$143 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 24, 2015 Check-out: Apr 25, 2015

Phoenix Park Hotel

3 stars
View map of 520 North Capitol St. N.W., Washington, DC 20001

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Phoenix Park Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
129 out of 129
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Phoenix Park Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
new york, ny
Jun 20, 2011

Loved It

We were coming in from NY on a very late train and wanted something that was convenient and this hotel was a very short walk. We had a great experience here, the hotel is beautiful, very well appointed, very quaint & charming. The bed was AMAZING. The room was a good size, although the bathroom was on the small side. We didn't experience any noise issues at all, although after reading other reviews I did ask for a a "quiet room" ahead of time. We had brunch in the restaurant downstairs and it was great. When we got back from a very busy day we wanted a nice dinner that we didn't have to take a cab to and we found Bistro Bis around the corner. It was superb and a 3 minute walk, which was perfect. Great experience overall.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Phoenix Park Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ms. Biz
Business
Beverly Hills, CA
Apr 25, 2009

Why Stay Anywhere Else in DC?

Lovely, comfortable, elegant room. Helpful staff. Relaxing restaurant. Perfect location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Phoenix Park Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Antonio
Jul 31, 2011

nice room and good location

the hotel just few blocks to the capitol hill. it is very convenient.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Phoenix Park Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Brooklyn, NY
Jul 8, 2009

A pleasant surprise

Cute little hotel, recently remodeled, best hotel bed I've ever slept in. Great view of Capitol from middle of street in front of the hotel. Short walking distance to Capitol and Supreme Court, near Union Station and Metro and right on the Cirulator bus line, where for $1 you can ride to Georgetown and other interesting places. Will stay there again next time in DC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Phoenix Park Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Columbus, OH
Apr 30, 2007

Wonderful First Visit to DC

My husband and I enjoy staying at historic hotels and the Phoenix Park Hotel was a gem! We are in our 50-60's and neither one had been to DC. We have a nephew who lives there, so this was a wonderful opportunity to visit him and our Nation's Capitaol. We arrived at the Hotel at 9:30 in the morning, and they had a room available immediately. In fact, upon asking if we could have a room with a view of the Capitol, there was not one available, however, we were provided with a King bed room facing the Postal Museum on the 6th floor, which beat looking into an alley. It was beautiful. The bed was extremely soft with its pillow-top mattess and down mattress cover and down pillows. It is refreshing to stay in a Hotel that is not a cookie-cutter Hotel. The only slight problem that we had was the noice from the beer garden of the Dubliner below our room. Apparently DC bars stay open very late into the night and the partying goes on well into the morning -- past 3:00 AM. I did end up turning the air condition temperature back and the fan on high to drown out the noise. The food at the Dubliner was very good and reasonably priced. We plan to return to DC next spring, and more than likely will stay at the Phoenix. The location is extremely convenient to the National Mall, Museums, Union Station, etc. I have already recommended it to a couple of friends of ours who will be visiting DC this summer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Phoenix Park Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
perlfoto
Business
Oakdale, NY
Jun 21, 2014

An Excellent Choice

Although I was there for just one night on business, I really liked this hotel. It's not a modern, glitzy facility. In fact, it's in the National Register of Historic Hotels. My room, a standard king, was small but certainly not claustrophobic. The bed and bedding were extremely comfortable and most every amenity one could expect was provided: terry cloth robe, large, fluffy towels, coffee maker, umbrella, hair dryer, etc. The bathroom was modern and spotless and there was plenty of hot water and water pressure. The A/C worked great which is really important in DC in the summer. The front desk, lobby and housekeeping staff were uniformly welcoming, cordial and helpful. The location is terrific, literally one block from Union Station. I really have nothing but praise to offer. I did not have a car, but I did notice that the valet parking was a bit pricey: $50 per night. Given the location, perhaps that shouldn't be a surprise. Overall, highly recommended and I would certainly stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Union Station just one block away. Great for Amtrak travelers.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Phoenix Park Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Amanda from Gettysburg.
Business
Gettysburg PA
Jun 30, 2014

Comfortable beds.

Location great! Staff wonderful. Bed bed I have ever slept in at a hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Phoenix Park Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Traveling Man 14
Business
Virginia
Jul 21, 2014

Great location and staff

Stayed a Saturday night and decided to stay over another night and staff was very accommodating. Parked at Union Station and made the easy walk to the hotel. Nice room that faced away from the main streets so it was fairly quiet. My wife really liked the decor. It's an older hotel but has been very well maintained. I highly recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Park at Union Station and walk to hotel. Parking is less than half.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Phoenix Park Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Apgrad
Business
Miami,fl
Sep 6, 2014

A great weekend

Perfect hotel and for me it look like a 4 star hotel. Awesome location almost next to Union Station. The Capitol was close and the rest of the museums was about 2 miles so you could walk. The room was super clean and comfortable. Staff super friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Union station ( from tours to food everything was there)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Phoenix Park Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Joonggun
Business
Ireland
Oct 22, 2014

Excellent hotel

Excellent hotel with great location. Close to all the sites. Good food in the pub with friendly staff

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top