$118 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 10, 2015 Check-out: Jul 11, 2015

Phoenix Park Hotel

3 stars
View map of 520 North Capitol St. N.W., Washington, DC 20001

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
141 reviews
Great for a weekend trip

This hotel was great for a no-frills weekend trip to D.C. The room, though small was very clean... See full review

  • Gracie T.
  • Apr 10, 2015
DC Trip

Great location, excellent value. Very close to major attractions/points of interest. See full review

  • tripleM
  • Mar 10, 2015

The Phoenix Park Hotel has a somewhat eclectic history, starting life in the hotel business as a place designed for workers and travelers coming from the nearby Union Station. Originally featuring shared bathrooms, Irish-American entrepreneur Daniel Coleman updated and modernized the Phoenix Park Hotel. The name comes from the iconic Phoenix Park in Dublin, and the hotel strives to do homage to this important piece of Irish history with its gorgeously crafted architecture and decor, including original oil paintings and marble staircase. All guests have access to the notable Irish pub and Dubliner Restaurant, one of Capitol Hill's most respected places to eat and drink. Valet parking is available for a fee.

Rooms

The Phoenix Park Hotel offers guests rooms with the touch of a distinguished Irish country estate. The classic European styling features patterned wallpapers, dark wood furnishings, and a gentle palette of colors for a sense of refinement and ease. The Phoenix Park Hotel provides amenities produced by Irish companies as often as possible; all rooms feature fine linens, lighting fixtures, custom designed carpeting and toiletries by some of Ireland's most notable companies. Other facilities offered in every room include oversized bath sheets, 32 inch flat screen TV including HD quality, in room safe, two telephones, Irish cotton bathrobes, complementary umbrella, daily newspaper and high speed Internet access (LAN and wireless). Guests can choose from a range of rooms and suites. The basic Superior room with king or queen sized bed allows for a single or couple to stay in comfort. Superior rooms are also available with two beds, making them ideal for groups or families. Free Wi-Fi and Wired high speed internet is also provided.

Highlights
  • Combines classic Washington style with distinctive Irish touches

  • Great location just a few blocks from the Smithsonian museums and Capitol Building

  • Popular hotel for weddings, functions, and for visiting politicians and functionaries including Bill Clinton

  • Free Wi-Fi and Wired high speed internet in all public areas
Nearby attractions
  • Union Station (1 block)

  • U.S. Capitol Building (2 blocks)

  • Smithsonian Museums (4 blocks)

  • Verizon Center (5 blocks)

  • Library of Congress (1mi/1.6km)

  • White House (2.6mi/4.2km)

Policies
  • Valet parking fee is $50 USD per including tax.
  • Check in 15.00
  • Check out 13.00

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Phoenix Park Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Phoenix Park Hotel Rooms

Superior - One King Bed
One King bed with 300 thread-count Egyptian Cotton Linens and plush pillow top mattress; oversized bath towels; Irish cotton bath robes; award-winning Galanta Irish amenities; iron and ironing board; bedside radio/alarm clock; two-speed hair dryer; 2 telephones with voicemail; wireless and wired internet access at no charge; safe; coffee maker; 32" Flat Screen TV with HD programming; pay per view movies; umbrellas, in-room safe, express check-out capability. 2 telephones/ 2 direct lines with voicemail Coffee maker 32" Flat Screen TV with HD Programming Pay per view movies Umbrellas In room safes Express check-out capability
Superior - One Queen Bed
One Queen Bed, plush pillowtop mattress, 32" HD flat panel TV, Wireless and wired Internet access at no charge, Safe, Terry cloth bathrobes, Umbrella, Irish toiletries.
Superior - Two Double Beds
Two double beds, plush pillowtop mattress, 32" HD flat panel TV, wireless and wired internet access at no charge, Safe, Terry cloth bathrobes, Umbrella, Irish toiletries.
Superior - One Full Bed
Luxurious guest room with one full bed, plush Simmons Beautyrest pillow top mattresses, 32" HD flat panel TV, complimentary high speed and wireless internet, in-room safe, Terry cloth bathrobe, Irish toiletries and newspaper.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest
Ramp access to buildings
Knock light (hearing impaired)
Brailled elevators

Nearby points of interest

  • National Postal Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Union Station: 0.2 mi
  • Columbus Memorial Fountain: 0.2 mi
  • Folger Shakespeare Library: 0.4 mi
  • Capital Children's Museum: 0.4 mi
  • National Building Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Peace Monument: 0.5 mi
  • Judiciary Square: 0.5 mi
  • United States Capitol: 0.5 mi
  • United States Supreme Court: 0.5 mi
  • Koshland Science Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Verizon Center: 0.6 mi
  • Newseum: 0.6 mi
  • United States Botanic Garden: 0.6 mi
  • National Gallery of Art: 0.7 mi
  • National Postal Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Union Station: 0.2 mi
  • Columbus Memorial Fountain: 0.2 mi
  • Folger Shakespeare Library: 0.4 mi
  • Capital Children's Museum: 0.4 mi
  • National Building Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Peace Monument: 0.5 mi
  • Judiciary Square: 0.5 mi
  • United States Capitol: 0.5 mi
  • United States Supreme Court: 0.5 mi
  • Koshland Science Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Verizon Center: 0.6 mi
  • Newseum: 0.6 mi
  • United States Botanic Garden: 0.6 mi
  • National Gallery of Art: 0.7 mi
  • Smithsonian American Art Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Library of Congress: 0.7 mi
  • National Museum of the American Indian: 0.7 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • National Museum of American Art: 0.7 mi
  • International Spy Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.8 mi
  • National Archives: 0.8 mi
  • National Air and Space Museum: 0.8 mi
  • National Mall: 0.8 mi
  • Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 0.9 mi
  • Hirshhorn Museum and Sculpture Garden: 0.9 mi
  • National Museum of Natural History: 1 mi
  • Old Post office Pavilion: 1 mi
  • Arts and Industries Building: 1 mi
  • Smithsonian Institution: 1 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 1 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 1.1 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Enid A Haupt Garden: 1.1 mi
  • National Museum of African Art: 1.1 mi
  • L'enfant Plaza: 1.1 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 1.1 mi
  • Ripley Center: 1.1 mi
  • Sackler Gallery: 1.1 mi
  • National Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Arthur M Sackler Gallery: 1.1 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 1.1 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Phoenix Park Hotel's elegantly appointed conference rooms provide the perfect venue for business conferences, special events or a stunning wedding in Washington DC. We provide guests with hearty Irish breakfasts, gourmet-style lunches, and savory dinners. The Phoenix Park Hotel, one of Capitol Hill's most popular meeting places, offers a total of 5,000 square feet of distinctive banquet and meeting space.

Dining

The Dubliner
The Phoenix Park Hotel's world famous Dubliner Restaurant and Pub is one of Capitol Hill's most well-regarded bars. The Dubliner Restaurant and Pub is a favorite for Washingtonians and travelers alike. Known throughout the city for its free-flowing spirits as well as its in-house brewed Irish spirit, the Dubliner offers delicious pub fare, live Irish entertainment 7 nights a week, along with a vast selection of beers and ales- including our very own brew, Old Dubliner Amber Ale. For that after work get together or casual gathering of friends and family, the Dubliner is where genuine Irish cuisine and style prevail.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
1:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Phoenix Park Hotel

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
46 out of 141
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.1

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Phoenix Park Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MIke and Cathy
Business
Santa Clarita Calif
Jul 13, 2012

This is the one to go to

Rooms are a little small but everything else is great. You can not beat the location!! One block from AM Track, we had dinner every night at the train station. This station is a first class shopping center. All the tour groups start from there and getting around on public transportation was easy, even a car rentals right there. I expected a smaller room but it was not bad at all. If I go to DC again, This is the place!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Save money, eat at the train stations. They have all kinds of diffrent foods. Some of the food places only take cash. But the food is good, and you are very safe with all the security & people there.

Review of Phoenix Park Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
chinesetrojan
Business
new york city
Oct 9, 2012

good place

it is convenient and warm service. because it is located near the union station of washington DC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Phoenix Park Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Flagstaffians
Business
Flagstaff, AZ
Sep 9, 2009

Phoenix Park Hotel

We loved our stay at this hotel. The staff was very nice and the rooms were very clean. We loved the Irish touch. The Dubliner Restaurant was amazing! We highly recommend the Eva's open Faced Salmon Sandwich and the Monte Cristo Sandwich.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Phoenix Park Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
new york, ny
Jun 20, 2011

Loved It

We were coming in from NY on a very late train and wanted something that was convenient and this hotel was a very short walk. We had a great experience here, the hotel is beautiful, very well appointed, very quaint & charming. The bed was AMAZING. The room was a good size, although the bathroom was on the small side. We didn't experience any noise issues at all, although after reading other reviews I did ask for a a "quiet room" ahead of time. We had brunch in the restaurant downstairs and it was great. When we got back from a very busy day we wanted a nice dinner that we didn't have to take a cab to and we found Bistro Bis around the corner. It was superb and a 3 minute walk, which was perfect. Great experience overall.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Phoenix Park Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Antonio
Jul 31, 2011

nice room and good location

the hotel just few blocks to the capitol hill. it is very convenient.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Phoenix Park Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Brooklyn, NY
Jul 8, 2009

A pleasant surprise

Cute little hotel, recently remodeled, best hotel bed I've ever slept in. Great view of Capitol from middle of street in front of the hotel. Short walking distance to Capitol and Supreme Court, near Union Station and Metro and right on the Cirulator bus line, where for $1 you can ride to Georgetown and other interesting places. Will stay there again next time in DC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Phoenix Park Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Columbus, OH
Apr 30, 2007

Wonderful First Visit to DC

My husband and I enjoy staying at historic hotels and the Phoenix Park Hotel was a gem! We are in our 50-60's and neither one had been to DC. We have a nephew who lives there, so this was a wonderful opportunity to visit him and our Nation's Capitaol. We arrived at the Hotel at 9:30 in the morning, and they had a room available immediately. In fact, upon asking if we could have a room with a view of the Capitol, there was not one available, however, we were provided with a King bed room facing the Postal Museum on the 6th floor, which beat looking into an alley. It was beautiful. The bed was extremely soft with its pillow-top mattess and down mattress cover and down pillows. It is refreshing to stay in a Hotel that is not a cookie-cutter Hotel. The only slight problem that we had was the noice from the beer garden of the Dubliner below our room. Apparently DC bars stay open very late into the night and the partying goes on well into the morning -- past 3:00 AM. I did end up turning the air condition temperature back and the fan on high to drown out the noise. The food at the Dubliner was very good and reasonably priced. We plan to return to DC next spring, and more than likely will stay at the Phoenix. The location is extremely convenient to the National Mall, Museums, Union Station, etc. I have already recommended it to a couple of friends of ours who will be visiting DC this summer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Phoenix Park Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New Hamphire
Jan 17, 2011

Phoenix park hotel

Great experience

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Phoenix Park Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Amanda from Gettysburg.
Business
Gettysburg PA
Jun 30, 2014

Comfortable beds.

Location great! Staff wonderful. Bed bed I have ever slept in at a hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Phoenix Park Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Traveling Man 14
Business
Virginia
Jul 21, 2014

Great location and staff

Stayed a Saturday night and decided to stay over another night and staff was very accommodating. Parked at Union Station and made the easy walk to the hotel. Nice room that faced away from the main streets so it was fairly quiet. My wife really liked the decor. It's an older hotel but has been very well maintained. I highly recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Park at Union Station and walk to hotel. Parking is less than half.

Back to menu Return to top