$88 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 4, 2015 Check-out: Sep 5, 2015

Phoenix Park Hotel

3 stars
View map of 520 North Capitol St. N.W., Washington, DC 20001

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Phoenix Park Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
132 out of 132
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Phoenix Park Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nihat
Single
Turkey
Sep 2, 2011

suggest if you want to be in the middle of everything

Good to reach easily, staff is warm and helpful and it is not too expensive to effort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Good to reach most places in a short walk

Review of Phoenix Park Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dave 1000
Business
Orlando, FL
Aug 22, 2011

Great place to stay

Attended a conference at the convention center. Needed to take a taxi every day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Phoenix Park Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Monte
Family
Sacramento, CA, USA
Aug 22, 2011

Long weekend getaway

Very comfortable beds and pillows. Towels and robes were extremely nice.. This is an old hotel and the room we had was a little on the small side but all in all a very nice hotel that is about 2 blocks from union station, a short walk(1/2 mile to a mile) to the capital. There is only one downside to the hotel is there were sirens at night so if you're a light sleeper this may pose a problem. All in all I thought this was a great hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

If you are going to use a Hop on/ hop off Tour bus use the red ones( i Believe the company is open top tours0. they are a little more expensive but they have air conditioning on th bottom and are much nicer buses than the blue ones( I believe the are called bouble decker tours).

Review of Phoenix Park Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dave 1000
Business
Orlando, FL
Aug 22, 2011

Great place to stay

Attended a conference at the convention center. Needed to take a taxi every day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Find a hotel near where you need to visit. Minimize taxi fare. What looks like a short drive on a map is much longer due to traffic restrictions. Some hotels include breakfast!!!

Review of Phoenix Park Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
San Antonio
Jul 31, 2011

nice room and good location

the hotel just few blocks to the capitol hill. it is very convenient.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Phoenix Park Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
new york, ny
Jun 20, 2011

Loved It

We were coming in from NY on a very late train and wanted something that was convenient and this hotel was a very short walk. We had a great experience here, the hotel is beautiful, very well appointed, very quaint & charming. The bed was AMAZING. The room was a good size, although the bathroom was on the small side. We didn't experience any noise issues at all, although after reading other reviews I did ask for a a "quiet room" ahead of time. We had brunch in the restaurant downstairs and it was great. When we got back from a very busy day we wanted a nice dinner that we didn't have to take a cab to and we found Bistro Bis around the corner. It was superb and a 3 minute walk, which was perfect. Great experience overall.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Phoenix Park Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Busyworking
Business
Columbia, SC
Jun 14, 2011

great value

I spent one night in the hotel. The location is great and staff were very friendly and helpful! The facilities in the hotel room is just ok. Considering the price, this hotel has great money value for what you get.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Phoenix Park Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
mcgrowl!
Business
Boston
Feb 21, 2011

Not many positives

I had reasonable hopes for the Phoenix Park but I'm afraid they were all unmet. I found it a dull, dingy place with a rather sullen staff, dark rooms, dated decor and thin walls. Sticking a 32 inch tv on the wall does not a modern hotel make. I found the breakfast expensive, two eggs, one sausage, one piece of bacon and some potatoes at fourteen dollars was pricey in my view. The location of the hotel was for me rather awkward being a long walk or a cab ride from where i wanted to be, tho that may not apply to everyone. In summary, I wouldn't stay here again, it was soul less, drab and about a hair's breadth from being a complete dive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Phoenix Park Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
washington
Feb 15, 2011

great location, great price

friendly and clean

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Phoenix Park Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Portsmouth, VA
Jan 22, 2011

Convenient, Clean, But Cramped

Ideal for a business traveler due to colocation with Union Station. Leave your car at home, work on train, walk from Union Station approximately 200 yards. Clean location, allowed early check in by 1300. Restaurant Food wasn't all that good, the bread was pretty old, but the live music was authentic. The rooms were immaculate, but small, and not much of a view. But again, this is ideal for a business traveler for the price and what is essential without traveling all over DC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Just down the street from Union Station, Dining and the Capitol.

Back to menu Return to top