$126 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 31, 2014 Check-out: Nov 2, 2014

Phoenix Park Hotel

3 stars
520 North Capitol St. N.W., Washington, DC 20001
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
116 reviews
A great weekend

Perfect hotel and for me it look like a 4 star hotel. Awesome location almost next to Union... See full review

  • Apgrad
  • Sep 6, 2014
Great location and staff

Stayed a Saturday night and decided to stay over another night and staff was very accommodating.... See full review

  • Traveling Man 14
  • Jul 21, 2014
Relaxing hotel with a touch of Irish hospitality

The Phoenix Park Hotel has a somewhat eclectic history, starting life in the hotel business as a place designed for workers and travelers coming from the nearby Union Station. Originally featuring shared bathrooms, Irish-American entrepreneur Daniel Coleman updated and modernized the Phoenix Park Hotel. The name comes from the iconic Phoenix Park in Dublin, and the hotel strives to do homage to this important piece of Irish history with its gorgeously crafted architecture and decor, including original oil paintings and marble staircase. All guests have access to the notable Irish pub and Dubliner Restaurant, one of Capitol Hill's most respected places to eat and drink. Valet parking is available for a fee.

Reasons to Stay:
  • Combines classic Washington style with distinctive Irish touches

  • Great location just a few blocks from the Smithsonian museums and Capitol Building

  • Popular hotel for weddings, functions, and for visiting politicians and functionaries including Bill Clinton

  • Free Wi-Fi and Wired high speed internet in all public areas
Phoenix Park Hotel Rooms

The Phoenix Park Hotel offers guests rooms with the touch of a distinguished Irish country estate. The classic European styling features patterned wallpapers, dark wood furnishings, and a gentle palette of colors for a sense of refinement and ease. The Phoenix Park Hotel provides amenities produced by Irish companies as often as possible; all rooms feature fine linens, lighting fixtures, custom designed carpeting and toiletries by some of Ireland's most notable companies. Other facilities offered in every room include oversized bath sheets, 32 inch flat screen TV including HD quality, in room safe, two telephones, Irish cotton bathrobes, complementary umbrella, daily newspaper and high speed Internet access (LAN and wireless). Guests can choose from a range of rooms and suites. The basic Superior room with king or queen sized bed allows for a single or couple to stay in comfort. Superior rooms are also available with two beds, making them ideal for groups or families. Free Wi-Fi and Wired high speed internet is also provided.

Things to Do:
  • Union Station (1 block)

  • U.S. Capitol Building (2 blocks)

  • Smithsonian Museums (4 blocks)

  • Verizon Center (5 blocks)

  • Library of Congress (1mi/1.6km)

  • White House (2.6mi/4.2km)

Policies and fees
  • Valet parking fee is $50 USD per including tax.
  • Check in 15.00
  • Check out 13.00

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

38.8971 -77.0095
Area served
On Capitol Hill, one block from Union Station and two block from the U.S. Capitol.
Nearby airports
Reagan National Airport - 6 miles Dulles International Airport Baltimore Washington Airport
Area description
The Phoenix Park Hotel is just one block from Union Station which houses the Metro and Train Station, as well as, an upscale shopping center, food court, and a multi-cinema complex. This Washington D.C. hotel is situated at the corner of North Capitol and F Street. The U.S. Capitol Building is located two short blocks from the entrance of Phoenix Park Hotel. We are located right across the street from the National Guard offices and the historical Postal Museum. The Phoenix Park Hotel is centrally located for business and leisure travelers alike. Area Information around the hotel: 1 block from Union Station / Metro 2 blocks from U.S. Capitol Building 3 blocks from the Mall 4 blocks from Smithsonian Museums 5 blocks from MCI Center 8 blocks from Washington Convention Center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Phoenix Park Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Phoenix Park Hotel Rooms

Superior - One Queen Bed
One Queen Bed, plush pillowtop mattress, 32" HD flat panel TV, Wireless and wired Internet access at no charge, Safe, Terry cloth bathrobes, Umbrella, Irish toiletries.
Superior - Two Double Beds
Two double beds, plush pillowtop mattress, 32" HD flat panel TV, wireless and wired internet access at no charge, Safe, Terry cloth bathrobes, Umbrella, Irish toiletries.
Superior - One Full Bed
Luxurious guest room with one full bed, plush Simmons Beautyrest pillow top mattresses, 32" HD flat panel TV, complimentary high speed and wireless internet, in-room safe, Terry cloth bathrobe, Irish toiletries and newspaper.
Superior - One King Bed
One King bed with 300 thread-count Egyptian Cotton Linens and plush pillow top mattress; oversized bath towels; Irish cotton bath robes; award-winning Galanta Irish amenities; iron and ironing board; bedside radio/alarm clock; two-speed hair dryer; 2 telephones with voicemail; wireless and wired internet access at no charge; safe; coffee maker; 32" Flat Screen TV with HD programming; pay per view movies; umbrellas, in-room safe, express check-out capability. 2 telephones/ 2 direct lines with voicemail Coffee maker 32" Flat Screen TV with HD Programming Pay per view movies Umbrellas In room safes Express check-out capability

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest
Ramp access to buildings
Knock light (hearing impaired)
Brailled elevators

Nearby points of interest

  • National Postal Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Union Station: 0.2 mi
  • Columbus Memorial Fountain: 0.2 mi
  • Folger Shakespeare Library: 0.4 mi
  • Capital Children's Museum: 0.4 mi
  • National Building Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Peace Monument: 0.5 mi
  • Judiciary Square: 0.5 mi
  • United States Capitol: 0.5 mi
  • United States Supreme Court: 0.5 mi
  • Koshland Science Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Verizon Center: 0.6 mi
  • Newseum: 0.6 mi
  • United States Botanic Garden: 0.6 mi
  • National Gallery of Art: 0.7 mi
  • National Postal Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Union Station: 0.2 mi
  • Columbus Memorial Fountain: 0.2 mi
  • Folger Shakespeare Library: 0.4 mi
  • Capital Children's Museum: 0.4 mi
  • National Building Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Peace Monument: 0.5 mi
  • Judiciary Square: 0.5 mi
  • United States Capitol: 0.5 mi
  • United States Supreme Court: 0.5 mi
  • Koshland Science Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Verizon Center: 0.6 mi
  • Newseum: 0.6 mi
  • United States Botanic Garden: 0.6 mi
  • National Gallery of Art: 0.7 mi
  • Smithsonian American Art Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Library of Congress: 0.7 mi
  • National Museum of the American Indian: 0.7 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • National Museum of American Art: 0.7 mi
  • International Spy Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.8 mi
  • National Archives: 0.8 mi
  • National Air and Space Museum: 0.8 mi
  • National Mall: 0.8 mi
  • Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 0.9 mi
  • Hirshhorn Museum and Sculpture Garden: 0.9 mi
  • National Museum of Natural History: 1 mi
  • Old Post office Pavilion: 1 mi
  • Arts and Industries Building: 1 mi
  • Smithsonian Institution: 1 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 1 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 1.1 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Enid A Haupt Garden: 1.1 mi
  • National Museum of African Art: 1.1 mi
  • L'enfant Plaza: 1.1 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 1.1 mi
  • Ripley Center: 1.1 mi
  • Sackler Gallery: 1.1 mi
  • National Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Arthur M Sackler Gallery: 1.1 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 1.1 mi

Dining

The Dubliner
The Phoenix Park Hotel's world famous Dubliner Restaurant and Pub is one of Capitol Hill's most well-regarded bars. The Dubliner Restaurant and Pub is a favorite for Washingtonians and travelers alike. Known throughout the city for its free-flowing spirits as well as its in-house brewed Irish spirit, the Dubliner offers delicious pub fare, live Irish entertainment 7 nights a week, along with a vast selection of beers and ales- including our very own brew, Old Dubliner Amber Ale. For that after work get together or casual gathering of friends and family, the Dubliner is where genuine Irish cuisine and style prevail.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Phoenix Park Hotel's elegantly appointed conference rooms provide the perfect venue for business conferences, special events or a stunning wedding in Washington DC. We provide guests with hearty Irish breakfasts, gourmet-style lunches, and savory dinners. The Phoenix Park Hotel, one of Capitol Hill's most popular meeting places, offers a total of 5,000 square feet of distinctive banquet and meeting space.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1300

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (116)

Ratings and reviews for Phoenix Park Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
20 out of 116
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.9
Value:
4.2

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Phoenix Park Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
criggs
New York, NY
Jun 14, 2014

I Was Robbed

This is not fun writing this. Physically the hotel is lovely. It has a real old world charm, and yet it is in excellent condition, looking like it just emerged from a massive redo. Very impressive. The bed was not great, the mattress a little lumpy and broken down. But I had no trouble sleeping, so that was a minor factor. The prices were totally reasonable across the board. WiFI was not an extra charge, but unlimited and free, and I came across no other hidden or extra fees either during my two-day stay. The desk staff was helpful, speedy and professional. Which makes this all the more unpleasant to write. You see, I was robbed. And I was robbed by someone on the housekeeping staff. On the first night I was there, before going to dinner, I put my umbrella (a small and expensive double-vent umbrella worth $50 though I bought it for $34) on the bed and left the room without that since the restaurant was in the hotel and I would not need it. When I came back an hour later it was gone. The only people capable of stealing it would have been someone with card access to the room. I reported the theft immediately. The response was mixed. On the negative side, they made no attempt to recover the umbrella nor to question anyone on the housekeeping staff (people do sometimes confess, you know!). I confirmed that they had spoken to no one when I questioned no fewer than four of the housekeeping staff over the subsequent 48 hours and NO ONE had heard about it or claimed to have heard about it. On the plus side, they gave me one of the hotel umbrellas free. They told me it was a $20 value, which means it was inadequate compensation, but I still appreciate the gesture. It was actually a fairly good umbrella, but a pain to lug around since it was large. The bottom line is that this hotel has a thief on its staff, and there is no indication so far that a serious effort has been made to correct the situation, that a serious effort has been made to identify the thief, or that there is any serious prospect that the thief will be identified, and the umbrella itself has yet to be "found" or returned. Under the circumstances, I can't recommend this hotel. It's really a pity; it's a lovely place, perfect pricing and perfect location. And the desk staff are models of professionalism. The whole thing is really a darn shame. I continue to hope against hope that the umbrella will be recovered, the thief identified and dealt with appropriately, as I would be eager to change my review, since my stay otherwise was perfectly fine ("Other than that, Mrs. Lincoln, how did you like the play?). But, unless that miracle occurs, I recommend strongly against ANYONE staying here. Like I say, this wasn't fun to write. I would have been thrilled to give this hotel a thumb's up, because it has so much to recommend it. But the hiring and retention of a thief is obviously a deal-killer!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Dining tip: In Hotel

The Dubliner was a good experience, based on limited exposure. I had dinner there two days in a row. I had the chicken pot pie, which was excellent. Very good prices.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Phoenix Park Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Classic L
Issaquah, WA
Nov 8, 2009

Capitol Hill convenience

The Phoenix Park is a perfect location for visiting or meetings on Capitol Hill and sightseeing as it is located 1 block from Union Station Metro. I've always wanted to stay at this hotel because I'm so fond of The Dubliner Pub located in the hotel. Unfortunately, the pub contributes to a lot of the noise at night as the crowd spills out into the street, as well as sirens and other big city noise. The hotel would be wise to upgrade the windows for noise control. Otherwise, my room was beautifully decorated and clean. I didn't like the pedestal sink in the bathroom; no place to put a toiletries bag except on the toilet seat cover.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Utilize the Metro stop at Union Station.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Phoenix Park Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
baltimore, MD
Mar 22, 2010

good location

very good location close to union station and the national mall for a good price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Phoenix Park Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Teaccam
Donegal
May 24, 2010

Best sleep ever

Hotel location is excellent for getting around D.C Staff very helpful. When I went to bed around 11pm there were motor bikes on the road outside and I thought it would stop me having a good night`s sleep....woke up 8 hours later after a great nights sleep!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Circulator bus to Georgetown just across road from Hotel $1

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Phoenix Park Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jack in NYC
South Korea
Apr 22, 2013

I loved my stay

I was a bit worried about my choosing this hotel for my very first D.C. trip after I read some bad reviews, but once I checked in and stayed in my room for two nights, I just forgot my worries! The room/hall decoration was very Irish and elegant; I loved the Irish pub downstairs for lunch (very busy around noon); I loved the very generous check-out time; I slept very well in a quiet room (I asked for a quiet room upon check-in). So, I would definitely recomend this hotel to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Phoenix Park Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lost in the Library
Northern New Jersey
Aug 9, 2014

Perfect location for quick sight-seeing trip

I am a woman who took an overnight solo trip from NYC to DC. Selected the Phoenix Park partly because of its proximity to Union Station. I recognized the hotel (from photo) in the distance when I stepped out to the curb and it was an easy walk. This is a small, but nicely-appointed hotel with excellent service and location. Room had nice European/Irish touches like a high bed with nice duvet and knit throw. Didn't dine at restaurant/pub or order room service but I might have if they had offered at least one vegetarian option. Just a suggestion. Many people seem to still think that vegetarians eat fish. Sorry, nope. Restaurant seemed to do a brisk business though. Would definitely stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Not Applicable

In the daytime there are many take out places and even a long line of food trucks catering to workers in the area. Union Station also has a pretty great food court. Night time is a different story. Except for the hotel's restaurant/pub and another adjacent Irish pub the restaurants within a few blocks were few and mostly high-end.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Phoenix Park Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Eliot, Maine
Apr 22, 2009

Great location.

The location was great. I wish they had free shuttle service to Reagan National. I wish they had free coffee in the lobby in the morning. People were very helpful at the front desk. The Irish Pub was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The Moonlight tour of the monuments was well worth the price. It leaves from Union Station which is across the street from the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Phoenix Park Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Wilmington, DE
Oct 5, 2009

Cozy and quaint

Very nice hotel staff who attended promptly to requests. Room was a little small but very cozy and quaint. Attached Irish restaurant was convenient and affordable. Also nearby parking readily available after 6p.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Phoenix Park Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Wiggin
Chicago
Jun 28, 2009

Small room, but good value

Other than a very small room, which was to be expected in this location, the hotel was a great value and location. Check-in was quick and the staff friendly. Bed was very comfortable. Location is great with Union Station one block away, so if you are flying into Baltimore or National airports just take the train into town. The east end of The Mall (The Capitol) is a short walk away. And if you don't want to walk the entire length of the Mall, catch a Metro train at Union station to get to other points of interest.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Phoenix Park Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
VKurtB
Denver, PA
Aug 14, 2014

Location Great, Internet Painfully Slow

The location for a one-day stopover for someone touring by rail simply can't be beaten. Staff was knowledgable and friendly and there are plenty of things to see nearby. Tour buses load almost at the front door, and if you have time, you can even stop by your Senator's office.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Capitol, Supreme Court, Botanical Garden, Library of Congress all convenient. Postal Museum right across the street.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top