$126 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 24, 2015 Check-out: May 25, 2015

Phoenix Park Hotel

3 stars
View map of 520 North Capitol St. N.W., Washington, DC 20001

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Phoenix Park Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
133 out of 133
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Phoenix Park Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
VKurtB
Business
Denver, PA
Aug 14, 2014

Location Great, Internet Painfully Slow

The location for a one-day stopover for someone touring by rail simply can't be beaten. Staff was knowledgable and friendly and there are plenty of things to see nearby. Tour buses load almost at the front door, and if you have time, you can even stop by your Senator's office.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Capitol, Supreme Court, Botanical Garden, Library of Congress all convenient. Postal Museum right across the street.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Phoenix Park Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MMSilver
Business
New Orleans
Aug 10, 2014

Location, location, location

This hotel is within spitting distance of Union Station - exactly what I was looking for. The room was small, but lovely. We had some trouble with the wifi, but other than that, it was perfect for our needs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Phoenix Park Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lost in the Library
Business
Northern New Jersey
Aug 9, 2014

Perfect location for quick sight-seeing trip

I am a woman who took an overnight solo trip from NYC to DC. Selected the Phoenix Park partly because of its proximity to Union Station. I recognized the hotel (from photo) in the distance when I stepped out to the curb and it was an easy walk. This is a small, but nicely-appointed hotel with excellent service and location. Room had nice European/Irish touches like a high bed with nice duvet and knit throw. Didn't dine at restaurant/pub or order room service but I might have if they had offered at least one vegetarian option. Just a suggestion. Many people seem to still think that vegetarians eat fish. Sorry, nope. Restaurant seemed to do a brisk business though. Would definitely stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

In the daytime there are many take out places and even a long line of food trucks catering to workers in the area. Union Station also has a pretty great food court. Night time is a different story. Except for the hotel's restaurant/pub and another adjacent Irish pub the restaurants within a few blocks were few and mostly high-end.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Phoenix Park Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Momtaps
Business
Vienna VA
Aug 3, 2014

Quick overnight stay

Location was great, easy walk from Union Station - hotel was fine in terms of comfort & cleanliness, but not anything special.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Phoenix Park Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
NY Super Dad
Business
Long Island, NY
Jul 28, 2014

Pretty Good Hotel

We picked the hotel because it was as close to Union Station as possible and that was very helpful during our trip as the tour buses leave from there. Staff was nice and room was clean. Value was average at $135/night. Our family travelled with our 5 year old son and unfortunately we were placed next to a wedding party suite. We toughed it out in the room and the 2nd night was better. The room was a bit small but very comfortable. There was very little space for toiletries in the bathroom, the sink had a noticeable crack in it and the paint was chipping a bit but overall it was nicely decorated and enough room for a family of 3.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

If you drive down, bring a case of Costco water because DC in July and August is humidity at its worst and you don't want to have to buy $2-$4 water bottles.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Phoenix Park Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Traveling Man 14
Business
Virginia
Jul 21, 2014

Great location and staff

Stayed a Saturday night and decided to stay over another night and staff was very accommodating. Parked at Union Station and made the easy walk to the hotel. Nice room that faced away from the main streets so it was fairly quiet. My wife really liked the decor. It's an older hotel but has been very well maintained. I highly recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Park at Union Station and walk to hotel. Parking is less than half.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Phoenix Park Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jimjaram
Business
Ewing, New Jersey
Jul 20, 2014

A quick DC get away

It was a very comfortable hotel , perfect for a quick getaway. It is also in a perfect location, near everything. However there were details that needed work. The shower was poorly built which made water spray everywhere. They also try to charge you for the smallest things. For the amount of time we stayed, it was perfect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Phoenix Park Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SC PA Guy
Business
South Central PA
Jul 11, 2014

Great weekend

We stayed at this hotel for the Capital 4th of July celebaration. It's within walking distance of the National Mall. Loved the Irish decor and pub downstairs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Phoenix Park Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Aadhithyaa Venky
Business
Silver spring, Maryland
Jul 6, 2014

Great for its location

The hotel was good but it would have been good if morning breakfast was complimentary

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Phoenix Park Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Amanda from Gettysburg.
Business
Gettysburg PA
Jun 30, 2014

Comfortable beds.

Location great! Staff wonderful. Bed bed I have ever slept in at a hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top