$139 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 28, 2015 Check-out: Mar 29, 2015

Phoenix Park Hotel

3 stars
View map of 520 North Capitol St. N.W., Washington, DC 20001

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
129 reviews
DC Trip

Great location, excellent value. Very close to major attractions/points of interest. See full review

  • tripleM
  • Mar 10, 2015
Normal Stay

I treated myself to a hotel before I took the Amtrak to FL. My room was adequate and cozy. The view... See full review

  • Kassieme
  • Mar 3, 2015
Relaxing hotel with a touch of Irish hospitality

The Phoenix Park Hotel has a somewhat eclectic history, starting life in the hotel business as a place designed for workers and travelers coming from the nearby Union Station. Originally featuring shared bathrooms, Irish-American entrepreneur Daniel Coleman updated and modernized the Phoenix Park Hotel. The name comes from the iconic Phoenix Park in Dublin, and the hotel strives to do homage to this important piece of Irish history with its gorgeously crafted architecture and decor, including original oil paintings and marble staircase. All guests have access to the notable Irish pub and Dubliner Restaurant, one of Capitol Hill's most respected places to eat and drink. Valet parking is available for a fee.

Reasons to Stay:
  • Combines classic Washington style with distinctive Irish touches

  • Great location just a few blocks from the Smithsonian museums and Capitol Building

  • Popular hotel for weddings, functions, and for visiting politicians and functionaries including Bill Clinton

  • Free Wi-Fi and Wired high speed internet in all public areas
Phoenix Park Hotel Rooms

The Phoenix Park Hotel offers guests rooms with the touch of a distinguished Irish country estate. The classic European styling features patterned wallpapers, dark wood furnishings, and a gentle palette of colors for a sense of refinement and ease. The Phoenix Park Hotel provides amenities produced by Irish companies as often as possible; all rooms feature fine linens, lighting fixtures, custom designed carpeting and toiletries by some of Ireland's most notable companies. Other facilities offered in every room include oversized bath sheets, 32 inch flat screen TV including HD quality, in room safe, two telephones, Irish cotton bathrobes, complementary umbrella, daily newspaper and high speed Internet access (LAN and wireless). Guests can choose from a range of rooms and suites. The basic Superior room with king or queen sized bed allows for a single or couple to stay in comfort. Superior rooms are also available with two beds, making them ideal for groups or families. Free Wi-Fi and Wired high speed internet is also provided.

Things to Do:
  • Union Station (1 block)

  • U.S. Capitol Building (2 blocks)

  • Smithsonian Museums (4 blocks)

  • Verizon Center (5 blocks)

  • Library of Congress (1mi/1.6km)

  • White House (2.6mi/4.2km)

Policies and fees
  • Valet parking fee is $50 USD per including tax.
  • Check in 15.00
  • Check out 13.00

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Phoenix Park Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Phoenix Park Hotel Rooms

Superior - One King Bed
One King bed with 300 thread-count Egyptian Cotton Linens and plush pillow top mattress; oversized bath towels; Irish cotton bath robes; award-winning Galanta Irish amenities; iron and ironing board; bedside radio/alarm clock; two-speed hair dryer; 2 telephones with voicemail; wireless and wired internet access at no charge; safe; coffee maker; 32" Flat Screen TV with HD programming; pay per view movies; umbrellas, in-room safe, express check-out capability. 2 telephones/ 2 direct lines with voicemail Coffee maker 32" Flat Screen TV with HD Programming Pay per view movies Umbrellas In room safes Express check-out capability
Superior - One Queen Bed
One Queen Bed, plush pillowtop mattress, 32" HD flat panel TV, Wireless and wired Internet access at no charge, Safe, Terry cloth bathrobes, Umbrella, Irish toiletries.
Superior - Two Double Beds
Two double beds, plush pillowtop mattress, 32" HD flat panel TV, wireless and wired internet access at no charge, Safe, Terry cloth bathrobes, Umbrella, Irish toiletries.
Superior - One Full Bed
Luxurious guest room with one full bed, plush Simmons Beautyrest pillow top mattresses, 32" HD flat panel TV, complimentary high speed and wireless internet, in-room safe, Terry cloth bathrobe, Irish toiletries and newspaper.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest
Ramp access to buildings
Knock light (hearing impaired)
Brailled elevators

Nearby points of interest

  • National Postal Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Union Station: 0.2 mi
  • Columbus Memorial Fountain: 0.2 mi
  • Folger Shakespeare Library: 0.4 mi
  • Capital Children's Museum: 0.4 mi
  • National Building Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Peace Monument: 0.5 mi
  • Judiciary Square: 0.5 mi
  • United States Capitol: 0.5 mi
  • United States Supreme Court: 0.5 mi
  • Koshland Science Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Verizon Center: 0.6 mi
  • Newseum: 0.6 mi
  • United States Botanic Garden: 0.6 mi
  • National Gallery of Art: 0.7 mi
  • National Postal Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Union Station: 0.2 mi
  • Columbus Memorial Fountain: 0.2 mi
  • Folger Shakespeare Library: 0.4 mi
  • Capital Children's Museum: 0.4 mi
  • National Building Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Peace Monument: 0.5 mi
  • Judiciary Square: 0.5 mi
  • United States Capitol: 0.5 mi
  • United States Supreme Court: 0.5 mi
  • Koshland Science Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Verizon Center: 0.6 mi
  • Newseum: 0.6 mi
  • United States Botanic Garden: 0.6 mi
  • National Gallery of Art: 0.7 mi
  • Smithsonian American Art Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Library of Congress: 0.7 mi
  • National Museum of the American Indian: 0.7 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • National Museum of American Art: 0.7 mi
  • International Spy Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.8 mi
  • National Archives: 0.8 mi
  • National Air and Space Museum: 0.8 mi
  • National Mall: 0.8 mi
  • Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 0.9 mi
  • Hirshhorn Museum and Sculpture Garden: 0.9 mi
  • National Museum of Natural History: 1 mi
  • Old Post office Pavilion: 1 mi
  • Arts and Industries Building: 1 mi
  • Smithsonian Institution: 1 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 1 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 1.1 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Enid A Haupt Garden: 1.1 mi
  • National Museum of African Art: 1.1 mi
  • L'enfant Plaza: 1.1 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 1.1 mi
  • Ripley Center: 1.1 mi
  • Sackler Gallery: 1.1 mi
  • National Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Arthur M Sackler Gallery: 1.1 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 1.1 mi

Dining

The Dubliner
The Phoenix Park Hotel's world famous Dubliner Restaurant and Pub is one of Capitol Hill's most well-regarded bars. The Dubliner Restaurant and Pub is a favorite for Washingtonians and travelers alike. Known throughout the city for its free-flowing spirits as well as its in-house brewed Irish spirit, the Dubliner offers delicious pub fare, live Irish entertainment 7 nights a week, along with a vast selection of beers and ales- including our very own brew, Old Dubliner Amber Ale. For that after work get together or casual gathering of friends and family, the Dubliner is where genuine Irish cuisine and style prevail.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Phoenix Park Hotel's elegantly appointed conference rooms provide the perfect venue for business conferences, special events or a stunning wedding in Washington DC. We provide guests with hearty Irish breakfasts, gourmet-style lunches, and savory dinners. The Phoenix Park Hotel, one of Capitol Hill's most popular meeting places, offers a total of 5,000 square feet of distinctive banquet and meeting space.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
1:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Phoenix Park Hotel

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
17 out of 129
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.8

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Phoenix Park Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jimjoe
Business
Boston, Massachusetts
Aug 19, 2013

Family Vacation

The hotel is in a great location to Union Station, which allows you a central point to move throughout the area by bus, metro or other. The hotel is old and small but clean and the staff is very helpful. I would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

7th street is where most of the good dinning was found.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Phoenix Park Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Haley'sSuperMom
Business
Yonkers, NY
Aug 2, 2010

Awesome mom & daughter getaway

Great service, friendly & helpful staff, my daughter and I both enjoyed the accomodations!! Great location and I could not ask for anything better!!! Will definitely reccommend as well as visit once again!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Phoenix Park Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
zhangce
Business
Richmond, VA
May 12, 2014

Excellent location

Nice clean hotel in excellent location, walking distance to US capitol, senate etc. best deal ever in downtown DC

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Phoenix Park Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
CT
Dec 18, 2010

Simply the Best

I am a traveling Mom. Seems I always get to drive to drop off one of my daughters. I booked this hotel because of its location. I loved it. I did not want to pay $40 to park so I parked at Union Station. The beds were the most comfortable I have slept in. I went down stairs to the restaurant and had a great meal of fish and chips. I want to go back just to enjoy Washington DC. The location can not be beat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Easy to just go to Union Station for Breakfast. Metro is right there as well as walking distance to the Capitol.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Phoenix Park Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Monte
Business
Sacramento, CA, USA
Aug 22, 2011

Long weekend getaway

Very comfortable beds and pillows. Towels and robes were extremely nice.. This is an old hotel and the room we had was a little on the small side but all in all a very nice hotel that is about 2 blocks from union station, a short walk(1/2 mile to a mile) to the capital. There is only one downside to the hotel is there were sirens at night so if you're a light sleeper this may pose a problem. All in all I thought this was a great hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

If you are going to use a Hop on/ hop off Tour bus use the red ones( i Believe the company is open top tours0. they are a little more expensive but they have air conditioning on th bottom and are much nicer buses than the blue ones( I believe the are called bouble decker tours).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Phoenix Park Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Diego, CA
May 21, 2009

Cozy

Near Union Station and Chinatown. We visited the National Mall, all monuments and memorials, many museums, Ford's Theatre, the Nationals ballpark and Georgetown University. We enjoyed adding the Phoenix Park to our list of visited historical hotels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Union Station a great place to have breakfast. We were suprised to find wonderful Spanish Topas in Chinatown.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Phoenix Park Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dish from trish
Business
Dallas, PA
Apr 28, 2014

pleasant experience

Found the place to be in a great location for the DC run. The room was very comfortable. The staff was very accommodating and pleasant. Wished there was better parking as I thought 50 per day for valet parking was over the top.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

To the DC sights like the memorials, monuments and capital , it was a nice walk. It was a drive to the nightlife.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Phoenix Park Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington, DC
Jun 9, 2009

Hotel stay

Just slept there...no pool, ect. Bar and resturant dowgnstairs was nice......food was good. Place really requires soundproof windows on the capitol street side and over the bar outside area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Most of the attractions are walking distance from each other. About a $11.00 taxi ride would be average.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Phoenix Park Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Wisconsin
Apr 20, 2009

This is a great hotel!

We loved our room -4 poster beds with flat screen tv We walked to Smithsoneon, Supreme Ct, Capitol and took metro--all easy The hotel stored our bags after check out so we could tour A delightful experience!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great food court at Union Station--and good shopping

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Phoenix Park Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Denver Colorado
Aug 1, 2009

Nice and Cozy

The location was great!!! Just a short walk to the Metro. Capitol is just an easy 5 minute walk. Staff was very helpful. They knew alot about how to get around without having to spend to much. Only one bad thing, the price of breakfast at the hotel is WAY to over priced for what you get. I would walk to Union Station(metro) and eat 3 times the amount of food for 4 times less then what we paid at the hotel. Other then that I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk to Union Station to eat and to get around for cheap.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top