$139 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 13, 2015 Check-out: Jun 14, 2015

Phoenix Park Hotel

3 stars
View map of 520 North Capitol St. N.W., Washington, DC 20001

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Phoenix Park Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
139 out of 139
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Phoenix Park Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jack in NYC
Business
South Korea
Apr 22, 2013

I loved my stay

I was a bit worried about my choosing this hotel for my very first D.C. trip after I read some bad reviews, but once I checked in and stayed in my room for two nights, I just forgot my worries! The room/hall decoration was very Irish and elegant; I loved the Irish pub downstairs for lunch (very busy around noon); I loved the very generous check-out time; I slept very well in a quiet room (I asked for a quiet room upon check-in). So, I would definitely recomend this hotel to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Phoenix Park Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Visitor90
Business
Tampa , FL
May 1, 2013

Perfect location, clean, comfortable

Location is perfect. It is so close to capitol and union station. Getting metro or train is less than 5 minutes. There is a Irish restourant under the hotel, which was also very well. The decoration of the hotel and the room makes you feel like you live in early years in Washington. The bed was so comfortable. I like the bathrope too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

For dinner/lunch I suggest Irish restaurant. For fast breakfast you can find delicious bagels and muffins in the cafes in Union Station.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Phoenix Park Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BobSR
Business
CT
Apr 29, 2013

good location

staff was friendly and hotel has charm factor and Irish Pub next door is really great

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Irish Pub

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Phoenix Park Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RRempala
Business
Chicago, IL
Jun 7, 2013

trip to the Capital

the hotel is very comfortable, the location is impeccable, could not be better, even though the hotel is an older building, it is updated very nicely to satisfy all the needs of a state of the art facility without taking away the old world charm, the dubliner restaurant is conveniently located downstairs, just a block away from union station, just around the corner from the US Capitol

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Capitol Hill

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Phoenix Park Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CrashDummy11
Business
CT
Jun 10, 2013

Nice Hotel in a Great Location

This hotel is in a great spot. Right next to the train station and the capitol it makes it a very good home-base for a trip to DC. Rooms were small but very modern and clean. Hotel was a bit expensive, but it is DC! Only complaint was that they never replaced our soap/shampoo even after we used it all up!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Phoenix Park Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gino79
Business
Long Island, New York
Sep 3, 2013

Cozy Room with a great Location!

We arrived at the hotel on a Thursday afternoon for a long weekend trip in DC. The location was perfect; walking distance from the train station! The staff was very polite and our room was small, but cozy with a plush queen size bed. Some of the carpet in the room was worn, but everything appeared clean. The room itself was a great price and the usual tourist sites were easily accessible by walking, biking and taxi cab. The Dubliner Pub attached to the hotel had great drinks, but the food wasn't as good as expected. We didn't think that there was a noise issue at all, as mentioned in some of the reviews and would certainly come back here for another stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

If you like to bike, there's a city-funded bike rack right across the street from the hotel!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Phoenix Park Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
WendiD
Business
Grand Rapids MI
Oct 29, 2013

Great hotel

We loved the location as well as the Irish Pub right inside the hotel; great London broil! The staff were the best we ever had. We walked to the Capital and Union station. Perfect hotel for a short stay in DC! We will be back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

If you don't want to eat in the Irish Pub, it is a short walk to Union Station where there are several places to eat.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Phoenix Park Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Guinness lover
Business
Boston
Dec 7, 2013

Good location & value; friendly staff

Good visit-- clean room and friendly welcome. Room was too warm and thermostat was old and not responsive. Otherwise room was fine and The Dubliner (off the lobby) is a great Irish bar. Would recommend this hotel for good value, location and friendly staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Phoenix Park Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Woodbridge, VA
Feb 14, 2010

Presidential Valentine's Day

This was our second time staying at the Phoenix Park Hotel and overall we were very pleased with our stay. A taxi ride to Ford's Theatre was less than 10 minutes away even with the snow piles along some of the side streets. We had breakfast at the hotel's Dubliner Restaurant and Pub. The food was very tasty however the coffee was served cold. Due to print size, we had a bit of trouble reading the menu even with our reading glasses on. I strongly suggest reprinting the menu in a larger font so patrons can read it. I ordered waffles only. The waitress brought me bacon as well. When I said I only ordered waffles, she said, "The bacon comes with it." Who knew??? I didn't! It probably was that very small print underneath the waffle listing that I couldn't read.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

A short drive to Ford's Theatre via taxi or a nice walk if the weather is suitable. Hotel staff is knowledgable regarding directions to attractions and the best way to get there.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Phoenix Park Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cleveland, OH
Jun 12, 2010

Great Night's Sleep!

This is the ideal location when you are visiting the Capital, and arriving via train (like if you are saving on airfare and flying into Baltimore and taking the 40 min train ride to DC). It is two blocks from Union Station to the Phoenix Park Hotel, and a half mile walk beyond that will get you to the Capital Building.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top