$119 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 19, 2014 Check-out: Jul 20, 2014

Phoenix Park Hotel

3 stars
520 North Capitol St. N.W., Washington, DC 20001
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
155 reviews
Comfortable beds.

Location great! Staff wonderful. Bed bed I have ever slept in at a hotel. See full review

  • Amanda from Gettysburg.
  • Jun 30, 2014
An Excellent Choice

Although I was there for just one night on business, I really liked this hotel. It's not a modern,... See full review

  • perlfoto
  • Jun 21, 2014
Relaxing hotel with a touch of Irish hospitality

The Phoenix Park Hotel has a somewhat eclectic history, starting life in the hotel business as a place designed for workers and travelers coming from the nearby Union Station. Originally featuring shared bathrooms, Irish-American entrepreneur Daniel Coleman updated and modernized the Phoenix Park Hotel. The name comes from the iconic Phoenix Park in Dublin, and the hotel strives to do homage to this important piece of Irish history with its gorgeously crafted architecture and decor, including original oil paintings and marble staircase. All guests have access to the notable Irish pub and Dubliner Restaurant, one of Capitol Hill's most respected places to eat and drink. Valet parking is available for a fee.

Reasons to Stay:
  • Combines classic Washington style with distinctive Irish touches

  • Great location just a few blocks from the Smithsonian museums and Capitol Building

  • Popular hotel for weddings, functions, and for visiting politicians and functionaries including Bill Clinton

  • Free Wi-Fi and Wired high speed internet in all public areas
Phoenix Park Hotel Rooms

The Phoenix Park Hotel offers guests rooms with the touch of a distinguished Irish country estate. The classic European styling features patterned wallpapers, dark wood furnishings, and a gentle palette of colors for a sense of refinement and ease. The Phoenix Park Hotel provides amenities produced by Irish companies as often as possible; all rooms feature fine linens, lighting fixtures, custom designed carpeting and toiletries by some of Ireland's most notable companies. Other facilities offered in every room include oversized bath sheets, 32 inch flat screen TV including HD quality, in room safe, two telephones, Irish cotton bathrobes, complementary umbrella, daily newspaper and high speed Internet access (LAN and wireless). Guests can choose from a range of rooms and suites. The basic Superior room with king or queen sized bed allows for a single or couple to stay in comfort. Superior rooms are also available with two beds, making them ideal for groups or families. Free Wi-Fi and Wired high speed internet is also provided.

Things to Do:
  • Union Station (1 block)

  • U.S. Capitol Building (2 blocks)

  • Smithsonian Museums (4 blocks)

  • Verizon Center (5 blocks)

  • Library of Congress (1mi/1.6km)

  • White House (2.6mi/4.2km)

Policies and fees
  • Valet parking fee is $50 USD per day plus tax.
  • Check in 15.00
  • Check out 13.00

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

38.8971 -77.0095
Area served
On Capitol Hill, one block from Union Station and two block from the U.S. Capitol.
Nearby airports
Reagan National Airport - 6 miles Dulles International Airport Baltimore Washington Airport
Area description
The Phoenix Park Hotel is just one block from Union Station which houses the Metro and Train Station, as well as, an upscale shopping center, food court, and a multi-cinema complex. This Washington D.C. hotel is situated at the corner of North Capitol and F Street. The U.S. Capitol Building is located two short blocks from the entrance of Phoenix Park Hotel. We are located right across the street from the National Guard offices and the historical Postal Museum. The Phoenix Park Hotel is centrally located for business and leisure travelers alike. Area Information around the hotel: 1 block from Union Station / Metro 2 blocks from U.S. Capitol Building 3 blocks from the Mall 4 blocks from Smithsonian Museums 5 blocks from MCI Center 8 blocks from Washington Convention Center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Phoenix Park Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Phoenix Park Hotel Rooms

Superior - One King Bed
One King bed with 300 thread-count Egyptian Cotton Linens and plush pillow top mattress; oversized bath towels; Irish cotton bath robes; award-winning Galanta Irish amenities; iron and ironing board; bedside radio/alarm clock; two-speed hair dryer; 2 telephones with voicemail; wireless and wired internet access at no charge; safe; coffee maker; 32" Flat Screen TV with HD programming; pay per view movies; umbrellas, in-room safe, express check-out capability. 2 telephones/ 2 direct lines with voicemail Coffee maker 32" Flat Screen TV with HD Programming Pay per view movies Umbrellas In room safes Express check-out capability
Superior - One Queen Bed
One Queen Bed, plush pillowtop mattress, 32" HD flat panel TV, Wireless and wired Internet access at no charge, Safe, Terry cloth bathrobes, Umbrella, Irish toiletries.
Superior - Two Double Beds
Two double beds, plush pillowtop mattress, 32" HD flat panel TV, wireless and wired internet access at no charge, Safe, Terry cloth bathrobes, Umbrella, Irish toiletries.
Superior - One Full Bed
Luxurious guest room with one full bed, plush Simmons Beautyrest pillow top mattresses, 32" HD flat panel TV, complimentary high speed and wireless internet, in-room safe, Terry cloth bathrobe, Irish toiletries and newspaper.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest
Ramp access to buildings
Knock light (hearing impaired)
Brailled elevators

Nearby points of interest

  • National Postal Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Union Station: 0.2 mi
  • Columbus Memorial Fountain: 0.2 mi
  • Folger Shakespeare Library: 0.4 mi
  • Capital Children's Museum: 0.4 mi
  • National Building Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Peace Monument: 0.5 mi
  • Judiciary Square: 0.5 mi
  • United States Capitol: 0.5 mi
  • United States Supreme Court: 0.5 mi
  • Koshland Science Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Verizon Center: 0.6 mi
  • Newseum: 0.6 mi
  • United States Botanic Garden: 0.6 mi
  • National Gallery of Art: 0.7 mi
  • National Postal Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Union Station: 0.2 mi
  • Columbus Memorial Fountain: 0.2 mi
  • Folger Shakespeare Library: 0.4 mi
  • Capital Children's Museum: 0.4 mi
  • National Building Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Peace Monument: 0.5 mi
  • Judiciary Square: 0.5 mi
  • United States Capitol: 0.5 mi
  • United States Supreme Court: 0.5 mi
  • Koshland Science Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Verizon Center: 0.6 mi
  • Newseum: 0.6 mi
  • United States Botanic Garden: 0.6 mi
  • National Gallery of Art: 0.7 mi
  • Smithsonian American Art Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Library of Congress: 0.7 mi
  • National Museum of the American Indian: 0.7 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • National Museum of American Art: 0.7 mi
  • International Spy Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.8 mi
  • National Archives: 0.8 mi
  • National Air and Space Museum: 0.8 mi
  • National Mall: 0.8 mi
  • Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 0.9 mi
  • Hirshhorn Museum and Sculpture Garden: 0.9 mi
  • National Museum of Natural History: 1 mi
  • Old Post office Pavilion: 1 mi
  • Arts and Industries Building: 1 mi
  • Smithsonian Institution: 1 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 1 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 1.1 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Enid A Haupt Garden: 1.1 mi
  • National Museum of African Art: 1.1 mi
  • L'enfant Plaza: 1.1 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 1.1 mi
  • Ripley Center: 1.1 mi
  • Sackler Gallery: 1.1 mi
  • National Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Arthur M Sackler Gallery: 1.1 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 1.1 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Phoenix Park Hotel's elegantly appointed conference rooms provide the perfect venue for business conferences, special events or a stunning wedding in Washington DC. We provide guests with hearty Irish breakfasts, gourmet-style lunches, and savory dinners. The Phoenix Park Hotel, one of Capitol Hill's most popular meeting places, offers a total of 5,000 square feet of distinctive banquet and meeting space.

Dining

The Dubliner
The Phoenix Park Hotel's world famous Dubliner Restaurant and Pub is one of Capitol Hill's most well-regarded bars. The Dubliner Restaurant and Pub is a favorite for Washingtonians and travelers alike. Known throughout the city for its free-flowing spirits as well as its in-house brewed Irish spirit, the Dubliner offers delicious pub fare, live Irish entertainment 7 nights a week, along with a vast selection of beers and ales- including our very own brew, Old Dubliner Amber Ale. For that after work get together or casual gathering of friends and family, the Dubliner is where genuine Irish cuisine and style prevail.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1300

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (155)

Ratings and reviews for Phoenix Park Hotel

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
155 out of 155
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.9

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Phoenix Park Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Louisville, KY
Apr 1, 2010

Top quality hotel at a reasonable rate

Everythibg good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Phoenix Park Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Peherwood
New York, NY
Jan 17, 2011

Phoenix Park Hotel, Washington DC

Located so close to Union Station, the Phoenix Park was a perfect hotel for my stay in DC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

The Dubliner restaurant is awesome. A real Irish pub.

Review of Phoenix Park Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Newton, MA
Jul 15, 2008

My review of Phoenix Park Hotel

small but comfortable room, excellent location

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

one block from Union Station

Review of Phoenix Park Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Flagstaffians
Flagstaff, AZ
Sep 9, 2009

Phoenix Park Hotel

We loved our stay at this hotel. The staff was very nice and the rooms were very clean. We loved the Irish touch. The Dubliner Restaurant was amazing! We highly recommend the Eva's open Faced Salmon Sandwich and the Monte Cristo Sandwich.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Phoenix Park Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Monte
Sacramento, CA, USA
Aug 22, 2011

Long weekend getaway

Very comfortable beds and pillows. Towels and robes were extremely nice.. This is an old hotel and the room we had was a little on the small side but all in all a very nice hotel that is about 2 blocks from union station, a short walk(1/2 mile to a mile) to the capital. There is only one downside to the hotel is there were sirens at night so if you're a light sleeper this may pose a problem. All in all I thought this was a great hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

If you are going to use a Hop on/ hop off Tour bus use the red ones( i Believe the company is open top tours0. they are a little more expensive but they have air conditioning on th bottom and are much nicer buses than the blue ones( I believe the are called bouble decker tours).

Review of Phoenix Park Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Amanda from Gettysburg.
Gettysburg PA
Jun 30, 2014

Comfortable beds.

Location great! Staff wonderful. Bed bed I have ever slept in at a hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Phoenix Park Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Della Ware
Auckland, New Zealand
Jan 5, 2014

A too-short break

The Phoenix Park was recommended to me because of its proximity to Union Station. Needing only a convenient stopover, I thoroughly enjoyed the unexpected pleasure of an elegant, comfortable room and a delicious meal at the Dubliner.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

Dine in! The Dubliner Pub has great food, drink and atmosphere.

Review of Phoenix Park Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
new york, ny
Jun 20, 2011

Loved It

We were coming in from NY on a very late train and wanted something that was convenient and this hotel was a very short walk. We had a great experience here, the hotel is beautiful, very well appointed, very quaint & charming. The bed was AMAZING. The room was a good size, although the bathroom was on the small side. We didn't experience any noise issues at all, although after reading other reviews I did ask for a a "quiet room" ahead of time. We had brunch in the restaurant downstairs and it was great. When we got back from a very busy day we wanted a nice dinner that we didn't have to take a cab to and we found Bistro Bis around the corner. It was superb and a 3 minute walk, which was perfect. Great experience overall.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Phoenix Park Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Peherwood
New York, NY
Jan 17, 2011

Phoenix Park Hotel, Washington DC

Located so close to Union Station, the Phoenix Park was a perfect hotel for my stay in DC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

The Dubliner restaurant is awesome. A real Irish pub.

Review of Phoenix Park Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Haley'sSuperMom
Yonkers, NY
Aug 2, 2010

Awesome mom & daughter getaway

Great service, friendly & helpful staff, my daughter and I both enjoyed the accomodations!! Great location and I could not ask for anything better!!! Will definitely reccommend as well as visit once again!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top