$103 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 22, 2014 Check-out: Aug 23, 2014

Phoenix Park Hotel

3 stars
520 North Capitol St. N.W., Washington, DC 20001
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
157 reviews
Comfortable beds.

Location great! Staff wonderful. Bed bed I have ever slept in at a hotel. See full review

  • Amanda from Gettysburg.
  • Jun 30, 2014
An Excellent Choice

Although I was there for just one night on business, I really liked this hotel. It's not a modern,... See full review

  • perlfoto
  • Jun 21, 2014
Relaxing hotel with a touch of Irish hospitality

The Phoenix Park Hotel has a somewhat eclectic history, starting life in the hotel business as a place designed for workers and travelers coming from the nearby Union Station. Originally featuring shared bathrooms, Irish-American entrepreneur Daniel Coleman updated and modernized the Phoenix Park Hotel. The name comes from the iconic Phoenix Park in Dublin, and the hotel strives to do homage to this important piece of Irish history with its gorgeously crafted architecture and decor, including original oil paintings and marble staircase. All guests have access to the notable Irish pub and Dubliner Restaurant, one of Capitol Hill's most respected places to eat and drink. Valet parking is available for a fee.

Reasons to Stay:
  • Combines classic Washington style with distinctive Irish touches

  • Great location just a few blocks from the Smithsonian museums and Capitol Building

  • Popular hotel for weddings, functions, and for visiting politicians and functionaries including Bill Clinton

  • Free Wi-Fi and Wired high speed internet in all public areas
Phoenix Park Hotel Rooms

The Phoenix Park Hotel offers guests rooms with the touch of a distinguished Irish country estate. The classic European styling features patterned wallpapers, dark wood furnishings, and a gentle palette of colors for a sense of refinement and ease. The Phoenix Park Hotel provides amenities produced by Irish companies as often as possible; all rooms feature fine linens, lighting fixtures, custom designed carpeting and toiletries by some of Ireland's most notable companies. Other facilities offered in every room include oversized bath sheets, 32 inch flat screen TV including HD quality, in room safe, two telephones, Irish cotton bathrobes, complementary umbrella, daily newspaper and high speed Internet access (LAN and wireless). Guests can choose from a range of rooms and suites. The basic Superior room with king or queen sized bed allows for a single or couple to stay in comfort. Superior rooms are also available with two beds, making them ideal for groups or families. Free Wi-Fi and Wired high speed internet is also provided.

Things to Do:
  • Union Station (1 block)

  • U.S. Capitol Building (2 blocks)

  • Smithsonian Museums (4 blocks)

  • Verizon Center (5 blocks)

  • Library of Congress (1mi/1.6km)

  • White House (2.6mi/4.2km)

Policies and fees
  • Valet parking fee is $50 USD per day plus tax.
  • Check in 15.00
  • Check out 13.00

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

38.8971 -77.0095
Area served
On Capitol Hill, one block from Union Station and two block from the U.S. Capitol.
Nearby airports
Reagan National Airport - 6 miles Dulles International Airport Baltimore Washington Airport
Area description
The Phoenix Park Hotel is just one block from Union Station which houses the Metro and Train Station, as well as, an upscale shopping center, food court, and a multi-cinema complex. This Washington D.C. hotel is situated at the corner of North Capitol and F Street. The U.S. Capitol Building is located two short blocks from the entrance of Phoenix Park Hotel. We are located right across the street from the National Guard offices and the historical Postal Museum. The Phoenix Park Hotel is centrally located for business and leisure travelers alike. Area Information around the hotel: 1 block from Union Station / Metro 2 blocks from U.S. Capitol Building 3 blocks from the Mall 4 blocks from Smithsonian Museums 5 blocks from MCI Center 8 blocks from Washington Convention Center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Phoenix Park Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Phoenix Park Hotel Rooms

Superior - One King Bed
One King bed with 300 thread-count Egyptian Cotton Linens and plush pillow top mattress; oversized bath towels; Irish cotton bath robes; award-winning Galanta Irish amenities; iron and ironing board; bedside radio/alarm clock; two-speed hair dryer; 2 telephones with voicemail; wireless and wired internet access at no charge; safe; coffee maker; 32" Flat Screen TV with HD programming; pay per view movies; umbrellas, in-room safe, express check-out capability. 2 telephones/ 2 direct lines with voicemail Coffee maker 32" Flat Screen TV with HD Programming Pay per view movies Umbrellas In room safes Express check-out capability
Superior - One Queen Bed
One Queen Bed, plush pillowtop mattress, 32" HD flat panel TV, Wireless and wired Internet access at no charge, Safe, Terry cloth bathrobes, Umbrella, Irish toiletries.
Superior - Two Double Beds
Two double beds, plush pillowtop mattress, 32" HD flat panel TV, wireless and wired internet access at no charge, Safe, Terry cloth bathrobes, Umbrella, Irish toiletries.
Superior - One Full Bed
Luxurious guest room with one full bed, plush Simmons Beautyrest pillow top mattresses, 32" HD flat panel TV, complimentary high speed and wireless internet, in-room safe, Terry cloth bathrobe, Irish toiletries and newspaper.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest
Ramp access to buildings
Knock light (hearing impaired)
Brailled elevators

Nearby points of interest

  • National Postal Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Union Station: 0.2 mi
  • Columbus Memorial Fountain: 0.2 mi
  • Folger Shakespeare Library: 0.4 mi
  • Capital Children's Museum: 0.4 mi
  • National Building Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Peace Monument: 0.5 mi
  • Judiciary Square: 0.5 mi
  • United States Capitol: 0.5 mi
  • United States Supreme Court: 0.5 mi
  • Koshland Science Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Verizon Center: 0.6 mi
  • Newseum: 0.6 mi
  • United States Botanic Garden: 0.6 mi
  • National Gallery of Art: 0.7 mi
  • National Postal Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Union Station: 0.2 mi
  • Columbus Memorial Fountain: 0.2 mi
  • Folger Shakespeare Library: 0.4 mi
  • Capital Children's Museum: 0.4 mi
  • National Building Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Peace Monument: 0.5 mi
  • Judiciary Square: 0.5 mi
  • United States Capitol: 0.5 mi
  • United States Supreme Court: 0.5 mi
  • Koshland Science Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Verizon Center: 0.6 mi
  • Newseum: 0.6 mi
  • United States Botanic Garden: 0.6 mi
  • National Gallery of Art: 0.7 mi
  • Smithsonian American Art Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Library of Congress: 0.7 mi
  • National Museum of the American Indian: 0.7 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • National Museum of American Art: 0.7 mi
  • International Spy Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.8 mi
  • National Archives: 0.8 mi
  • National Air and Space Museum: 0.8 mi
  • National Mall: 0.8 mi
  • Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 0.9 mi
  • Hirshhorn Museum and Sculpture Garden: 0.9 mi
  • National Museum of Natural History: 1 mi
  • Old Post office Pavilion: 1 mi
  • Arts and Industries Building: 1 mi
  • Smithsonian Institution: 1 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 1 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 1.1 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Enid A Haupt Garden: 1.1 mi
  • National Museum of African Art: 1.1 mi
  • L'enfant Plaza: 1.1 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 1.1 mi
  • Ripley Center: 1.1 mi
  • Sackler Gallery: 1.1 mi
  • National Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Arthur M Sackler Gallery: 1.1 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 1.1 mi

Dining

The Dubliner
The Phoenix Park Hotel's world famous Dubliner Restaurant and Pub is one of Capitol Hill's most well-regarded bars. The Dubliner Restaurant and Pub is a favorite for Washingtonians and travelers alike. Known throughout the city for its free-flowing spirits as well as its in-house brewed Irish spirit, the Dubliner offers delicious pub fare, live Irish entertainment 7 nights a week, along with a vast selection of beers and ales- including our very own brew, Old Dubliner Amber Ale. For that after work get together or casual gathering of friends and family, the Dubliner is where genuine Irish cuisine and style prevail.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Phoenix Park Hotel's elegantly appointed conference rooms provide the perfect venue for business conferences, special events or a stunning wedding in Washington DC. We provide guests with hearty Irish breakfasts, gourmet-style lunches, and savory dinners. The Phoenix Park Hotel, one of Capitol Hill's most popular meeting places, offers a total of 5,000 square feet of distinctive banquet and meeting space.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1300

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (157)

Ratings and reviews for Phoenix Park Hotel

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
48 out of 157
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.7

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Phoenix Park Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
mcgrowl!
Business
Boston
Feb 21, 2011

Not many positives

I had reasonable hopes for the Phoenix Park but I'm afraid they were all unmet. I found it a dull, dingy place with a rather sullen staff, dark rooms, dated decor and thin walls. Sticking a 32 inch tv on the wall does not a modern hotel make. I found the breakfast expensive, two eggs, one sausage, one piece of bacon and some potatoes at fourteen dollars was pricey in my view. The location of the hotel was for me rather awkward being a long walk or a cab ride from where i wanted to be, tho that may not apply to everyone. In summary, I wouldn't stay here again, it was soul less, drab and about a hair's breadth from being a complete dive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Phoenix Park Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
mcgrowl!
Business
Boston
Feb 21, 2011

Not many positives

I had reasonable hopes for the Phoenix Park but I'm afraid they were all unmet. I found it a dull, dingy place with a rather sullen staff, dark rooms, dated decor and thin walls. Sticking a 32 inch tv on the wall does not a modern hotel make. I found the breakfast expensive, two eggs, one sausage, one piece of bacon and some potatoes at fourteen dollars was pricey in my view. The location of the hotel was for me rather awkward being a long walk or a cab ride from where i wanted to be, tho that may not apply to everyone. In summary, I wouldn't stay here again, it was soul less, drab and about a hair's breadth from being a complete dive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Phoenix Park Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Katweb
Business
Connecticut, USA
Dec 8, 2011

this phoenix needs to rise from the ashes

I have stayed here since 1998, once or twice a year, and have always liked the location especially, as it is perfect for my work, and I have always found the hotel gracious and comfortable. This trip, the hotel seemed shabby, dingy, in need of sprucing up in a serious way.Has something changed? They are skimping on maintenance and it shows. Disgusting smears on the elevator doors (and a fishy reek as if old public school lunch trays had been transported in the elevators) were a herald of some inadequate maintenance in the room. A hole in the bathroom ceiling, a badly patched heating system grill, imperfect cleaning that left behind undesirable souvenirs of the previous guest.....just not what I was conditioned by my past visits to expect. Ordinary and overpriced breakfast. I may not be back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Phoenix Park Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Teacher John
Business
Philly
Oct 8, 2009

Phoenix Park Hotel, DC

The Parker Phoenix, locationwise, was ideal for my purposes in DC. As soon as I checked in, I had a moment and was in my boxer shorts before my next meeting. A waitstaff knocked then immediately came in. Through no fault of her own, we stood there together, me in my boxers talking about bathroom linens. I told the front desk about this unsettling experience and the gentleman told me not to worry, that the waitstaff didn't mind! The bathroom was clean, for the most part, except for the fact that there were looong hairs on the floor which attached to my foot as I stepped out of the shower. Unfortunate small things that I would expect to not have to worry about given the reputation and price of this particular hotel. Next time, back to the George.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The Dubliner is a passable eating establishment connected to the hotel.

Review of Phoenix Park Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Boer
Business
New York, NY, USA
May 24, 2013

Old building with dirty air ducts

Staff were super friendly, helpful and professional. Woke up with severe allergies and noticed the dirty air vents. Probably an inch of dust...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Phoenix Park Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Teacher John
Business
Philly
Oct 8, 2009

Phoenix Park Hotel, DC

The Parker Phoenix, locationwise, was ideal for my purposes in DC. As soon as I checked in, I had a moment and was in my boxer shorts before my next meeting. A waitstaff knocked then immediately came in. Through no fault of her own, we stood there together, me in my boxers talking about bathroom linens. I told the front desk about this unsettling experience and the gentleman told me not to worry, that the waitstaff didn't mind! The bathroom was clean, for the most part, except for the fact that there were looong hairs on the floor which attached to my foot as I stepped out of the shower. Unfortunate small things that I would expect to not have to worry about given the reputation and price of this particular hotel. Next time, back to the George.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The Dubliner is a passable eating establishment connected to the hotel.

Review of Phoenix Park Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
RBarry
Business
New York, NY, USA
Oct 23, 2011

Perfect for Business Travel

I was very happy with the hotel. Very close to Union Station, walkable to my meetings near the Capital. Great room, if small. Friendly staff. My only two minor problems were: the coffee maker in the room was lousy, and when I went down to breakfast, I was unsure of the seating protocol, and so was ignored by the staff. After a few minutes, I left. Overall, I would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Phoenix Park Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
travel136
Business
DC
Sep 15, 2013

great location, aged decor

The hotel is right in the middle of the government area and next to union station. So if you have meetings or need to get transportation it is very well located. The room was clean but aged. So it had a little bit of an old musty smell. Room service was from an Irish pub on the first floor which limits the menu. I would stay again if the price was right.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The family can have any food they each want at Union Station across the road. There must be 30 or so food selections. At noon each day 15 food trucks line up at the hotel.

Review of Phoenix Park Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Louisville, KY
Nov 1, 2009

Old, But Adequate

You can tell the place has been around a long time. It could use some updates, but overall it was adequate.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Really close to the Capitol.

Review of Phoenix Park Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Louisville, KY
Nov 1, 2009

Old, But Adequate

You can tell the place has been around a long time. It could use some updates, but overall it was adequate.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Really close to the Capitol.

Back to menu Return to top