$109 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 21, 2015 Check-out: Aug 23, 2015

Phoenix Park Hotel

3 stars
View map of 520 North Capitol St. N.W., Washington, DC 20001

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Phoenix Park Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
131 out of 131
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Phoenix Park Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Monte
Sacramento, CA, USA
Aug 22, 2011

Long weekend getaway

Very comfortable beds and pillows. Towels and robes were extremely nice.. This is an old hotel and the room we had was a little on the small side but all in all a very nice hotel that is about 2 blocks from union station, a short walk(1/2 mile to a mile) to the capital. There is only one downside to the hotel is there were sirens at night so if you're a light sleeper this may pose a problem. All in all I thought this was a great hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

If you are going to use a Hop on/ hop off Tour bus use the red ones( i Believe the company is open top tours0. they are a little more expensive but they have air conditioning on th bottom and are much nicer buses than the blue ones( I believe the are called bouble decker tours).

Review of Phoenix Park Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Apgrad
Business
Miami,fl
Sep 6, 2014

A great weekend

Perfect hotel and for me it look like a 4 star hotel. Awesome location almost next to Union Station. The Capitol was close and the rest of the museums was about 2 miles so you could walk. The room was super clean and comfortable. Staff super friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Union station ( from tours to food everything was there)

Review of Phoenix Park Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
jenel25
Business
Jersey Shore
Aug 26, 2014

Convenient and comfortable

My tween daughter and I enjoyed our recent one-night stay at the Phoenix Park Hotel. Staff was pleasant and accommodating and our room was clean and very comfortable. I found an excellent rate online that was well within our modest budget. The hotel is an easy one-block walk from Union Station, where a plethora of casual eateries, shops, and tours can be found. Our 2 1/2 hour Amtrak train ride from NJ, though not exactly cheap, was quite comfortable and certainly preferable to traveling by car. The Postal Museum is just across the street from the hotel is well done and worth the visit. The Capitol, National Mall, Smithsonian museums, etc., are technically within walking distance, but I definitely recommend taking a hop-on/hop-off bus tour from Union Station, such as Old Town Trolley or Big Bus, to avoid aching legs and feet. Food at the the attached Dubliner Restaurant, where we dined outdoors, was quite decent and kid-friendly, though not exceptional. Breakfast at the Corner Bakery Cafe, steps away from the hotel, was excellent and definitely recommended.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Phoenix Park Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jpd168
Business
Washington, DC
Aug 25, 2014

Good value in a good location

The proximity of the Phoenix Park Hotel to Union Station really is a major plus. The room was not the largest but was plenty comfortable. The staff was friendly and overall I had a good experience at the Phoenix Park.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: In Hotel

The Dubliner really is a can't miss destination if you are staying at the Phoenix Park. Even if you just stop in for a quick drink, it is totally worth the experience.

Review of Phoenix Park Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
PeterSanMateo
Business
San Mateo, CA
Aug 22, 2014

Convenient and clean. A good no frills hotel

We took AmTrack from NY, so this was really convenient. My 12 yr. old and I were visiting DC for the first time. There are metro bikes right across the street, that was great. Having Union station right there was a plus. The hotel is a classic old building. Clean. There is a workout room in the lower level but didn't check it out. The rooms were decent size. We were booked for a lower floor, I requested as high up as possible, they were very accommodating and we were moved to the 8th floor. Rooms we're clean, beds a bit on the soft side. I think this was more a case of deep pillow tops, not soft springs. Housekeeping was top notch. I had left out a container of fruit. Came back to find note stating that they put it in the fridge for us (and where the fridge was located. Didn't know it had one). Highly recommended.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

If the weather is in your favor, use metrobike. 1 or 3 day pass. First half hour of any ride segment is free (there is an initial sign up cost). There are stations all over the DC area. Cost effective vs cabs. Great exercise and good for sight seeing.

Review of Phoenix Park Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
VKurtB
Business
Denver, PA
Aug 14, 2014

Location Great, Internet Painfully Slow

The location for a one-day stopover for someone touring by rail simply can't be beaten. Staff was knowledgable and friendly and there are plenty of things to see nearby. Tour buses load almost at the front door, and if you have time, you can even stop by your Senator's office.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Capitol, Supreme Court, Botanical Garden, Library of Congress all convenient. Postal Museum right across the street.

Review of Phoenix Park Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MMSilver
Business
New Orleans
Aug 10, 2014

Location, location, location

This hotel is within spitting distance of Union Station - exactly what I was looking for. The room was small, but lovely. We had some trouble with the wifi, but other than that, it was perfect for our needs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Phoenix Park Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lost in the Library
Business
Northern New Jersey
Aug 9, 2014

Perfect location for quick sight-seeing trip

I am a woman who took an overnight solo trip from NYC to DC. Selected the Phoenix Park partly because of its proximity to Union Station. I recognized the hotel (from photo) in the distance when I stepped out to the curb and it was an easy walk. This is a small, but nicely-appointed hotel with excellent service and location. Room had nice European/Irish touches like a high bed with nice duvet and knit throw. Didn't dine at restaurant/pub or order room service but I might have if they had offered at least one vegetarian option. Just a suggestion. Many people seem to still think that vegetarians eat fish. Sorry, nope. Restaurant seemed to do a brisk business though. Would definitely stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

In the daytime there are many take out places and even a long line of food trucks catering to workers in the area. Union Station also has a pretty great food court. Night time is a different story. Except for the hotel's restaurant/pub and another adjacent Irish pub the restaurants within a few blocks were few and mostly high-end.

Review of Phoenix Park Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Momtaps
Business
Vienna VA
Aug 3, 2014

Quick overnight stay

Location was great, easy walk from Union Station - hotel was fine in terms of comfort & cleanliness, but not anything special.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Phoenix Park Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
NY Super Dad
Business
Long Island, NY
Jul 28, 2014

Pretty Good Hotel

We picked the hotel because it was as close to Union Station as possible and that was very helpful during our trip as the tour buses leave from there. Staff was nice and room was clean. Value was average at $135/night. Our family travelled with our 5 year old son and unfortunately we were placed next to a wedding party suite. We toughed it out in the room and the 2nd night was better. The room was a bit small but very comfortable. There was very little space for toiletries in the bathroom, the sink had a noticeable crack in it and the paint was chipping a bit but overall it was nicely decorated and enough room for a family of 3.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

If you drive down, bring a case of Costco water because DC in July and August is humidity at its worst and you don't want to have to buy $2-$4 water bottles.

Review of Phoenix Park Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Traveling Man 14
Business
Virginia
Jul 21, 2014

Great location and staff

Stayed a Saturday night and decided to stay over another night and staff was very accommodating. Parked at Union Station and made the easy walk to the hotel. Nice room that faced away from the main streets so it was fairly quiet. My wife really liked the decor. It's an older hotel but has been very well maintained. I highly recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Park at Union Station and walk to hotel. Parking is less than half.

Back to menu Return to top