$149 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 27, 2014 Check-out: Sep 28, 2014

Phoenix Park Hotel

3 stars
520 North Capitol St. N.W., Washington, DC 20001
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
115 reviews
A great weekend

Perfect hotel and for me it look like a 4 star hotel. Awesome location almost next to Union... See full review

  • Apgrad
  • Sep 6, 2014
Great location and staff

Stayed a Saturday night and decided to stay over another night and staff was very accommodating.... See full review

  • Traveling Man 14
  • Jul 21, 2014
Relaxing hotel with a touch of Irish hospitality

The Phoenix Park Hotel has a somewhat eclectic history, starting life in the hotel business as a place designed for workers and travelers coming from the nearby Union Station. Originally featuring shared bathrooms, Irish-American entrepreneur Daniel Coleman updated and modernized the Phoenix Park Hotel. The name comes from the iconic Phoenix Park in Dublin, and the hotel strives to do homage to this important piece of Irish history with its gorgeously crafted architecture and decor, including original oil paintings and marble staircase. All guests have access to the notable Irish pub and Dubliner Restaurant, one of Capitol Hill's most respected places to eat and drink. Valet parking is available for a fee.

Reasons to Stay:
  • Combines classic Washington style with distinctive Irish touches

  • Great location just a few blocks from the Smithsonian museums and Capitol Building

  • Popular hotel for weddings, functions, and for visiting politicians and functionaries including Bill Clinton

  • Free Wi-Fi and Wired high speed internet in all public areas
Phoenix Park Hotel Rooms

The Phoenix Park Hotel offers guests rooms with the touch of a distinguished Irish country estate. The classic European styling features patterned wallpapers, dark wood furnishings, and a gentle palette of colors for a sense of refinement and ease. The Phoenix Park Hotel provides amenities produced by Irish companies as often as possible; all rooms feature fine linens, lighting fixtures, custom designed carpeting and toiletries by some of Ireland's most notable companies. Other facilities offered in every room include oversized bath sheets, 32 inch flat screen TV including HD quality, in room safe, two telephones, Irish cotton bathrobes, complementary umbrella, daily newspaper and high speed Internet access (LAN and wireless). Guests can choose from a range of rooms and suites. The basic Superior room with king or queen sized bed allows for a single or couple to stay in comfort. Superior rooms are also available with two beds, making them ideal for groups or families. Free Wi-Fi and Wired high speed internet is also provided.

Things to Do:
  • Union Station (1 block)

  • U.S. Capitol Building (2 blocks)

  • Smithsonian Museums (4 blocks)

  • Verizon Center (5 blocks)

  • Library of Congress (1mi/1.6km)

  • White House (2.6mi/4.2km)

Policies and fees
  • Valet parking fee is $50 USD per including tax.
  • Check in 15.00
  • Check out 13.00

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

38.8971 -77.0095
Area served
On Capitol Hill, one block from Union Station and two block from the U.S. Capitol.
Nearby airports
Reagan National Airport - 6 miles Dulles International Airport Baltimore Washington Airport
Area description
The Phoenix Park Hotel is just one block from Union Station which houses the Metro and Train Station, as well as, an upscale shopping center, food court, and a multi-cinema complex. This Washington D.C. hotel is situated at the corner of North Capitol and F Street. The U.S. Capitol Building is located two short blocks from the entrance of Phoenix Park Hotel. We are located right across the street from the National Guard offices and the historical Postal Museum. The Phoenix Park Hotel is centrally located for business and leisure travelers alike. Area Information around the hotel: 1 block from Union Station / Metro 2 blocks from U.S. Capitol Building 3 blocks from the Mall 4 blocks from Smithsonian Museums 5 blocks from MCI Center 8 blocks from Washington Convention Center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Phoenix Park Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Phoenix Park Hotel Rooms

Superior - One Queen Bed
One Queen Bed, plush pillowtop mattress, 32" HD flat panel TV, Wireless and wired Internet access at no charge, Safe, Terry cloth bathrobes, Umbrella, Irish toiletries.
Superior - Two Double Beds
Two double beds, plush pillowtop mattress, 32" HD flat panel TV, wireless and wired internet access at no charge, Safe, Terry cloth bathrobes, Umbrella, Irish toiletries.
Superior - One Full Bed
Luxurious guest room with one full bed, plush Simmons Beautyrest pillow top mattresses, 32" HD flat panel TV, complimentary high speed and wireless internet, in-room safe, Terry cloth bathrobe, Irish toiletries and newspaper.
Superior - One King Bed
One King bed with 300 thread-count Egyptian Cotton Linens and plush pillow top mattress; oversized bath towels; Irish cotton bath robes; award-winning Galanta Irish amenities; iron and ironing board; bedside radio/alarm clock; two-speed hair dryer; 2 telephones with voicemail; wireless and wired internet access at no charge; safe; coffee maker; 32" Flat Screen TV with HD programming; pay per view movies; umbrellas, in-room safe, express check-out capability. 2 telephones/ 2 direct lines with voicemail Coffee maker 32" Flat Screen TV with HD Programming Pay per view movies Umbrellas In room safes Express check-out capability

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest
Ramp access to buildings
Knock light (hearing impaired)
Brailled elevators

Nearby points of interest

  • National Postal Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Union Station: 0.2 mi
  • Columbus Memorial Fountain: 0.2 mi
  • Folger Shakespeare Library: 0.4 mi
  • Capital Children's Museum: 0.4 mi
  • National Building Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Peace Monument: 0.5 mi
  • Judiciary Square: 0.5 mi
  • United States Capitol: 0.5 mi
  • United States Supreme Court: 0.5 mi
  • Koshland Science Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Verizon Center: 0.6 mi
  • Newseum: 0.6 mi
  • United States Botanic Garden: 0.6 mi
  • National Gallery of Art: 0.7 mi
  • National Postal Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Union Station: 0.2 mi
  • Columbus Memorial Fountain: 0.2 mi
  • Folger Shakespeare Library: 0.4 mi
  • Capital Children's Museum: 0.4 mi
  • National Building Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Peace Monument: 0.5 mi
  • Judiciary Square: 0.5 mi
  • United States Capitol: 0.5 mi
  • United States Supreme Court: 0.5 mi
  • Koshland Science Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Verizon Center: 0.6 mi
  • Newseum: 0.6 mi
  • United States Botanic Garden: 0.6 mi
  • National Gallery of Art: 0.7 mi
  • Smithsonian American Art Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Library of Congress: 0.7 mi
  • National Museum of the American Indian: 0.7 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • National Museum of American Art: 0.7 mi
  • International Spy Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.8 mi
  • National Archives: 0.8 mi
  • National Air and Space Museum: 0.8 mi
  • National Mall: 0.8 mi
  • Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 0.9 mi
  • Hirshhorn Museum and Sculpture Garden: 0.9 mi
  • National Museum of Natural History: 1 mi
  • Old Post office Pavilion: 1 mi
  • Arts and Industries Building: 1 mi
  • Smithsonian Institution: 1 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 1 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 1.1 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Enid A Haupt Garden: 1.1 mi
  • National Museum of African Art: 1.1 mi
  • L'enfant Plaza: 1.1 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 1.1 mi
  • Ripley Center: 1.1 mi
  • Sackler Gallery: 1.1 mi
  • National Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Arthur M Sackler Gallery: 1.1 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 1.1 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Phoenix Park Hotel's elegantly appointed conference rooms provide the perfect venue for business conferences, special events or a stunning wedding in Washington DC. We provide guests with hearty Irish breakfasts, gourmet-style lunches, and savory dinners. The Phoenix Park Hotel, one of Capitol Hill's most popular meeting places, offers a total of 5,000 square feet of distinctive banquet and meeting space.

Dining

The Dubliner
The Phoenix Park Hotel's world famous Dubliner Restaurant and Pub is one of Capitol Hill's most well-regarded bars. The Dubliner Restaurant and Pub is a favorite for Washingtonians and travelers alike. Known throughout the city for its free-flowing spirits as well as its in-house brewed Irish spirit, the Dubliner offers delicious pub fare, live Irish entertainment 7 nights a week, along with a vast selection of beers and ales- including our very own brew, Old Dubliner Amber Ale. For that after work get together or casual gathering of friends and family, the Dubliner is where genuine Irish cuisine and style prevail.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1300

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (115)

Ratings and reviews for Phoenix Park Hotel

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
115 out of 115
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.9

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Phoenix Park Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
mcgrowl!
Business
Boston
Feb 21, 2011

Not many positives

I had reasonable hopes for the Phoenix Park but I'm afraid they were all unmet. I found it a dull, dingy place with a rather sullen staff, dark rooms, dated decor and thin walls. Sticking a 32 inch tv on the wall does not a modern hotel make. I found the breakfast expensive, two eggs, one sausage, one piece of bacon and some potatoes at fourteen dollars was pricey in my view. The location of the hotel was for me rather awkward being a long walk or a cab ride from where i wanted to be, tho that may not apply to everyone. In summary, I wouldn't stay here again, it was soul less, drab and about a hair's breadth from being a complete dive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Phoenix Park Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
criggs
New York, NY
Jun 14, 2014

I Was Robbed

This is not fun writing this. Physically the hotel is lovely. It has a real old world charm, and yet it is in excellent condition, looking like it just emerged from a massive redo. Very impressive. The bed was not great, the mattress a little lumpy and broken down. But I had no trouble sleeping, so that was a minor factor. The prices were totally reasonable across the board. WiFI was not an extra charge, but unlimited and free, and I came across no other hidden or extra fees either during my two-day stay. The desk staff was helpful, speedy and professional. Which makes this all the more unpleasant to write. You see, I was robbed. And I was robbed by someone on the housekeeping staff. On the first night I was there, before going to dinner, I put my umbrella (a small and expensive double-vent umbrella worth $50 though I bought it for $34) on the bed and left the room without that since the restaurant was in the hotel and I would not need it. When I came back an hour later it was gone. The only people capable of stealing it would have been someone with card access to the room. I reported the theft immediately. The response was mixed. On the negative side, they made no attempt to recover the umbrella nor to question anyone on the housekeeping staff (people do sometimes confess, you know!). I confirmed that they had spoken to no one when I questioned no fewer than four of the housekeeping staff over the subsequent 48 hours and NO ONE had heard about it or claimed to have heard about it. On the plus side, they gave me one of the hotel umbrellas free. They told me it was a $20 value, which means it was inadequate compensation, but I still appreciate the gesture. It was actually a fairly good umbrella, but a pain to lug around since it was large. The bottom line is that this hotel has a thief on its staff, and there is no indication so far that a serious effort has been made to correct the situation, that a serious effort has been made to identify the thief, or that there is any serious prospect that the thief will be identified, and the umbrella itself has yet to be "found" or returned. Under the circumstances, I can't recommend this hotel. It's really a pity; it's a lovely place, perfect pricing and perfect location. And the desk staff are models of professionalism. The whole thing is really a darn shame. I continue to hope against hope that the umbrella will be recovered, the thief identified and dealt with appropriately, as I would be eager to change my review, since my stay otherwise was perfectly fine ("Other than that, Mrs. Lincoln, how did you like the play?). But, unless that miracle occurs, I recommend strongly against ANYONE staying here. Like I say, this wasn't fun to write. I would have been thrilled to give this hotel a thumb's up, because it has so much to recommend it. But the hiring and retention of a thief is obviously a deal-killer!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Dining tip: In Hotel

The Dubliner was a good experience, based on limited exposure. I had dinner there two days in a row. I had the chicken pot pie, which was excellent. Very good prices.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Phoenix Park Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
indigo55
Yonkers, NY
Apr 23, 2009

Don't expect to sleep if you stay her.

Unbearable noise from two street-level bars, both with outside drinking. Noise didn't stop until about 3:30 am for both nights of our stay. Hotel wouldn't honor accommodations made via Orbitz. Dual hot/cold air blowers in room were set for summer system, evening though we were there in April and outside temperature was in 40's. Asked for space heater and it took 6 calls to front desk to get response. Toilets backed up.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Phoenix Park Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Katweb
Business
Connecticut, USA
Dec 8, 2011

this phoenix needs to rise from the ashes

I have stayed here since 1998, once or twice a year, and have always liked the location especially, as it is perfect for my work, and I have always found the hotel gracious and comfortable. This trip, the hotel seemed shabby, dingy, in need of sprucing up in a serious way.Has something changed? They are skimping on maintenance and it shows. Disgusting smears on the elevator doors (and a fishy reek as if old public school lunch trays had been transported in the elevators) were a herald of some inadequate maintenance in the room. A hole in the bathroom ceiling, a badly patched heating system grill, imperfect cleaning that left behind undesirable souvenirs of the previous guest.....just not what I was conditioned by my past visits to expect. Ordinary and overpriced breakfast. I may not be back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Phoenix Park Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Peter J
Hamilton, OH
Sep 7, 2011

Bad experience

We stayed here twice before. The hotel overbooked and we were sent to another hotel for one night. We elected to stay there (Washington Court Hotel) the other two nights. Although the staff at the Phoenix was great, we won't stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Phoenix Park Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Boer
Business
New York, NY, USA
May 24, 2013

Old building with dirty air ducts

Staff were super friendly, helpful and professional. Woke up with severe allergies and noticed the dirty air vents. Probably an inch of dust...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Phoenix Park Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Teacher John
Business
Philly
Oct 8, 2009

Phoenix Park Hotel, DC

The Parker Phoenix, locationwise, was ideal for my purposes in DC. As soon as I checked in, I had a moment and was in my boxer shorts before my next meeting. A waitstaff knocked then immediately came in. Through no fault of her own, we stood there together, me in my boxers talking about bathroom linens. I told the front desk about this unsettling experience and the gentleman told me not to worry, that the waitstaff didn't mind! The bathroom was clean, for the most part, except for the fact that there were looong hairs on the floor which attached to my foot as I stepped out of the shower. Unfortunate small things that I would expect to not have to worry about given the reputation and price of this particular hotel. Next time, back to the George.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The Dubliner is a passable eating establishment connected to the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Phoenix Park Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jimjaram
Ewing, New Jersey
Jul 20, 2014

A quick DC get away

It was a very comfortable hotel , perfect for a quick getaway. It is also in a perfect location, near everything. However there were details that needed work. The shower was poorly built which made water spray everywhere. They also try to charge you for the smallest things. For the amount of time we stayed, it was perfect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Phoenix Park Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Greensboro, NC
Mar 1, 2010

Mixed experience

We tried to extend our stay but the rather unfriendly staff quoted a rate double what we had paid through [...] The room was very clean, the bed very comfortable, but the space was really tight even for just two people. The location was the one great thing. We ended up booking our third night at another, friendlier hotel. Doubt we would go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Phoenix Park Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Brad from Skokie
Chicago, IL
Oct 29, 2013

First Washington DC trip

If you want to be close to the Capitol or the Metro/Union Station, this hotel is in a great location. Only a block or so to the Metro. Room rate was a little pricey in my mind but then most DC rates are high. If we go back to DC, we might stay in the suburbs clost to a Metro stop. We did have an issue during our stay and the manager did his best to make it right.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

The Metro is a great way to get around Washington DC. We took it from Reagan airport to a block from our hotel. Stay close to a Metro stop.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search