$87 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 28, 2014 Check-out: Dec 31, 2014

Phoenix Park Hotel

3 stars
520 North Capitol St. N.W., Washington, DC 20001
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
120 reviews
Excellent hotel

Excellent hotel with great location. Close to all the sites. Good food in the pub with friendly staff See full review

  • Joonggun
  • Oct 22, 2014
A great weekend

Perfect hotel and for me it look like a 4 star hotel. Awesome location almost next to Union... See full review

  • Apgrad
  • Sep 6, 2014
Relaxing hotel with a touch of Irish hospitality

The Phoenix Park Hotel has a somewhat eclectic history, starting life in the hotel business as a place designed for workers and travelers coming from the nearby Union Station. Originally featuring shared bathrooms, Irish-American entrepreneur Daniel Coleman updated and modernized the Phoenix Park Hotel. The name comes from the iconic Phoenix Park in Dublin, and the hotel strives to do homage to this important piece of Irish history with its gorgeously crafted architecture and decor, including original oil paintings and marble staircase. All guests have access to the notable Irish pub and Dubliner Restaurant, one of Capitol Hill's most respected places to eat and drink. Valet parking is available for a fee.

Reasons to Stay:
  • Combines classic Washington style with distinctive Irish touches

  • Great location just a few blocks from the Smithsonian museums and Capitol Building

  • Popular hotel for weddings, functions, and for visiting politicians and functionaries including Bill Clinton

  • Free Wi-Fi and Wired high speed internet in all public areas
Phoenix Park Hotel Rooms

The Phoenix Park Hotel offers guests rooms with the touch of a distinguished Irish country estate. The classic European styling features patterned wallpapers, dark wood furnishings, and a gentle palette of colors for a sense of refinement and ease. The Phoenix Park Hotel provides amenities produced by Irish companies as often as possible; all rooms feature fine linens, lighting fixtures, custom designed carpeting and toiletries by some of Ireland's most notable companies. Other facilities offered in every room include oversized bath sheets, 32 inch flat screen TV including HD quality, in room safe, two telephones, Irish cotton bathrobes, complementary umbrella, daily newspaper and high speed Internet access (LAN and wireless). Guests can choose from a range of rooms and suites. The basic Superior room with king or queen sized bed allows for a single or couple to stay in comfort. Superior rooms are also available with two beds, making them ideal for groups or families. Free Wi-Fi and Wired high speed internet is also provided.

Things to Do:
  • Union Station (1 block)

  • U.S. Capitol Building (2 blocks)

  • Smithsonian Museums (4 blocks)

  • Verizon Center (5 blocks)

  • Library of Congress (1mi/1.6km)

  • White House (2.6mi/4.2km)

Policies and fees
  • Valet parking fee is $50 USD per including tax.
  • Check in 15.00
  • Check out 13.00

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Phoenix Park Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Phoenix Park Hotel Rooms

Superior - One King Bed
One King bed with 300 thread-count Egyptian Cotton Linens and plush pillow top mattress; oversized bath towels; Irish cotton bath robes; award-winning Galanta Irish amenities; iron and ironing board; bedside radio/alarm clock; two-speed hair dryer; 2 telephones with voicemail; wireless and wired internet access at no charge; safe; coffee maker; 32" Flat Screen TV with HD programming; pay per view movies; umbrellas, in-room safe, express check-out capability. 2 telephones/ 2 direct lines with voicemail Coffee maker 32" Flat Screen TV with HD Programming Pay per view movies Umbrellas In room safes Express check-out capability
Superior - One Queen Bed
One Queen Bed, plush pillowtop mattress, 32" HD flat panel TV, Wireless and wired Internet access at no charge, Safe, Terry cloth bathrobes, Umbrella, Irish toiletries.
Superior - Two Double Beds
Two double beds, plush pillowtop mattress, 32" HD flat panel TV, wireless and wired internet access at no charge, Safe, Terry cloth bathrobes, Umbrella, Irish toiletries.
Superior - One Full Bed
Luxurious guest room with one full bed, plush Simmons Beautyrest pillow top mattresses, 32" HD flat panel TV, complimentary high speed and wireless internet, in-room safe, Terry cloth bathrobe, Irish toiletries and newspaper.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest
Ramp access to buildings
Knock light (hearing impaired)
Brailled elevators

Nearby points of interest

  • National Postal Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Union Station: 0.2 mi
  • Columbus Memorial Fountain: 0.2 mi
  • Folger Shakespeare Library: 0.4 mi
  • Capital Children's Museum: 0.4 mi
  • National Building Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Peace Monument: 0.5 mi
  • Judiciary Square: 0.5 mi
  • United States Capitol: 0.5 mi
  • United States Supreme Court: 0.5 mi
  • Koshland Science Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Verizon Center: 0.6 mi
  • Newseum: 0.6 mi
  • United States Botanic Garden: 0.6 mi
  • National Gallery of Art: 0.7 mi
  • National Postal Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Union Station: 0.2 mi
  • Columbus Memorial Fountain: 0.2 mi
  • Folger Shakespeare Library: 0.4 mi
  • Capital Children's Museum: 0.4 mi
  • National Building Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Peace Monument: 0.5 mi
  • Judiciary Square: 0.5 mi
  • United States Capitol: 0.5 mi
  • United States Supreme Court: 0.5 mi
  • Koshland Science Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Verizon Center: 0.6 mi
  • Newseum: 0.6 mi
  • United States Botanic Garden: 0.6 mi
  • National Gallery of Art: 0.7 mi
  • Smithsonian American Art Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Library of Congress: 0.7 mi
  • National Museum of the American Indian: 0.7 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • National Museum of American Art: 0.7 mi
  • International Spy Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.8 mi
  • National Archives: 0.8 mi
  • National Air and Space Museum: 0.8 mi
  • National Mall: 0.8 mi
  • Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 0.9 mi
  • Hirshhorn Museum and Sculpture Garden: 0.9 mi
  • National Museum of Natural History: 1 mi
  • Old Post office Pavilion: 1 mi
  • Arts and Industries Building: 1 mi
  • Smithsonian Institution: 1 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 1 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 1.1 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Enid A Haupt Garden: 1.1 mi
  • National Museum of African Art: 1.1 mi
  • L'enfant Plaza: 1.1 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 1.1 mi
  • Ripley Center: 1.1 mi
  • Sackler Gallery: 1.1 mi
  • National Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Arthur M Sackler Gallery: 1.1 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 1.1 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Phoenix Park Hotel's elegantly appointed conference rooms provide the perfect venue for business conferences, special events or a stunning wedding in Washington DC. We provide guests with hearty Irish breakfasts, gourmet-style lunches, and savory dinners. The Phoenix Park Hotel, one of Capitol Hill's most popular meeting places, offers a total of 5,000 square feet of distinctive banquet and meeting space.

Dining

The Dubliner
The Phoenix Park Hotel's world famous Dubliner Restaurant and Pub is one of Capitol Hill's most well-regarded bars. The Dubliner Restaurant and Pub is a favorite for Washingtonians and travelers alike. Known throughout the city for its free-flowing spirits as well as its in-house brewed Irish spirit, the Dubliner offers delicious pub fare, live Irish entertainment 7 nights a week, along with a vast selection of beers and ales- including our very own brew, Old Dubliner Amber Ale. For that after work get together or casual gathering of friends and family, the Dubliner is where genuine Irish cuisine and style prevail.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1300

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (120)

Ratings and reviews for Phoenix Park Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
40 out of 120
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.9
Value:
4.1

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Phoenix Park Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Peter J
Business
Hamilton, OH
Sep 7, 2011

Bad experience

We stayed here twice before. The hotel overbooked and we were sent to another hotel for one night. We elected to stay there (Washington Court Hotel) the other two nights. Although the staff at the Phoenix was great, we won't stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Phoenix Park Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Brad from Skokie
Business
Chicago, IL
Oct 29, 2013

First Washington DC trip

If you want to be close to the Capitol or the Metro/Union Station, this hotel is in a great location. Only a block or so to the Metro. Room rate was a little pricey in my mind but then most DC rates are high. If we go back to DC, we might stay in the suburbs clost to a Metro stop. We did have an issue during our stay and the manager did his best to make it right.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

The Metro is a great way to get around Washington DC. We took it from Reagan airport to a block from our hotel. Stay close to a Metro stop.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Phoenix Park Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Tuborg
Business
OKC, OK
Mar 17, 2014

Pretty good hotel, great location.

Phoenix Park is few minute walk to Union Station, therefore access to the Metro is easy. The hotel is old, but the elevators work, and the staff is friendly. Our room was the standard king, and the bed was very good. Room and bath are small but adequate.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The restaurant/bar is very good.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Phoenix Park Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
need earmuffs
Business
NC
Jan 12, 2011

Good location, a bit loud

Hotel staff were very nice,rooms were well outfitted, but there were many sirens all night long. They have quiet rooms, if you stay here, ask for one.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Restaurant is an Irish pub. People in DC seem to drink a lot. The crowd gets louder as the evening progresses. Eat early.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Phoenix Park Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Bath, England
Mar 23, 2010

Ideally situated for our short visit

We chose the Phoenix Park for its proximity to Union Station as that was crucial to us on our visit. The room was of a decent size and very comfortable, however the Bar beneath our room stayed noisy until the early morning hours. Our first impression was not good as the reception staff were very abrupt and our booking could not initially be found. There was also a lingering smell of cooking fish throughout the public rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

A Tour bus leaves from right outside Union Station. A guide book is definitely needed to make the most of the City

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Phoenix Park Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Greensboro, NC
Mar 1, 2010

Mixed experience

We tried to extend our stay but the rather unfriendly staff quoted a rate double what we had paid through [...] The room was very clean, the bed very comfortable, but the space was really tight even for just two people. The location was the one great thing. We ended up booking our third night at another, friendlier hotel. Doubt we would go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Phoenix Park Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jimjaram
Business
Ewing, New Jersey
Jul 20, 2014

A quick DC get away

It was a very comfortable hotel , perfect for a quick getaway. It is also in a perfect location, near everything. However there were details that needed work. The shower was poorly built which made water spray everywhere. They also try to charge you for the smallest things. For the amount of time we stayed, it was perfect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Phoenix Park Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Momtaps
Business
Vienna VA
Aug 3, 2014

Quick overnight stay

Location was great, easy walk from Union Station - hotel was fine in terms of comfort & cleanliness, but not anything special.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Phoenix Park Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
media pa.
Nov 18, 2014

In Town For College Football game

Only there less then 12 hrs. Nothing special about the hotel that I saw.Rooms were very small. Bathroom shower very crampted. Asked for a late checkout since we didn't get there till 8:00 and was told no! My son plays football and we normally stay at a hotel around the corner which is much nicer and staff are nicer too!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Phoenix Park Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Estes
Business
Rhode Island
Jul 16, 2012

Great Stay

Great Location, easy to get to. Very close to area attractions and transportation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top