$109 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 6, 2015 Check-out: Sep 7, 2015

Phoenix Park Hotel

3 stars
View map of 520 North Capitol St. N.W., Washington, DC 20001

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Phoenix Park Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
133 out of 133
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Phoenix Park Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
criggs
Single
New York, NY
Jun 14, 2014

I Was Robbed

This is not fun writing this. Physically the hotel is lovely. It has a real old world charm, and yet it is in excellent condition, looking like it just emerged from a massive redo. Very impressive. The bed was not great, the mattress a little lumpy and broken down. But I had no trouble sleeping, so that was a minor factor. The prices were totally reasonable across the board. WiFI was not an extra charge, but unlimited and free, and I came across no other hidden or extra fees either during my two-day stay. The desk staff was helpful, speedy and professional. Which makes this all the more unpleasant to write. You see, I was robbed. And I was robbed by someone on the housekeeping staff. On the first night I was there, before going to dinner, I put my umbrella (a small and expensive double-vent umbrella worth $50 though I bought it for $34) on the bed and left the room without that since the restaurant was in the hotel and I would not need it. When I came back an hour later it was gone. The only people capable of stealing it would have been someone with card access to the room. I reported the theft immediately. The response was mixed. On the negative side, they made no attempt to recover the umbrella nor to question anyone on the housekeeping staff (people do sometimes confess, you know!). I confirmed that they had spoken to no one when I questioned no fewer than four of the housekeeping staff over the subsequent 48 hours and NO ONE had heard about it or claimed to have heard about it. On the plus side, they gave me one of the hotel umbrellas free. They told me it was a $20 value, which means it was inadequate compensation, but I still appreciate the gesture. It was actually a fairly good umbrella, but a pain to lug around since it was large. The bottom line is that this hotel has a thief on its staff, and there is no indication so far that a serious effort has been made to correct the situation, that a serious effort has been made to identify the thief, or that there is any serious prospect that the thief will be identified, and the umbrella itself has yet to be "found" or returned. Under the circumstances, I can't recommend this hotel. It's really a pity; it's a lovely place, perfect pricing and perfect location. And the desk staff are models of professionalism. The whole thing is really a darn shame. I continue to hope against hope that the umbrella will be recovered, the thief identified and dealt with appropriately, as I would be eager to change my review, since my stay otherwise was perfectly fine ("Other than that, Mrs. Lincoln, how did you like the play?). But, unless that miracle occurs, I recommend strongly against ANYONE staying here. Like I say, this wasn't fun to write. I would have been thrilled to give this hotel a thumb's up, because it has so much to recommend it. But the hiring and retention of a thief is obviously a deal-killer!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Single

Dining tip: In Hotel

The Dubliner was a good experience, based on limited exposure. I had dinner there two days in a row. I had the chicken pot pie, which was excellent. Very good prices.

Review of Phoenix Park Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Harvey1
Friends
Pa
Jun 2, 2014

Weekend

Great hotel....located within blocks of union station,we traveled by Amtrak , it was very easy to find

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Phoenix Park Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
zhangce
Family
Richmond, VA
May 12, 2014

Excellent location

Nice clean hotel in excellent location, walking distance to US capitol, senate etc. best deal ever in downtown DC

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Phoenix Park Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Retired Actively
Business
regon
May 8, 2014

Great Place to Be!

The location of the Phoenix Park Hotel makes it a great choice! I would stay there again. Even though it lacks space the historic atmosphere makes it special.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Union Station is close and has everything. The Pub in the hotel is casual and enjoyable.

Review of Phoenix Park Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
TravelGuy95
Friends
Los Angeles, California
May 2, 2014

Good location, not much else

The hotel is located close to attractions such as The White House and the Smithsonian Museums. It is also near a Wal-Mart. Other than that, the hotel is very limited. Rooms are small and possess older decor. The typical hot water/tea/coffee station was absent. Breakfast was not included with the room. However, the room was clean (except for a stain on my blanket) and the free internet worked fine.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Friends

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a Wal-Mart nearby. The hotel charges $4 for bottled water. Get your water from Wal-Mart.

Review of Phoenix Park Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dish from trish
Family
Dallas, PA
Apr 28, 2014

pleasant experience

Found the place to be in a great location for the DC run. The room was very comfortable. The staff was very accommodating and pleasant. Wished there was better parking as I thought 50 per day for valet parking was over the top.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

To the DC sights like the memorials, monuments and capital , it was a nice walk. It was a drive to the nightlife.

Review of Phoenix Park Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
WI DC Biz Traveler
Business
Madison, WI
Apr 15, 2014

Nice Location, Clean Hotel

It was a good hotel, great location and good rooms. Good for both business and leisure. I would recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Phoenix Park Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Waldemar Almo
Business
Philadelphia
Apr 8, 2014

Good

Very good I like this hotel. Close to the train and parking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Phoenix Park Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Tuborg
Couples
OKC, OK
Mar 17, 2014

Pretty good hotel, great location.

Phoenix Park is few minute walk to Union Station, therefore access to the Metro is easy. The hotel is old, but the elevators work, and the staff is friendly. Our room was the standard king, and the bed was very good. Room and bath are small but adequate.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: In Hotel

The restaurant/bar is very good.

Review of Phoenix Park Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Eagles Bob
Single
washington DC
Mar 3, 2014

Great place to stay, near everything,I would stay again

all I can say is great people were friendly, and very helpful

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

union station and venison center

Back to menu Return to top