segment is free (there is an initial sign up cost). There are stations all over the DC area. Cost effective vs cabs. Great exercise and good for sight seeing.

Review of Phoenix Park Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MMSilver
Business
New Orleans
Aug 10, 2014

Location, location, location

This hotel is within spitting distance of Union Station - exactly what I was looking for. The room was small, but lovely. We had some trouble with the wifi, but other than that, it was perfect for our needs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Phoenix Park Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
NY Super Dad
Business
Long Island, NY
Jul 28, 2014

Pretty Good Hotel

We picked the hotel because it was as close to Union Station as possible and that was very helpful during our trip as the tour buses leave from there. Staff was nice and room was clean. Value was average at $135/night. Our family travelled with our 5 year old son and unfortunately we were placed next to a wedding party suite. We toughed it out in the room and the 2nd night was better. The room was a bit small but very comfortable. There was very little space for toiletries in the bathroom, the sink had a noticeable crack in it and the paint was chipping a bit but overall it was nicely decorated and enough room for a family of 3.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

If you drive down, bring a case of Costco water because DC in July and August is humidity at its worst and you don't want to have to buy $2-$4 water bottles.

Review of Phoenix Park Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Aadhithyaa Venky
Business
Silver spring, Maryland
Jul 6, 2014

Great for its location

The hotel was good but it would have been good if morning breakfast was complimentary

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Phoenix Park Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
zhangce
Business
Richmond, VA
May 12, 2014

Excellent location

Nice clean hotel in excellent location, walking distance to US capitol, senate etc. best deal ever in downtown DC

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Phoenix Park Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dish from trish
Business
Dallas, PA
Apr 28, 2014

pleasant experience

Found the place to be in a great location for the DC run. The room was very comfortable. The staff was very accommodating and pleasant. Wished there was better parking as I thought 50 per day for valet parking was over the top.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

To the DC sights like the memorials, monuments and capital , it was a nice walk. It was a drive to the nightlife.

Back to menu Return to top